We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but staff are funny about everyone and rude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ben's House to your Saves list
Ben's House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   155-155/3 Ao Nang Beach, Amphur Mueng, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 218 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but staff are funny about everyone and rude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is dead nice, lovely views, pool and rooms were top marks, it is a little walk to the beach and the main street but some lovely places to eat on the way. Didnt have breakfast whilst we was there. Only problem was the staff were a little rude.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Bens house was clean and bright, it was excellent value at 700 baht for a superior sea view room including breakfast. Pool was small but deep and very refreshing. Breakfast was ok , but it would of been nice if it was served with a smile, the girl serving the breakfast looked like she just didn't want to be there. Good location just a short still to shops restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at Ben's House during a 2-week tour of SE Asia. Ben's House was by far the best place we stayed. Rooms are impeccably clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. We were greeted by Ben with fresh orange juice, fruit, and brandy. Wi-fi worked reliably. Beds were so comfortable it was difficult to leave them in the morning. The mini-bar was a nice added touch which made it easy to relax. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I first visited Ben's in 2008. I was very impressed with the personal service provided by the owners, and recommended it to friends and family. Upon my return, this year with a guest from the US, I was very disappointed with the attitude by the front desk staff and their lack of personal service.

The rooms are still well appointed and tastefully decorated, but in order to compete in the Ao Nang competitive market, they are going to have to go back to basics and reassess their customer service model.

When they first opened, they had it, they've now lost it and desperately need to get it back. There are plenty of other places in the area, worthy of your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Ben's place is situated just off the main waterfront road in Ao Nang where it turns to Nappharat Thara. It probably offers the best value in the area if you don't mind a little walk. It is close to both local beaches and is a 15 minute walk to catch the long tail boats to the islands and Railay peninsula. I stayed in front of here before at the now closed Green Lemon because I like the location. I discovered a short cut (down the steps) behind Ben's that is more pleasant than taking the road out front down to 'the strip'. The pool is a bonus. Our room was a triple and the only minus was that it's proximity to reception and eating area could bleed some noise, but it wasn't that bad.
The room was large with lots of storage and a balcony facing northwest, perfect for sunset time. There was good variation in the breakfasts compared to most places and the staff looked after our laundry. They also matched the cheapest price i found for the 'james bond' tour and organized our airport taxi. Good restaurants out front but probably the best deal is down the lane behind with good authentic Thai food at more reasonable prices and less crowding than on ao nang's beachfront strip.

Room Tip: facing the back looking over the 'luxury' complex behind you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Guest of room 101. Very helping staff and they can communicate well in English.
But I didn't get a good shower experience here as the water pressure is low and it flooded after 5 minutes. I guess they didn't check if the bathroom is clogged.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a very clean and nice hotel with large, newly renovated rooms, a good shower, AC, a fridge, TV with good satellite channels, fast WiFi in your room, and a small balcony. There is also a small pool with shaded areas on each side of it to lounge in. The only deficits we have discovered so far (we are here until tomorrow) are that there is no lift, so you have to lug your bags up and down several floors, and the breakfast isn't included (it costs 150 Baht). There is a minimart within 20 yards (turn right at the main road) and many nice looking restaurants in the area. The rooms are quiet too. It is about a 10 minute walk down to the road which runs along Ao Nang Beach where there are really a LOT of stalls and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben's House

Address: 155-155/3 Ao Nang Beach, Amphur Mueng, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 218 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben's House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to present our accommodation feature 31 Guestrooms, located between Ao Nang Beach and Noppharat Tara Beach. All rooms are equipped with Air condition, Private bathroom, Satellite TV, mini bar, in room safe and hot shower stall and Private balcony is available for the most of the rooms. Facilities also include internet café, restaurant and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ben's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben`s House Hotel Krabi Town
Ben's House Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.