We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot of Things to See, Price Gouge farangs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khon Kaen National Museum

Khon Kaen National Museum
Khon Kaen, Khon Kaen, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Attractions in Khon Kaen
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lot of Things to See, Price Gouge farangs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I enjoyed seeing all the sights at the museum, and there were a lot of cool artifacts from many hundreds of years ago. I was surprised by the different items that were on display here at the museum. The only thing I didn't like was the price of admission; whereas it was 20 Baht for a Thai and 100 Baht for a foreigner. I know that equates to a little over $3 USD, so in that sense big whoop. But, I don't think there should be such a big price spread. I realize foreigners usually have more money than the average Thai citizen in Khon Kaen, but the museum should have closed the gap to perhaps 40 Baht Thai 80 Baht foreigner, to make it more equitable. I wouldn't want to go back based on the principle of the wide price difference.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    16
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“New displays -Informative staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A well presented colledtion with nformation about Khon Kaen and places near there. It has obviously been recently renovated which makes it a comfortable and very interesting place to visit.
We had a tour and the guide was great.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Khon Kaen Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I don't expected this place to have plenty of valuable antiques from several places. The display is very interesting that I spent more than half day to explore.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small but comprehensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This museum has a comprehensive collection of jewellery and sculpture from prehistoric, Khmer to later times. Photography is allowed provided you do not use a flash. Make sure you allow sufficient time for you visit as they close at 4pm sharp. There is plenty of car space available and a large collection of stone boundary markers located in an area to the side of the museum- so do not miss this. There are booklets, DVD and souvenires available at the book shop located on the lower floor at the rear of the museum. Entry is 100 baht and free for Thai citizens.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Museum of Isarn Culture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Very basic with very few visitors. Though, interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khon Kaen National Museum also viewed

Khon Kaen, Khon Kaen Province
Khon Kaen, Khon Kaen Province
 
Khon Kaen, Khon Kaen Province
Khon Kaen, Khon Kaen Province
 

Been to Khon Kaen National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khon Kaen National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.