We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not there jet but much improved, more volunteers needed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Open Zoo

Safari Park Open Zoo
40/2 Moo 5,Tambon Nongkum | .Bo Phloi District, Kanchanaburi, Thailand
(034) 531999, 086-3000667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 32 Attractions in Kanchanaburi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Kanchanaburi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not there jet but much improved, more volunteers needed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

First time I went there I felt really really sad, the zoo part had cages with animals that were clearly distressed & bored, nothing to do, no toys, just concrete & bars, heartbreaking....But I went back last week for the safari trip only (which is great, there the animals roam free and look well looked after) and had a peak at the zoo part again expecting nothing was improved but I was very surprised to see it actually was much much improved! There were 2 foreign volunteers now that made a huge effort to make life better for the animals. The cages looked a lot better now, there were ropes and tree's in there to play with, the animals looked calm and happier now! You can now buy some food and seeds to feed the animals and it also brings some money in for the park, great idea! It will still be difficult since the management of the park has a different vision on how to run the park and keep the animals but if the volunteers keep helping I'm sure the animals can have a much better future. They need support so please spread the word to keep the volunteers coming to get them back on track!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    9
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The volunteers have a lot of work to do.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

First impressions weren't great. The adult tiger chained to a concrete pad didn't instill a feeling of holiday joy in me personally. The phlem-hawking bus driver was offensive to me, as was the way he whacked the giraffe on the nose when we had had enough of his head in the bus. The giraffes coming right into the bus was a real kick for the kids and we got some great photos however I can't help feel that it was to the poor detriment of the animals who appeared fairly desperate for some veterinary TLC. I wish the volunteers all the best because they have a LOT of work to do, perhaps the hardest work being changing attitudes of management?
It's not a cheap entry fee, so I genuinely hope the funds are going to improving the animal enclosures and treatment. Fingers crossed its a nicer place in the future.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Safari Park is a huge place and you need to devote the whole day from 1000 Hrs to 1600 Hrs over there. They have shows at fixed times. The first show starts at 1000 Hours with the Monkeys. The show timings are fixed so ensure that you are there by 10 a.m. latest. Also the shows that you should not miss are the Monkey, Dolphin and Elephant shows.

After the show you can go for a driver in your car and can be very close to lions and tigers.

A fun place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A zoo with a split personality...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I visited this safari/zoo with my girlfriend in october 2013. We rented scooters and made our own way too and from the park. We were reccomended this place by someonw staying in the same accomodation as us. In the spirit of the zoo itself, this review will be split into two parts, the good and the bad.

I will start with the more obvious bad stuff first. So yes,theres 'blue' the tiger who is chained to the table as you enter the park, its not very pleasant to see, but we were assured by the volunteers and staff that he was not drugged and that in the future thet hope to build him an enclousure so he will not need to pose for photos.

With regards to the shows, we didnt go to them based on advice we had been given and personally its not really our thing. However, they play the terrible music for them at such a level that a majority of the zoo can hear it so i can only imagine how unpleasent it would be actually in the shows.

Aside from that, so long as you dont have a photo with the tiger and ignore the shows, theres nothing really that we found to be bad, the zoo itself is a little shabby and could do with a lick of paint, but overall it was okay.

Now the good

So based on the advice of other trip advisor reviews, we made sure to find the volunteers at the zoo, and were so glad that we did as we feel it really made the trip worthwhile. We began by feeding milk to both the leopard and lion cubs who are in seperate 'dog pens' next to blue the tiger. The pens were plenty big enough for 4 people and the cats so u saw no problem with how they were kept. On a side note, for a truly unique and feel good reminder of the zoo, the volunteers sell paint pawprints that have bewn done by all the cats and the money goes into building them a new bigger area elsewhere in tho zoo.

After that, we did the safari, (fortunatley theres a bus which takes you around if you dont have a car) i wont spoil it but seeing all these wonderful animals roaming around so close to us we could touch them (literally in the case of the giraffes) was an amazing experience.

After this we headed down to the monkey area where we could feed the monkeys and had a better chance to talk to the volunteers and learn about all the amazing things they are doing for the animals welfare. Honestly, if it wasnt for the volunteers, i can see how this zoo might be a completley different experience, so as others have said, be sure to speak to the volunteers.

After feeding all the monkeys the volunteers asked if we wanted to help make some bamboo feeders (a sort if food puzzle toy) which we then gave to 'Jam' the monkey and got to watch as he played with it. (This was the highlight of our trip and really made us want to come back and volunteer here).

Taking all that into account, i believe the zoo is a worthwile visit, and while it still has some way to go, so long as you ignore the more unpleasant aspects if the zoo, and dig a little deeper, you will find a place that is really a nice place for animals, is full of energy and is definetley changing for the better. Visit and support this one of a kind place in Thailand.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Support the volunteers who are working hard to turn this zoo around for the animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went to this zoo for a couple of weeks to volunteer with the Safari Park Volunteer Program (/www.safarivolunteer.com/) and I can honestly say they were some of the most heartwarming, inspiring and satisfying weeks I have spent.
As a day visitor, you can enjoy the spacious and natural safari experience full of tigers, leopards, lions, giraffes and zebras but may be appalled by the animal 'shows' and Blue, the tiger at the front desk. However, when you stay longer there you realise that the owners and staff are fighting for their own survival as hard as the animals are. You begin to see why they are frightened to change out of their deeply old-fashioned animal husbandry techniques and zoo style.
However, the volunteers are turning this around! They are working (unpaid) to enrich the lives of the forgotten animals and show the owners what modern zoos should be. As an example, the monkeys used to suffer depression as they were never cleaned out or given toys. Since the volunteers arrived they all have wonderful personalities and enjoy their ever-changing environments. The big cats were previously only trained with a stick and harsh words, but now the benefits of positive reinforcement and clicker training are being seen by all.
If you love animals go to this zoo- don't leave it and all its amazing animals to fall into dereliction and despair. If you have time, be a 'Zoo Keeper for the Day' with the volunteers (you can help to play with the cubs and other animals and make their day!) or even volunteer for a longer period. If you really want to help, ask to speak to the owner/ manager and tell them your views and give constructive advice on how to improve the zoo for the animals and visitors.
When you go there you will realise the power that each visitor has to make a difference to these magnificent animals' lives.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Park Open Zoo also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Safari Park Open Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Open Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.