We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap guesthouse in Kanchanaburi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Cane Guest House 2

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sugar Cane Guest House 2 to your Saves list
Sugar Cane Guest House 2
7 Soi Cambodia, Kanchanaburi, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“cheap guesthouse in Kanchanaburi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Sugar Cane represented good value for money. The place was cheap and you do get what you pay for but the room was clean and the breakfasts excellent.
There were slightly more expensive rooms actually on the river but I stayed in a little bungalow-style room. There were around ten of them all laid back in a horseshoe shaped design.
Only cold water, and fan-cooled, but you do get what you pay for.
Only the one man there seemed to speak any substantial amount of English, but he was very helpful.
In a street full of similar properties I would certainly recommend it.
Great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    14
    3
    10
See reviews for
6
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The room was 250Bath which is pretty cheap but for the same price you will find much better rooms in the same street! The room smelled like our laundry after a few days of jungle trekking. The staff was unfriendly and the food... guess what, it was bad too! We moved the next day to blue star and we had a much better, cleaner room with AC for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Want to stay on a river bungalow with views of the River Kwai Bridge? Choose here - we've stayed here twice and, although the rooms are basic with lumpy mattresses, it's clean, cheap and the staff are excellent. The food is good too and you can even do a bit of fishing off their small pier.

Room Tip: Choose one of the floating raft rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahara
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

While they have rooms on dry land, there are also a couple houseboats which guests can choose to stay in. While the houseboats themselves are nothing extravagant (ours had electrical and bathroom problems, and even though it was clean, it could have used some refurbishing), we enjoyed the experience of sleeping riverside, and our houseboat had a little outdoor patio on the river side. The river is beautiful, and every once in a while a floating restaurant hosting some local party went by. One morning we were woken insanely early by what we figured was a farmer on the other side of the river who had his radio broadcasting Buddhist chants on full blast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

we stayed in a room on the floating raft on the river, the room was fine if a little dated but all the river life around the raft made up for that.
The staff didn't really interact with us and didn't seem interested unless you wanted to book a tour through them.
Fine for a night or two but no longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed here for three nights - spent one in a deluxe bungalow, one in a standard bungalow and one in a raft room.

The deluxe bungalow (priced at around 250b) was definitely the best of the three and would recommend staying in one of these. It was basic and clean, with a nice little balcony from which you could see the river.

The standard bungalow wasn't so nice. Bathroom very basic (no flush on toilet) and room itself felt a bit like it was going to fall apart (and had a lot of loud insects in and around it).

Raft room was nice but in my opinion not worthy of the extra couple of hundred baht.

The staff here were friendly, and accommodating (didn't mind me changing rooms everyday!) There was a security guard on duty all night which made it feel safe. Breakfast was good.

Location was good, easy to walk to and from the train station and nightmarket and near a good stretch of restaurants and bars. A bit of a hike to the Bridge, but you will need transport to get anywhere in Kanchanaburi anyway...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Nice hotel and very cheap. I slept with family in two bungalows. Next day we wanted change hotel to closer shopping area but finally we got rooms for one night more. Rooms were clean and nice. One bungalow have big bed enought for three people another one two separated. Desk were very helpful and not angry for us when we came at midnight (fatal traffic giant in Bangkok). Sugar Cane's restaurant situated opposite to the river with nice view.
Location isn't the best but it's very quiet place much better than Blue Star hotel with kareoke from local restaurants.
I can recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Cane Guest House 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Guest House 2

Address: 7 Soi Cambodia, Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sugar Cane Guest House 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Guest House 2 Hotel Kanchanaburi
Sugar Cane Hotel 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Cane Guest House 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.