We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay, however dont use the restaurant except for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railay Viewpoint Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Railay Viewpoint Resort to your Saves list
Railay Viewpoint Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mu 2, Tambon Ao Nang | Ampur Muang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 159 Hotels in Krabi Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay, however dont use the restaurant except for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Rooms lovely, clean, well worth the money, nice extra touches with fridge, tv, stayed in room A3 just next to pool, the pool was fun apart from rips in matting on the floor that are quite sharp,
On check in you are given 20% money off voucher for the resort restaurant, past breakfast time( which actually was fab)
,it is appalling service, 20%just doesnt seem enough,
We stayed for 5 nights and 4 of them we ate at the yaya restaurant down the beach front


  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    43
    38
    35
See reviews for
16
62
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Mass tourism on a post-stamp.
When you're arriving at Railay you'll have the impression that it's a nice place with a laid back backpackers atmosphere.
When you've stayed a night you'll know better.

There are too many resorts on a surface of a post-stamp.
Outside the resorts there is a permanent waste water/ septic tank smell.
There is an enormous waste problem, there's waste everywhere.
The Market is working here, too many tourists/ high prices/ quality very poor.
Yesterday evening we've been ripped of in a restaurant called Mom's restaurant. They tried to make us pay 40% +/+. When we asked for a receipt they started quickly to make a new receipt and paid back the amount they'd overcharged.
We're traveling with two children 10 / 13 yrs.
This was the first night we didn't book a room in advance, we're trying to make them experience the country by using the minibus etc. So at Krabi minibus station we booked the Viewpoint resort at Railay. A serious mistake:
- outside maintenance standard very low;
- They lost there Thai smile with the Tsunami;
- It's smelling everywhere .
- The pool liner has been torn for some time.
- The room is dirty and there is permanent moisture smell.
- Price quality very poor (we paid 2500 baht for one night, one room)
- Breakfast poor with dirty cups, dishes etc.
- It's really a place for low life mass tourism!

If you book a high end resort at Railay, we've visited all three of them, you'll be paying european prices but are still staying on a smelly / dirty " Island" with absolutely no class / charm whatsoever.
It has lost all his authenticity a long time ago. We have visited beaches and places in Thailand that easily outstand Railay beach at all points.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at viewpoint for 6 days and have very few complaints. We stayed in the slightly more expensive accomodation (1800 baht a night for a room for 4 incl breakfast). It was well worth paying a little extra though as the room was lovely, very comfy beds, tv, air con and a very nice bathroom with a WARM shower which was greatly received after 2 weeks of cold showers travelling around Thailand! Also had a very nice swimming pool, also plenty of other amenities- supermarket, massage place, book exchange and computer suite where you can access the internet.
The breakfast was ok- although not a great deal of choice just egg with toast and jam, fruit and tea or coffee, although that suited me it may not be for everyone so maybe consider opting out of breakfast and finding somewhere else to eat. We also found that the service in the restaurant wasn't great, we ate there twice for dinner and both times our meals came out at different times and some things we ordered didn't come at all! The food was nice- when it finally arrived!
Apart from the service in the restaurant this was a brillliant place to stay and I would definitely recommend it- just maybe eat somewhere else (yaya restaurant just 5 minutes walk away was our favourite!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Railay in itself is a wonderful place. Such a quaint, beautiful place with a relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in a standard air con room and it was perfectly sufficient for our budget. The room was clean, however the bathroom was a poor setup with the shower. We had to move the toilet paper and everything out of the bathroom to have a shower as water ended up everywhere. The pool was very nice! We loved the food at the restaurant. We enjoyed the BBQ and buffet that was included. The staff were friendly and helpful. We shared our room with a few geckos but they were harmless. Would definitely go back here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We went to Railay havingread a lot of reviews on a lot of places on Trip Advisor. As such we were nervous about what to expect as we read some really awful reviews and not many to redeem them. As such we decided not to book any accomodation until we arrived. As it is low season we were confident we would find somewhere to stay.
So, on arrival my girlfriend stayed with the bags and i went in search of a place to stay. I will say at this point that when you go to Railay, there a expensive 4 or5 star resorts, however most places provide a huge variety of room choices, from backpacker budget (400 baht a room base don a couple) all the way up to 1600 baht a room. First i looked at Ya Ya Resort. They had some nice rooms with basic level of accomodation, however it was right near the restaurant, and the room was on the top (of 3) floor, and was absolutely BOILING!
Then i looked at Phutawan Resort. This one is set back 5 mins from the beach, up a steep hill. The views from there are nice, and for 800 baht they offered me a very nice room, which i genuinely considered, however felt it a bot too much on our budget. They also offered a 300 baht room, however it was little more than a shack, opn to the elements (and mosquitos) and there was very basic facilities attached to it.
I then looked at Diamond Cave resort. Again they had a range of rooms offer, with a nice room for 1000baht to a really horrible rom for 400 baht. However the owners approach and attitude towards me when i asked to see the room was such that i did not want to stay there. He seemed to be the only member of staff in the whole place and i was not enthused by it at all.
Finally I looked at Railay Viewpoint. With a basic room for 400 baht, i wondered how basic it would be. It looked fine from the outset and eventually we decided to stay here.
During the stay i found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. They gave us fresh towels and essentials when we needed them, it did take some prompting though! The bedroom was fine, it had a TV, half decent mattress, which was comfy enough. The bathroom was a little shoddy, with some damp and mildew on the walls, however overall i didn't feel i could complain too much.
All in all, we stayed a couple of nights and enjoyed our time in Railay. After being nervous about coming, i would say to anyone thinking of going to Railay, if it's in the low season, DO NOT book before you get there. There is such a variety of accommodations on so many different price levels that you really need to see and check what you will be happy with first.

Room Tip: Check the mosquito nets around the windows before you agree on the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We arrived to the beach on the other side of the village on a rainy day. There was no info on how to get to the hotel from there, so we just started asking/looking around. We finally managed to get through the puddles and dirt to the hotel and stood at the reception for about 10min, while the person there bothered to even greet us. There were no other guests there at the time besides us. After we had checked in, we were given just one key, which turned out to be a problem, because the doors would close with a Yale lock, which meant if i wanted to go out in the morning to discover the area, but my boyfriend wanted to sleep longer and perhaps go to breakfast at some point, we had great difficulties planning out the whole schedule trying to manage with just that one key. The rooms were quite dark and you couldn't open the curtains much, as the windows were facing other bungalows. As our shower nozzle was broken, we asked the reception if someone could come and fix it, but all we got was an arrogant "It's not our problem". In the morning when we went for breakfast, there was barely anything to choose from plus they gave no info about what was what when i asked, just ignored me with a blunt look.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We went to this place after staying at Diamond Cave next door (terrible place) and this was so much better. Friendly staf and great breakfast.Great quality restaurant. We eat here everyday. We stayed 6 nights in railey east. Only two nights at Viewpoint resort. The rooms was ok, a bit smelly of mould but ok.
We would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Railay Viewpoint Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Viewpoint Resort

Address: Mu 2, Tambon Ao Nang | Ampur Muang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Krabi Town
#39 Spa Hotel in Krabi Town
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Railay Viewpoint Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Railay Viewpoint Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Viewpoint Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Viewpoint Resort Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railay Viewpoint Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.