We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VN Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
VN Guesthouse
Save
You added VN Guesthouse to your Saves list
44 Rongheeb Oil Rd. 2, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 78 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Basic but great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting the surrounding area, we needed 2 rooms but at 400bht each it wasnt a problem. The rooms are simple but the restuarant/lounge area looks over the river and is very peaceful and lovely. After the chaos of travel it was just what my family needed. We met several families here and some who return annually. Its a little away from the frenzy of life so get transport. You can walk from the train station and into the town where you will find a great bookstore but to be honest we were glad to leave the town and walk down our quite road to this oasis. Kaan is very helpful and on the ball. She is also very fair. We went to Erawan falls and wanted to stay the night, she allowed us to phone her by 1pm to say that we were staying away so held our bags without charging us for the room. All great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    112
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
42
133
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bussum, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The rooms are very basic but what can one expect for 250-300 bath a night?
The restaurant is the best place to be. Great food and drinks, nice place to relax with great riverview!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

VN does not pretend to be a resort and at room prices between 250-400 BHT, you shouldn't expect too much. However, the air-con, river view room we booked on the river raft (you can easily get away with just a fan room, air-con went unused for most of stay) was fantastic if you know what to expect.

The beds were slightly more comfortable than other Thai guesthouses in the same price range, linens were clean, and there was a small table in the room and 2 chairs on the small balcony facing the river. The only negative is the noise from adjoining rooms. You will hear everything, so bring ear plugs, or keep the fan on high if you have other travelers next to you.

The lunch/dinner food was surprisingly good, but slightly pricier than some other Thai/western menus in town. We thoroughly enjoyed the beef panang curry, which was a welcome surprise as most places in Thailand do not buy quality beef. Maybe we got lucky. The Tom Kha/Ka Gai soup was also excellent. Breakfast was fine, but definitely overpriced when compared to other nearby options (walk out the guesthouse, turn left, the road dead ends after a 5 minute walk and turn left for more dining/entertainment options).

Didn't take VN up on the bike or scooter rental, but they are available. Staff was excellent in addressing any wants/needs. Stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The rooms are basic but clean en comfortable. Nice to sleep on the river kwai. De restaurant and reception we loved the most. Nice place to relax, sit en enjoy de view.

Room Tip: Book a room at the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We choose VN via tripadvisor and it was a good choice. VN guesthouse is a bit south of the backpacker area, right on the river. They have a selection of AC and non AC rooms on a raft and in concrete buildings. Prices are very reasonable for (again) reasonable sized and clean rooms.

There is an excellent open sided restaurant on site, on stilts (almost) over the water. They have an extensive menu with both western and thai items. Everything they rustle up in the downstairs kitchen is fresh and delicious.

Greatest asset is the staff. Friendly and helpfull. Special kudo's to Thurd and Kaan (sorry for the spelling) who took care of every need from early morning till late evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was my second visit to VN Guesthouse, this time I took my husband and friends. We had air conditioned rooms facing the river, although basic, they were comfortable. The food cooked here is so fresh and tasty, we didn't bother eating anywhere else. The staff are very friendly and make you feel so welcome. Look forward to my third visit. The location also makes a few attractions within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gryon, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Great place to stay. Our 7 and 11 year old boys loved it. Staff very friendly especially to the children. Food was very tasty. Rooms were basic but we spent most of our time in the relaxing in the upstairs communal area which has even better views of the River Kwai. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VN Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VN Guesthouse

Address: 44 Rongheeb Oil Rd. 2, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Vn Guesthouse Hotel Kanchanaburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VN Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.