We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of river Kwai and the tiger temple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Kwai

River Kwai
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Improve this listing
Visit River Kwai like an insider
Private Tour
$111*
and up
Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on...
Attraction details
Ampang, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tour of river Kwai and the tiger temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a 2D/1N guided tour to river Kwai. Our guide for this trip was Joe from Thailand attraction tours. We were very happy with Joe. He speaks good English and he is very passionate about this job.
The places we visited was worth the time and money. We enjoyed ourself especialynat the hot spring and fish spa resort.
I would definitely recommend Joe.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    201
    79
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dandenong, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“And I expected to See William Holden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I watched the film and thought i knew all about it.....alas I was wrong. 1. it wasn't called the river Kwai when the bridge was built 2. it is and always was built of concrete and steel. 3. it was not blown up by commandos, but instead by air raids (killing many POW's who were placed on the bridge as a human shield) 4. the changing colour lighting was not there in 1943.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi, Turkey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Apart from the famous film and the history, it is a bit special to be there and to see the famous river which is very beautiful in the area of the Bridge.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The Kwai valley - worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We decided to spend a week motorbiking around Kanchanaburi and I have to say this is a very scenic area of Thailand. Mountains, large lakes, caves, water falls, war memorials and - of course - beautiful vistas of the River Kwai along the way. Worth a visit!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“long tail boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We took a long tail boat up the kwai,the scenery was amazing and we saw some wonderful wildlife.A monitor lizard the size of an alligator,we went from nam tok up to the jungle rafts ,this part of the river is spectacular.we recommend this and great value for money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Kwai also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to River Kwai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Kwai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.