We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but .........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nakakiri Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Nakakiri Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nakakiri Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   99 Moo 1 | Thong Phaphum, Kanchanaburi 71180, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 69 hotels in Kanchanaburi
Dorchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice but .........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel (no way is it a resort and spa) was very quiet whilst we were there until Sharp Manufacturing arrived for a weekend conference. Then the place was spruced up, pool towels appeared and the breakfast service appeared! Has seen better days but is perfectly adequate for a short stay. We didnt stay on the river but in the bungalows which were very nice but frequented by all manner of jungle friends each day! Never quite sure what we would come back to as the gaps under the doors allow for visitors! Everything was fine and if you dont mind 2/3 star accom this is fine for the price.

Room Tip: Lovely views from the river facing bungalows - also more peaceful than the raft rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed there during Christmas, the weather was cool at that time which is the best time to visit Kanchanaaburi. For the resort, don't expect five stars treatment. But for the price comparing to the view and the room I think it is worth paying.
We decided to stay at the rive raft room because of our 6 yr-old daughter request. The room is quite big, there are 3 beds for us. For the view, it was spectacular. We saw river of fog in the morning which is beautiful. The only thing to complain for the room is the noise. As the wall is made from bamboo - it is very thin. We can hear everything from the TV next door, people walking and talking. So I wouldn't recommend for person who can't get to sleep easily.

The breakfast was good, even it's not a buffet but they provide enough for you to feel very full.

Another thing that I like about the hotel is, it is close to the hot spring and the waterfall. Only less than 5 minutes drive, so if you stay for a week, you can have a hot spring bath everyday.

Overall, we recommend Nakakiri for people who want to get away from the busy life as it is new, not so expensive and peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foul Bay S A
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed on a river raft which was lovely, first night was a little unnerving as the room swayed a little bit with the fast running Kwai Noi, access to the raft was a steep hill, ok going down but getting up in the morning for b/f was agonising for my legs and arthritic hip. even my fit partner found the going a bit too much. Breakfast was good, eggs etc cooked to order. not too much English spoken by the staff although 'IM' the manager was excellent, she drove us to the nearest shops to buy supplies,(there are no taxi's or tuk tuk's or public transport at all) and she also drove us to the markets and took us on a day trip to the border when she had to renew her liquer licence. She has a lovely dog that dotes on her, The room was clean but basic, TV but no English speaking channels, we stayed for one week and IM loaned us her DVD player and movie's she was extremely helpful and a definate asset to the resort. the timber floors in the room allowed you to see the river underneath which was interesting and the mist on the river in the mornings was spectacular. The location and lack of a shop for supplies etc was a negative for us, but if you want peace and quiet and serenity it's a definate plus. the menu was confusing ... Crispy fried = soft glutinous noodles, so beware somethings are lost in translation.

Room Tip: strong legs if you want to stay on a raft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

A lovely, secluded spot. I preferred the river view villa to the identical pool view villa. River view is private and quiet. Big room with huge bathroom. Big tub and separate shower. Wifi internet the first time, but their internet was not working the second time. I stayed on a Tuesday night and the following Saturday night. The first night, I thought that my colleague and I were the only guests; then a Russian package tour arrived in two buses. Then, on the weekend, the hotel was busy with Thai guests. The pool is large and great. There is no spa, the hot spring baths were empty and under repair. I was happy with the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nakakiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakakiri Resort & Spa

Address: 99 Moo 1 | Thong Phaphum, Kanchanaburi 71180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 hotels in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nakakiri Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the now so peaceful river kwai, lies the Nakakiri Resort with her wooden floating houses, the river view hotel rooms and the luxury poolside or riverview villas. Whatever the accommodations: everyone enjoy a stay in this wonderful Kanchanaburi jungle resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nakakiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nakakiri Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.