We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Inchantree Kanchanaburi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added U Inchantree Kanchanaburi to your Saves list
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   443 Mae Nam Kwai Road | Muang Kanchanaburi District, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our Thailand adventure. We arrived to the hotel after a hot train ride from Bangkok (would still recommend getting here from Bangkok by train though - only a 5 min walk from the station and was a great journey) to be greeted by a warm receptionist and cold towels - just what we needed!
Our standard room was clean and well presented. The bed was a very decent size, comfortable, and we could fit everything we had into the cupboards. The rain shower was a decent size too. The breakfasts were good with a nice selection of fruit, cereals and hot meals.
We had two meals at the restaurant - both were lovely with great views onto the river. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and service always came with a smile.
Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    164
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
107
312
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. We had heard the rooms were very small so we booked a suite. There wasn't a big difference in price and it was well worth it. The setting is absolutely beautiful. We sat at sunset at their outdoor restaurant and watched the sun go down. It was so peaceful and beautiful. The only downside is breakfast. The staff were so lovely but they did not have any direction. Used plates/cutlery etc were not removed from tables and guests were having to move them to the corner of their table in order to continue breakfast (was a buffet for cereal, toast, fruit etc). There was also a menu to add a cooked breakfast and unfortunately on our 2nd day this was only given to us when we were preparing to leave after the buffet. On this day we also had to ask for a napkin. Staff really are so sweet and it is still a lovely romantic place.

Room Tip: Book a suite it's well worth the extra which works out at around £20 sterling
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our family of three stayed here for two nights.The hotel is in a great location. Close enough to walk or ride a bike into town..really close but the hotel is situated so you feel like you are away from everything. Great breakfast and views. I just wish I would have had more time to enjoy the property.
My only complaint would be the size of the room. They are very small.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The main draw back of this hotel are the tiny rooms of only 18sqm. However they manage to squeeze in a lot of comfort items, but you are better staying there as a single unless you want to spend most of the time in/on the bed.Pepper serves ok food but 350++ for a glas of wine is excessive.Comfortable bed but noisy aircon,probably because of the small size of the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We had booked in 2 days before leaving oz, but found it so relaxing we stayed another night. Good sized room, friendly staff, good vibe, great pool. Little things - very noisy air conditioner and the food at the restaurant was ordinary when with a little more attention to taste and detail it could and should improve. Still a good place

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Spent 5 nights last month at this delightful small hotel in Kanchanaburi - only a few minutes walk from the busy touristy River Kwae Bridge, but in a peaceful oasis all of its own. The appearance of the hotel (the bedroom blocks look rather like a motel) might be a little offputting, but as soon as you are welcomed by the very friendly and helpful staff at reception, handing out cool facetowels to refresh you and enquiring what fragrance of soap etc you would like in your room, you realise what a great little hotel this is. OK, as reviewers have said, the rooms are on the small side, but they are VERY well equipped (even with a fresh filter coffeemaker) and the beds are VERY comfortable with lovely cotton bedlinen. As already mentioned, all the staff were excellent, from the reception to the restaurant, as well as the cleaning and gardening staff.
We ate each night in the open air restaurant overlooking the river - the food is very good and we thought reasonably priced. We did not feel the need to go anywhere else to eat, and Kanchanaburi itself is not a very appealing town (although the historical sites and in particular the Death Railway Museum and War Cemetery are well worth a visit). We had busy days playing golf and touring in the area, and it was wonderful to come back each afternoon/evening to the peace and quiet of the hotel, and to have a quick dip in the very clean pool overlooking the river.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A wonderful escape from Roughing it in Thailand.

We arrived from a village visiting family. So I was amazed how beautiful these grounds were.

Greeted with beautiful homemade soap and a compact but large king bed.

We were pleased!

I will say the room fit my husband and 2 children easily.

We have a travel crib we brought and my son slept with us easily.

The next night they wheeled in a bed for my mom. Cause there wasn't a room available the next night.
Wonderful hospitality!

My only complaint was , the others visitors seemed snobbish and put off by having children around.
My kids were playing in the pool and enjoying themselves.

A nice touch was free bicycles and walking distance to the bridge and breakfast included.

I will recommend this place to anyone wanting a clean, quiet, and beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to U Inchantree Kanchanaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Inchantree Kanchanaburi

Address: 443 Mae Nam Kwai Road | Muang Kanchanaburi District, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — U Inchantree Kanchanaburi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi, a real boutique Hotel that is located on the north bank of the Kwai Yai River close to the famous River Kwai Bridge. U Inchantree Kanchanaburi luxury hotel features 26 accommodation in a two-storey building set around a courtyard, dominated by an ancient "Inchantree" from which the resort derives its name. The overall design of the resort is a rustic river lodge style surrounded by landscaped gardens. Enjoy freshly prepared cuisine with spectacular views of the River Kwai at our Thai peppers restaurant or sundowners at the sunset terrace lounge suspended over the edge of the river. U's unique concept of service includes a 24 hour room policy which will allow guests to enjoy their room for 24 hours from arrival, breakfast whenever/wherever, international and local calls at cost, pre-select amenities such as pillow, tea, music and soap that guests can select from our online U Choose programme and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your U Inchantree Kanchanaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Inchantree Kanchanaburi Hotel Kanchanaburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Inchantree Kanchanaburi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.