We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emotional history and beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hellfire Pass Museum

Hellfire Pass Museum
Kanchanaburi | Wat Chaichumphon, Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hellfire Pass Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$522*
and up
3-Day River Kwai Tour from Bangkok: Ayutthaya...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A memorial to the laborers and Allied prisoners of war who suffered and died constructing and maintaining the Burma-Thailand railway during WW II.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Emotional history and beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I wish I had more time at the museum since we were part of an excursion we could not be there as much as liked. The museum is small and very well organized. A bit emotional, I felt really sad, but that's reality. The trail to the hellfire pass was very accessible and walking a bit further from the main visit we end up enjoying spectacular views of the valley.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    210
    27
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quality exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We spent about 3 hours here. Good display of info. Well worth our time! The story is one that needs to be heard.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very moving yet peaceful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We organised a driver from our hotel in Bangkok to take us to Hellfire Pass and Bridge over the River Kwai. Best decision. I was asked by a friend if it was a sad place to visit and in some strange way, it wasn't. What we felt was definitely a lot of different emotions but the walk and museum had a very calm and peaceful feel. We hired the audios for our walk which gave us a better understanding of what went on, especially the audio from the gentlemen who were POW. The museum is beautifully laid out and the information very moving. We were so pleased that we could visit and in some very small way, pay our respects. If you are visiting Bangkok, take 1 day out of your time to visit Hellfire Pass. You won't be sorry.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place and Fitting Tribute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Having done some reading about the Death Railway before visiting the museum, this place really brought the accounts to life. The beautiful scenery, but the harrowing accounts of the POWs, make it a place of conflicting emotions. The museum itself tells the story of the construction of the Death Railway both in audio and written formats. The walk along Hellsfire Pass gives you a very clear visual sense of the task set for the POWs, both in terms of the conditions they worked in and the mammoth job of excavating the site. The audio tour was the most interesting part of the tour for me and in hindsight I wish I'd done the full walk, but this was only part of a full day's tour for me so we didn't have time.

If the plight of the POWs during this war is of any interest to you, definitely visit this place before considering a visit to the must more touristy Bridge Over The River Kwai.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A poignant and fitting memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This museum has been sensitively and carefully created. It is informative and very moving. Sitting high above the pass it is a beautiful poignant spot and yet full of sadness and horror. Walking through the pass and reading about the terrible history of the events that happened on this site is terrible and sad but it is a must if you are coming to visit this area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellfire Pass Museum also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Hellfire Pass Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellfire Pass Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.