We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place by the River Kwai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Inchantree Kanchanaburi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added U Inchantree Kanchanaburi to your Saves list
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   443 Mae Nam Kwai Road | Muang Kanchanaburi District, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Peaceful place by the River Kwai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a lovely small though friendly and well serviced hotel.
Breakfast is cooked and included with the usual assorted cold dishes. Great coffee especially for Thailand.
Free wifi which for this class of hotel is unusual and a real positive. It works in all areas off the hotel and is fast.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good with about 26 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    164
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
107
311
26
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We are a family of 5 - traveling with 3 kids aged 6.5, 5 and 16 months. Just spent 2 nights at this peaceful place on the Kwai river.
The location of this small and lovely hotel is just amazing, sits on the river and gives you a view that you just can't get enough of. The family suite we booked was big enough and wisely divided to 2 sections with a sliding door - one for the kids and one for us.
The staff are extremely nice and helpful, especially one of the receptionist who was very friendly and helpful. the laundry service is better than home. We gave laundry every morning and revive it back on the same day ironed and smells so good, our entire suitcase smells.
The food at the restaurant was excellent and great value for money.
The kids ride the hotel bicycles, and we used the hotel driver to visit the waterfalls and elephant camp which was a great day tour.
Kanchanaburi is a peaceful place but this hotel makes it even more peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at this hotel we were made to feel very welcome the staff were very pleasant and helpful the room although no large was well equipped with iPod TV fridge. Having breakfast drinks on the terrace is amazing. Would definitely go back went on a few trips which the staff organised for us and couldn't fault them

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is located on the river Kway. We have spent 3 day with 2 kids (9 and 3 years old). The room was very nice and very well equipped including an iPod with thousand of songs. Breakfast on the river was gorgeous with a wonderful view. Restaurant with great food including some "European style" food for the kids. A real nice place to stay.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This in my second stay at this hotel. I loved the rooms, and property before and they are still good! The view up and across the river are gorgeous with nice terraces placed on the rivers edge. Perfect for sunset viewing. The rooms are small as noted but well appointed and perfect. HOWEVER we did not enjoy the food. We had the (compulsory) New Years Buffet which we really could find very little to eat on. The breakfasts are minimal and just OK however we did have an upset stomach from the food which made us wonder the quality. We stayed here exclusively to visit the Tiger Temple which is about 25 min drive north. It works very well for that.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved staying in the hotel which us on the river Kwai with a view of the bridge. It us quiet and very comfortable. Has a small pool as well. Near to the restaurants and shops. We wanted to stay longer!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Upon arrival, the hotel staff offered refreshing drinks, cold towels, and a selection of soaps for our room. Our receptionist, Alex, was very welcoming and walked us through the room and resorts' amenities. He also immediately helped us book a private trip to one of the nearby attractions. The service altogether was exceptional and the amenities were excellent.

The room itself was 5 star - clean, comfortable bed, modern shower, soft robe and slippers, etc... Hard to believe I only paid $95/night (including taxes & fees) for a place that felt more like a $500/night resort! Based on the premium location, top notch service, and heavenly room... it was the best $95/night I've ever spent.

The hotel restaurant "Peppers" was also 5 star quality with very reasonable prices. Delicious food, great ambiance, direct views of the river & bridge, and lovely service with a smile. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to U Inchantree Kanchanaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Inchantree Kanchanaburi

Address: 443 Mae Nam Kwai Road | Muang Kanchanaburi District, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — U Inchantree Kanchanaburi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi, a real boutique Hotel that is located on the north bank of the Kwai Yai River close to the famous River Kwai Bridge. U Inchantree Kanchanaburi luxury hotel features 26 accommodation in a two-storey building set around a courtyard, dominated by an ancient "Inchantree" from which the resort derives its name. The overall design of the resort is a rustic river lodge style surrounded by landscaped gardens. Enjoy freshly prepared cuisine with spectacular views of the River Kwai at our Thai peppers restaurant or sundowners at the sunset terrace lounge suspended over the edge of the river. U's unique concept of service includes a 24 hour room policy which will allow guests to enjoy their room for 24 hours from arrival, breakfast whenever/wherever, international and local calls at cost, pre-select amenities such as pillow, tea, music and soap that guests can select from our online U Choose programme and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your U Inchantree Kanchanaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Inchantree Kanchanaburi Hotel Kanchanaburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Inchantree Kanchanaburi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.