We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time in Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islanda Eco Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Islanda Eco Village Resort to your Saves list
Islanda Eco Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Moo 3. (Koh Klang) T. Klongprasong A. Muang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save THB1,000 on select meals
4.5 of 5 stars 190 Reviews
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best time in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had booked this hotel as the first-stop in our honeymoon. I was a little skeptical initially as it was located away from the Krabi mainland in an island called Koh Klang (which also has some dressing restrictions). But honestly, we were sooooo happy to have stayed here...

the resort is amazing. around 30 mins from the airport (we took the hotel pick-up drop, which was costly but very smooth and hassle-free). located in a village with no other touristic chaos. very good villas (we had taken a beach-front villa). amazing pool. amazing Thai food in the restro. And great cycling around the island. The sea-food restro called Maying on the other side of the island served us the best crabs ever (stir fried with black pepper).

Special thanks to Mr. Chock and Mr. Big for the great food. The sausages in the breakfast were the best we had tasted in Thailand.

If you are looking for secluded peace (and some romance), this is the place to be.

Room Tip: The beach-front villas are better. We were in Villa 3 called SEA PEARL which was quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploy972, Manager at Islanda Eco Village Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear KohinoorBanerjee,

So happy to know you had a good time at our resort and thank you for your kind review.
Our resort aims to offer our guests a peaceful rest close to nature as well as a wonderful experience with the local.
Mr. Choke and Mr. Big are delighted to hear that you appreciated their service.

If you have a plan to return to Islanda for more peaceful holidays in the future, please don't hesitate to let us know.
We sure have a sweet welcome for you.

Thank you with best regards,
Kingkade
Director of Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    59
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
22
87
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights - the staff are all very helpful and can't do enough to please. The food is of a high standard and the accommodation is lovely. However this is one very quiet resort with very little to do so if your looking for entertainment this is not the place. This place was good after a hectic few days in Bangkok.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PloyIslanda, Director of Sales at Islanda Eco Village Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear HappydaysBournemouth,


Thank you for your sincere review. I'll pass on your appreciation to our staff, who will be definitely blessed to hear that.
Please keep in mind that whenever you need a wonderful rest with fresh air by the sea, Islanda Eco Village Resort will always welcome you back with big smiles.

Take care and please keep in touch.

Warmest regards,
Ploy Niyomsen
Director of Marketing
Islanda Eco Village Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a nice one night stay at this secluded corner in Krabi during this low season.

The resort is located in a corner of Koh Klang. Accessible through either local wooden boats or little three-wheelers.

The hotel is surprisingly well equipped and Staff are very friendly. The beach is so so but the pool is very nice with good view.

The room that we stayed had two separate sections. One with open air shower room and dining area, and the other with well spaced bedroom.

Happy to recommend to travellers who want to stay outside touristy areas.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PloyIslanda, Director of Sales at Islanda Eco Village Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear ChiawatP,

We are so pleased you stayed with us and enjoyed it! The resort is located quite a distance from city hassle, and in return, you're rewarded with peaceful night to rest in natural embrace.
It was great to see your comments on the hotel's facilities and the staff, who will be very happy to read this.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Warmest regards,
Ploy Niyomsen
Director of Marketing
Islanda Eco Village Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Islanda Eco Village. Overall, the facility was nice - but there are a few things to know before you book. It is not in a convenient location at all in relation to attractions in the area. Krabi Town is different from Krabi. Krabi Town is where the locals live, so if that is what you are looking for, this is the right place for you. It is so remote that you might think you are being abducted while traveling to it. After crossing the water in a long tail boat, you will ride on a tuk tuk through a bizarre world of an Islamic village living in huts for what seems like an eternity. Once you get to the resort, you will be relieved but it is hard to believe there is actually a resort at the end of this 7 km tiny road. The beach is not accessible but the pool is very nice. Also, beware of the water monitors. If you are afraid of critters, you won't like it.One morning, I stepped out on the balcony of our cabin and there was a six foot water monitor staring at me. We also saw several snakes and frogs. Good place to relax away from the touristic venues but it is definitely different than the actual Krabi. Next time we will stay in Krabi. Also, the resort host, "Mr. Big" tried to give us a smaller room without a view when we specifically booked the more expensive room WITH the view. He tried to charge us $36 more per night to put us in the room that we had already paid for. Just try to make sure you get the room that you booked.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PloyIslanda, Director of Sales at Islanda Eco Village Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback of your recent stay with us.
I am disappointed to know that your stay fell short on your expectation and I have taken note of your comments in the most positive way.
The 7-KM distance may take longer time as compared to other roads but here on Klang, this only road cuts through the heart of the village, therefore a strict speed limit applies for the sake of villagers' safety.
We sincerely apologize for the room, and to avoid further misunderstanding, we managed to revise some room categories to fit with the current setting. A few years back, the room did come with a sea view but as time went by, our tree grew bigger and we decided to keep it that way for shades. So some branches did block some particular room from the view.
Thank you to bring up this issue and let us know the problem.
If your holiday plans bring you back to Krabi, I would love the opportunity to welcome you back at Islanda Eco Village Resort and see for yourself that we took up your kind comment and did work on it.

Warmest regards,
Ploy Niyomsen
Director of Marketing
Islanda Eco Village Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a nice hotel which I can recommend if you like a nice relaxed holiday away from everything.

The pool, building and grounds look great and look very high end.

Breakfast and food are good as well.

