We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khao Pung Waterfall in the Park is well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sai Yok National Park

Sai Yok National Park
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 32 Attractions in Kanchanaburi
Type: National Parks, Hiking Trails, Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Khao Pung Waterfall in the Park is well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We did not have enough time to look around much of the Sai Yok National Park, but on our way back from the Hellfire Pass to Kanchanaburi, we stopped at the Khao Pung Waterfall. There was not too much water flowing down it, because being February it was the dry season.
It surprised us how picturesque the area was. It was beautiful with quite a lot to see including the railway station at the top of the climb. Down at the bottom near the car park, there are many places selling the sliced dried fruit that has been fried in oil and packaged up to be sold. The waterfall and the railway station are worth visiting for a couple of hours.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    29
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We ad one night on a raft in sai yok national park an it was fantastic. Very very basic, just two lights and an electric fan, an cold water but so worth it. I loved the idea of asking the. Raft, bar and all, down to e waterfall for a shower. The food was great, and relaxing in the hammock outside our room watching the river go by was so peaceful. Definitely do it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“River cottage stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at a river boat cottage on the Kwai river for one night. There was no air conditioning but the peace and beauty of the river made our stay magical. We sat in a hammock on the river for several hours just taking it all in. We ate our evening meal and breakfast on a barge attached to the cottages and this barge was pulled down to a waterfall for us to stand under. At night we lay in bed listening to the sound of the river running underneath us. The shower had no plug hole only a gap in the timber on the floor. The Kwai river and its setting in this National Park is a magical experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“nice place for swimming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

very beautiful park and ideal for swimming on the river stream, nice nature with little, but wide waterfalss

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“2nd best falls in Kanchanaburi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Sai Yok Noi is the 2nd best falls in the area. It is close to the road unlike Eriwan falls. Take a day and visit Hellfire pass, these falls and Sai Yok train station and cave. You will then have time in the afternoon for museums or relaxing in Kanchanburi

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sai Yok National Park also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Sai Yok National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sai Yok National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.