We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Know What To Say Really” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Legacy River Kwai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Legacy River Kwai to your Saves list
The Legacy River Kwai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Moo 2 Tambon Klondoe | Amphur Darn Makham Tia, Kanchanaburi 71260, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dont Know What To Say Really”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were a couple travelling to kanachanaburi booked with RCI being a club mahindra member paid only Rs.7200/- for a 7 night stay at the legacy took a cab to reach destination as wasn't sure about the quality of the bus we paid 1800/- Th baht .Being an indian we have better choices to stay in isolation than going all the way to Kanchanaburi. When we reached the property it was as read in other reviews very far from the city.It was crowded in the lobby with 2 or more groups of tourists mostly from companies in and around thailand also there was a group of kids who were roaming around for the whole day. We got a room on the third road of the resort which was around 600 mtrs from the lobby.There is trasportation withing the resort in the form of 8 saeter tuk tuks(good ones).we were too hungry so we reached the lobby for lunch only to find that the buffet is for the groups only costing us 250 baht per person but it was already over.We ordered al la carte as there was no other place to go.The food we had was thai as american food like burger and different kinds of fish were around 250 baht a dish.Thai food being local is cheap and we had around 4 meals in the hotel with the bill coming up to no more than 430 baht for 2 without alcohol but with soft drinks.Coming to the room part the rooms are nothing special but the photos shown in trip advisor are very old the room had a 165 ltr refrigdrator a microwave and very big electric kettle a toaster and a 32 inch lcd tv with usb connectivity and hdmi ports and also a dvd player which have not been mentioned to us while booking.beds were good comfy towels very old and used numerous times faded, toilet clean but very old tiles there should have been a store in the resort which sells essentials like milk bread cup noodles like in all club mahindra resort but that shop was closed some as per reception attendents.Staff is friendly but does not understand english there are 2 persons in the hotel who know bit of english lots and lots of insects can be found including black ants in the room mosquitos in the reception lizards are free to roam anywhere about a 100 can be found around the reception and dining areas.wifi is free in the lobby and give decent speed also there is a desktop pc free for use one way trip to town is 500 baht no pick up or drop is offered free to or from the city.Email me for more details also let me know if the review was helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    28
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
15
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cuttack, Orissa, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I , my wife and grown up son booked for a week through our club and got accommodation in cottage 162 with two rooms . The rooms are basic , the toilets and A C needs getting used to but functional . We had hired a car at Bangkok from Hertz with GPS , hence , locating the resort was not a problem . Having a car is absolutely necessary otherwise one cannot move around . Yes , to go for meals or internet to the lobby you have to ring up for the free cab . The swimming pool may be basic but OK , but rafting was not available and the bicycles rusty and were not usable. View of the river from the bank adjoining the lobby or from the floating barge is enjoyable ; to spend a quiet afternoon .
We planned our daily trips in advance and visited Erawan water falls , the national park , caves , tiger temple , prasat muang sing , Bridge Over river Kwai and other natural and historical attractions . Prepared our evening meals in our room where a micro oven and tea/ coffee maker is available . Left after five nights .
Overall for those loving nature and a quiet family vacation it should be enjoyable . The hotel staff and local people are well mannered and welcoming though few speak English .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived on Saturday 05 October 2013, after driving around Kanchanaburi for 2 hours looking and asking where it was. It is actually 35 Kms from the town centre, in the middle of nowhere.

We had our grandchildren with us, and they had to sleep on the floor as there were no beds available for children. The food in the restaurant, was atrocious, open to the elements, full of insects, and no air conditioning. The cabins (rooms) were basic, air conditioning did not work. correctly, and the insects eat you alive.

Next morning for breakfast - what a joke - food inedible.

We checked out and went to a Hotel in Kanchnaburi, even though we had paid for one week at the resort. Fortunately the Hotel - Dheva Mantra - is fabulous