Things we didn't like so much were the lack of good service in the restaurant. Allthough there were almost no people there, the place was dirty and tables weren't cleaned when the people who were there finished. The rooms are big, but very inconvenient decided in to two parts so you had to step outside each time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PloyIslanda, Director of Sales at Islanda Eco Village Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Hans073,

Thank you for your sincere review. We are happy to see that the hotel premise, the facilities, the atmosphere and the food quality were to your liking along with the positive comments.

We appreciated your kind suggestion to improve our restaurant service. Our staff will be encouraged to refine their duty and performance to the standard.

The bungalow comes in Thai original design for housing, where bedroom and bathroom are separated purposefully to avoid possible noise and smell to disturb one's peaceful sleep. Your comments from different perspective is appreciated.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Ploy Niyomsen
Director of Marketing
Islanda Eco Village Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was my favorite place of the 5 places we stayed on our first trip to Thailand, We loved the peaceful environment we had planned to do some of the trips but when we arrived we just relaxed so much we did very little but just enjoy the environment ,We had a sea front bungalow and it was fantastic and really good air-con which is needed at night , The staff were fantastic very friendly and we met some lovely people there , it was just a shame we did not get to spend some more time with the people we met as we were all moving on ,And Kevin you were right about phuket . Thank you to Mr big for buying us the beers cheers ! . We will definitely be returning to the islanda in the future thank you for a memorable time Mike and Hayley ....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarKrabi G, Director of Sales at Islanda Eco Village Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Michael D.,

Thank you for your positive and encouraging review of your recent stay at Islanda Eco Village Resort. I am delighted to know that you have had a memorable stay with us. It is truly an honor and we will endeavor our best to maintain the standard to ensure that our guests’ holidays be filled with fond memories.

I am glad my team has managed to deliver a professional and caring service to you and we look forward with much enthusiasm to welcome you back at Islanda Eco Village Resort.

Best regards,

Ploy Niyomsen
Director of Marketing
Islanda Eco Village Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Thank you!
We stayed at Islanda for 7 nights, and if we hadn't been going north to Chiang Mai to work with rescued elephants we would have stayed longer.
We upgraded to an Ocean Front villa which was luxurious and had plenty of room. The resort was very quiet when we were there (11 out of 30 rooms filled and this then went down to 6, so that needs to be borne in mind when reading my review). We liked the quiet.

Dining area and bar were great - we did lots of photography of the birds when we were here and this was a great place to see them. We saw over 30 birds we had never seen before - all in the gardens of the resort.
Food was a bit hit and miss - Massiman curry and Chicken and Cashew stir fry were excellent. Red and yellow curries were lip numbingly hot (and we love curries). Steak was dire as was bolognaise. Breakfasts started off as a buffet, which was great as we could pick and mix fruit and muesli etc but the last few mornings we had to choose 'american' or continental and there was less that was appealing. Service was generally really good, but a couple of nights there were not many staff on (and not many guests) and things like refilling water glasses didn't happen.
Smoothies in the bar were fantastic - especially the strawberry and the banana ones.
Nice touches like: coming in very hot from a cycling ride and being offered refreshing coconut water, a member of staff having just picked fresh mangoes from the garden offering us a plate of them.
It was nice to see Thai people staying there - having a break from Phuket or other busier places.
The island is a Muslim one, so please dress appropriately when outside the resort. The villagers were very friendly - we cycled around the island and went for a long (hot) walk and were always met by smiles.
Yes, the arrival on the island is exciting/daunting depending on how tired you are - a quick boat ride across the river (price can vary but should only be 20BHT) followed by a 7km tuk tuk ride - no cars on the island, but lots and lots of scooters, some driven by children with various siblings packed in behind them (no helmets!). Just soak in the sights, would be my advice.

Now a word about Mr Big - a very kind and gentle man who couldn't have done more to help us. A keen photographer (like us) he was very knowledgeable on the birds and wildlife on the island. He arranged a long tail boat for us through the mangroves - the boatman was great at spotting birds and we saw monkeys, but again (as with most of our excursions) we came back to the fact that the best wildlife was actually in the garden of Islanda!
Most of the staff spoke very basic English, Ray (being Swiss) had excellent English, but we found that with patience and intent listening we got on okay.
On our transfer from the island to Krabi airport, a member of staff actually came with us on the boat transfer to ensure that the taxi was there and we got off ok.

The beach at Islanda was interesting - lovely sand and shells, but mudflats at low tide, so no swimming in the sea. Lots of waders tho. The pool was lovely and we swam here at least twice a day (and had it to ourselves). We met some lovely people also staying there, like-minded I guess.
A great place to recharge (although we were up before the sun every day photographing landscapes and wildlife!) and I would definitely recommend Islanda for those who want somewhere on an authentic island, and a quiet resort.

Room Tip: all villas look good - avoid those right by the pool if it's busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islanda Eco Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islanda Eco Village Resort

Address: Moo 3. (Koh Klang) T. Klongprasong A. Muang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Islanda Eco Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vacation that envisions the simple life by the sea. Islanda Eco Village is an ideal place for nature lovers, strolling along 4 km peaceful beach. Islanda’s holiday house clustered around a wide stretch of the beach, each facing the sea and built on traditional stilts of a typical southern Thai village house. Listen to the waves and birds singing, breathe in refreshing sea air, kayak along the gentle coastal waters and discover nearby mangrove forests, or cycling to explore the local life. Enjoy magnificent sunset view where the sky meets the ocean from our swimming pool. While soaking yourself in the bubbling Jacuzzi, various choice of tropical refreshment is at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Islanda Eco Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islanda Village Hotel Krabi Town
Islanda Eco Village Resort Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islanda Eco Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.