We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ben's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ben's House to your Saves list
Ben's House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   155-155/3 Ao Nang Beach, Amphur Mueng, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 218 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good hotel for 1500 Bath in high season. Stayed here for 9 nights. Front desk staff is not smiling too much and is very busy taking care of their hair and make up. Room is spaceous and fairly clean. Aircondition, 21" crt ("old fat style") tv, safe and small balcony. View is better the higher in the hotel you get. Cleaning staff is pollite and smiling to the guests. Pool was clean and wedged between this and the neighbouring hotel. Fast help when aircondition stopped working. Breakfast is ok. I recommend this hotel if you're not too picky about small details and if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Tao, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the action, bright and welcoming, and the staff are awesome. The prices are half of what we almost paid next door. If you can get a sea view room, go for it. Stayed in 603. There is a fantastic pool as well.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here for 3 weeks in total. Our room is 103 so lots of steps down, great exercise. The room is huge has a balcony a tv mini bar-reaonsbly priced too, a massive bed a safe and a cracking shower, a fan and an ac unit We have felt really at home here. The breakfasts are super with very posh bread for toast. You can order you preferred style of eggs when you arrive at your table.
If I were to really search fir some feedback it would be. Butter fir breakfast, a reading lamp, coffee and tea making facilities and an extra pillow. thank you B H

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Cheap decent rooms in quiet location off main road. 10 min walk to beach and restaurants is good as makes it quiet. Tiny swimming pool is more like plunge pool so nice to cool off in.

However service was not warm or friendly as you would expect in Thailand and breakfasts are awful - best to be avoided and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 or 4 nights when I was in Krabi.

The wifi is kind of off sometimes, you can't get it on every level but it is there. They have a breakfast in the morning which was fine enough.

Their pool is pretty awesome! I like that its in between two buildings and two levels - I saw a lot of bad reviews about that but I thought it was cool.

There is a better resort in front of it that you can see from the rooms facing the ocean so don't be too sad cause this place is dirt cheap!

They even added another night to our stay when my friend was death hungover and couldn't move but they made us switch rooms because they had already booked our room for that night...which would make sense if we had some nice awesome room with a view but we just had some super random one. But the only they moved us two had a better shower so no worries! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Ben's house is not on the main street which turned out to be great to avoid the noise of the party scene, but is only a 5 minute walk to the main road so there's no hassle. the staff were helpful in booking tours and activities in the area. The view from our house had a slight ocean view and a view of the luxurious pool next door.

Room Tip: choose a room on the 5th or 6th floor for the best view of the sunset and a bit of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is tucked away from the main road so it's not noisy. We were greeted with friendly staff and the owner, and the reception area is clean with lots of seating. As we arrived early our rooms weren't ready so we went for a swim. The pool is in between two buildings, while it isn't massive it's a nice size to take a refreshing dip. When we got into our room it was very big and airy with lots of space for luggage and a decent sized balcony with a table and a couple chairs. It would look more inviting though with a new coat of paint, and the chairs/table need a good scrub as well. However not every room has a balcony/terrace as our friends didn't have one.

The bathroom is a wet room and was clean. There's a slight step down to the toilet and shower and it is quite a big space to shower in, but you can't help get the toilet wet. The shower and tap doesn't have a consistent water pressure though and you can hear it whiring. The wifi is free throughout the hotel, but it worked intermittently. The air con worked well, there's a decent fridge and a safe in the wardrobe. Breakfast was available but I didn't try this as it wasn't included in our stay.

The road to the hotel doesn't have a footpath or much lighting, so you need to be careful. It's about a 5 minute walk to the main road with restaurants, shops and stalls, and a further 5 minute walk to the beach. There's lots of places to eat within a good distance, and while there's a massage place just a few doors away, there's loads more down the main road and along the beach which do happy hour deals, so look around first.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben's House

Address: 155-155/3 Ao Nang Beach, Amphur Mueng, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 218 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben's House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to present our accommodation feature 31 Guestrooms, located between Ao Nang Beach and Noppharat Tara Beach. All rooms are equipped with Air condition, Private bathroom, Satellite TV, mini bar, in room safe and hot shower stall and Private balcony is available for the most of the rooms. Facilities also include internet café, restaurant and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ben's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben`s House Hotel Krabi Town
Ben's House Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.