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were scheduled into legacy for 7 Nights, 21-27 Sept, 2013, but checked out after only 3 mights. The Resort in on the Kwai, but it is the Kwai Noi (small) and 30 kms from Kanchanaburi and all of the reasons that we came to this part of Thailand!
There are no other transport options from the resort except for their cars and their prices are HORRIBLE! They charged 1,500 Baht (~$49 US) for a 3 hour contract! When it takes 45 minutes to get in to Kan, that only leaves you 1.5 hrs for touring around. They hope to keep guests a 'captive audience' and are quite successful. There are no other eating options within 15 kms and no stores fro shopping or food stuffs.
The Resort is huge, covering 120 acres of space, and they did not provide a map of the property, so getting lost was a common issue. It took us 15 minutes to walk from our room (D161-1) to the lobby for food or Internet! The restaurant was OK, but we could only eat one handed, as the other hand was bust chasing away flies, mosquitoes and other bugs from the food. They covered all the foods and condiments and even tried to drown themselves in our drinks. Dining was NOT a pleasant experience. The resort seems best equipped to handle large groups with buffet style eating.
The pool area was small and not well equipped with sun beds, etc, as the resort can easily accommodate 400 people and there were ~12 beds available. The pool water was a dingy lime green color and the surrounding area was not well kept. They had bicycles for rent at the pool area, but most all of them were rusty with broken shifting or brake cables and torn/moldy seats.
It seems that Legacy is geared toward business conference and seminar hosting and for Thai folks only. The language skills by everyone at the Resort, except 2 ladies at check-in, was extremely International Language challenged.
The stand alone bungalow rooms were really quite nice with air con and hot water. They did have TV, but there were 7 channels and 6 of those were in Thai. The 7th channel was out of Tokyo and had some programs in English, but all programs on that channnel dealt with items of interest to Japanese only.
We would not recommend this Resort for couples, families with children of any age or Non-Thai people. It is a great place for Thai Team Building and Seminar stays. Unless you are looking for an extremely quiet out of the way place to be by yourself, please consider anywhere else!

Room Tip: Get one closer to the lobby area, so that you can get to meals and Internet easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and l decided to venture out to explore the Kanchanaburi area before heading to Phuket. We booked in at The Legacy River Kwai through our holiday club but had to find our own way there from Bangkok. Our porter at Siam@Siam organized for a taxi driver to take us there. We agreed upfront with the taxi driver to pay 2000baht. Our lives are in his hands for the next 3 hrs! Eventually we get to our destination , the grounds are nice but with a little bit more maintenance could be fantastic. There is one or two staff members who speak English so you are in a predicament if they are not rostered on. Our room was a green studio, about 10 min walk to reception and pool but you can call a taxi to collect you, this is free.

Our room hmmm very basic, very old and could do with a facelift. Sure there is a kettle and 2 cups to make tea/coffee but it's a little hard when there is no supplies in your room and you don't have the opportunity to purchase any via reception.

The bathroom was mouldy and towels average.

The Buffet dinner was good, a la carte less than average.

The staff were lovely and did try to assist where possible. The entertainment was a young singer who by the end of our 3 night stay we were booked in to stay 1 week, knew us well lol.

Getting anywhere is a nightmare as it is very remote and very expensive if you need to call a taxi in etc.

We did do a day trip to several places which if we went on the hotel 'tour' would have cost us 3900 baht per person. Instead we opted for their taxi, agreed on 3000baht for the entire day for both of us and we saw all the same places as the tour but just didn't have a guide - we worked it all out
anyway.

We had organized for our original taxi driver to come and collect us three days later which to our surprise (he didn't speak English) was there ready and waiting al pronto!

I probably wouldnt stay here again, too far out from where all the places of interest are. Yes, the resort is in Kanchanaburi, but it about 30km further out.

Better luck next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

First – the Legacy Resort should actually be considered more of a Retreat than a Resort. This is not a party place, it is a park full of log cabins with a central reception and restaurant. If you do not like nature, do not come here, because this is something different for those who want a truly Nature-filled experience in the middle of a little bit of rainforest.
Most people make the mistake of travelling to Kanchanaburi town and then getting a taxi (very expensive because the Legacy on the River Kwai is 25 kilometers away from town). It is best to have a car if you are coming here, as there is nothing but a tiny rural village next to the Legacy. However, having said that, we don’t have a car and have come here 4 years in a row. We come by train from the Bangkok Thonburi station, but buy our ticket (100 baht each) to Wang Yen Station, which is 5 stations beyond Kanchanaburi (the train crosses the Kwai Bridge). Just before we arrive at Wang Yen, we call the Legacy Resort to send a complimentary mini-van to pick us up. The Legacy is 4-1/2 kilometres from Wang Yen Station. Their mobile number is (0)899189699 Speak slowly so the driver can understand that you want to be picked up from Wang Yen station. Failing this call the reception (0)34673635. If you are using an overseas phone, put the country code in (66) and drop the (0)
Our holiday club gives us access to one of the green cabins on the entrance side of the park. The rest of the park wood cabins might be filled with Thai visitors from Bangkok or Business Conference Groups who come for team-building days. Usually, every night 3 busloads of French Tourists arrive for the evening and to stay overnight before travelling on to the next stage of their tour. Despite the numbers of people, we always feel very peaceful here. We love our days by the swimming pool (usually on our own), watching the large trees swaying in gentle breezes and listening to the bird song above us.
There is so much wildlife in this park! It is a great place for ornithologists or nature lovers. It has a riverside, a lake, and a tiny brook filled with frogs. Every morning when we open our curtains on the floor to ceiling window, we are greeted by Racquet Tailed Drongo’s, Asian Hoopoes, black & white squirrels, monitor lizards, and beautiful butterflies just parading by only a few feet away. These animals are quite shy though, so will run away if they see you. Fortunately the mosquito screens hide us away from them. Other birds include, Bull, Bulls (a colourful variety of skylark), pretty bee-eaters, shrikes, black pheasants and quite a few birds we don’t know the name of. The watery nature of the park invites all these creatures in during the dry season and cormorants and brown and azure kingfishers are regular visitors to the river (and sometimes the tree outside our window), along with Chinese Pond Herons and the occasional stork or crane. There are frogs, lizards, geckos and bats...the list goes on and on. I’ve added a few pictures, although our little camera is not good enough to get the birds. You’ll need a good telephoto lens for them.
The log cabins are basic but do have air-conditioning, a kettle of sorts, and a small bar fridge. The beds are comfortable with nice clean cotton sheets and there are screens on all the windows should you want to open them. I disagree with other comments that the units are filthy, as I find them clean where it counts, but they are rustic and not for everyone I suppose. Ants are natural in the jungle... we rarely see them in the units – mostly they parade around outside in front of the door.
We bring our own food with us, along with a rice cooker, so we self-cater while we are here. We boil the tap water (it is chlorinated) and have drunk it with no problem, but the Legacy does have water supplied in glass bottles and a small shop for purchases.
It is easy to get the early morning train into Kanchanaburi if we want some supplies or to visit the “Bridge over the Kwai” and of course the mini-van does the complimentary transfers to and from Wang Yen Station. The only drawback to the train is that you must leave Kanchanaburi by late afternoon as the last train is scheduled at 4:30 pm but is sometimes late. If you want to see the Kwai Bridge at night (fireworks on Wednesdays and Saturdays), you must arrange to stay in Kanchanaburi Town or pay the extortionate price for a taxi to bring you back to the Legacy.
If you want to use the restaurant facilities at the Legacy, they are similar in price to bigger hotels. I cannot comment on the quality of the food as I’ve not eaten in the restaurant. A beer and a snack is currently on offer for 180 baht. Service seems to be good, but speak slowly for the staff – remember they have to learn French, English and other languages to speak to tourists.
There are a couple of tiny family owned eateries in the small village outside the resort, and the food is quite good and very cheap, but it is helpful to know a few words of Thai to order. This is a very rural village where goats and chickens roam all over the place. Cattle, and pigs are in stockades so you are seeing authentic Thai rural life. English is not widely spoken in the village, but sometimes the locals can surprise you! The Station Master at Wang Yen knows quite a bit of English.
The train also goes on to Namtok (the end of the line) – the track is the famous Death Valley Railway, and you will travel on the single line track over the rickety wooden viaduct and past Krasae Cave (Golden Buddha inside). Some of the track here is still original from World War II and if you do explore here, you should take a good look at the narrow track inside the current one... there are still holes visible from bomb shrapnel.
At Namtok station, (it is about a kilometre from Sayok Yai Waterfall further up the track) you can take any of the numerous tuk,tuks or taxi drivers to see various parks and animal attractions. However, I recommend the Australian Memorial to the Thai Burma Railway construction at “Hell Fire Pass.” It is a moving place and you can get a real sense of the tragedy that unfolded here during the railway construction. Indeed, Wang Yen was one of the POW camps where the work crews were brought to work on the 20 month construction of the railway.
The Legacy is so named because it recognises the railway construction... a huge bronze freeze of the construction is found on the wall of the lower conference facility in the reception building. I’d guess the Legacy was built about 30 years ago... most of the trees are about this age too.
Best time to go to Legacy is probably in dry season (Jan to mid April). Once the rains start, you might see more animals (bats, frogs and so on), but you will also see more mosquitoes. Use bug spray! Bring a flashlight with you if you want to explore at night. There is street lighting near the cabins, but it is still quite dark in some areas. It will also help should you have a short power outage (happens during thunder storms). Wifi is only available in the Reception area, but is complimentary and you are not required to buy anything while you sit in the bar area unless you wish to do so. The entertainment there in the early evening is usually put on for the French tourists... but it is exactly the same every night for the next group that arrives.
If you want to know anything else about Legacy or Namtok attractions, please feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: The Green Cabins are usually allotted to DAE club members, but we've always found them OK. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The grounds and area is beautiful but don't go unless you have your own transportation! The spa was not in service when I was there. It seemed like a lot of big tour groups were coming and going. The hotel restaurant was nice but it is open air so lots of bugs!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Legacy River Kwai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legacy River Kwai

Address: 129 Moo 2 Tambon Klondoe | Amphur Darn Makham Tia, Kanchanaburi 71260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Legacy River Kwai 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Legacy River Kwai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legacy River Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legacy River Kwai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.