We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9/99 Moo 3 | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 stars 134 Reviews
Boston, Ma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a grand resort sitting on the Kwai River. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, with a large infinity pool that overlooks the river. When we checked in the hotel was not near full so we were upgraded to a room that overlooked the river which was a nice treat. The hotel is located across the river about a 10 minute ride from the main part of Kanchanaburi. The hotel provides a van for $350 baht, one person or a van full to town. We found easy access to the truck or motor bike taxis for return trips.
As with any resort the prices for food and drink at high, but to be expected. Staff was very accommodating and spoke English well. There is another hotel next to the property that has very loud karaoke in the evening. However they stop at 10:00pm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    40
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
50
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Staying in a hotel by the river is a new experience for us. We came here for a quick new year getaway with a last minute booking, and was pleasantly surprised with how nice the Dheva Mantra is. The decor is colonial-esqe, clean and spacious. The Superior room we stayed in is large (60+ sqm), with balcony overlooking the garden and on to the pool, with side view of the river Kwai. The room is new, clean, and the bathroom in particular is very nicely done. My 3-year-old took a bath 3 times a day, even in the rather cold weather, because she liked it so much.

The location of the hotel is perfect, in my opinion. You could get to it via the bypass road and avoid going through Kanchanaburi city center. It is very close to the many restaurants along the river. And of course, super close to the famous bridge. A friend warned us of the loud noise you can hear from the 'party boat' going up and down the river, but it didn't bother me that much.

Since we stayed over the new year night, there was mandatory "gala dinner" imposed costing $210 per head. (which basically more than double the room rate for that night) This is the only complain I have. I suspect many of the guests didn't come for a 'party', otherwise they would have stayed home close to their friends and family. The gala dinner is a rip-off started by someone in the Thai hotel industry and is now present everywhere, so this is not a specific complaint about Dheva Mantra. Although it is quite apparent they have not a lot of experience throwing a party like this. The food was quite good, but the entertainment was mediocre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family including 3 children aged 12, 9 and 5 recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Dheva Mantra Resort.
The hotel website does indeed do this lovely hotel justice with accurate photos of the delightful colonial styled architecture, beautifully manicured gardens and stunning lagoon style pool. Often times these photos are a teaser and you are then disappointed with the more run-down and dated reality. Not so the case with Dheva Mantra - despite it's colonial design - the hotel itself is relatively new and as such the website speaks the truth and you will be delighted walking through the grounds and rooms of this lovely resort.
Check in and check out at this resort was efficient and staff were welcoming and helpful. Being a family - we were accommodated in two adjoining rooms - a family room containing a king single and king sized beds (sleeping 3) and a second room containing two king singles. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and afforded lovely views of the lawn area and nearby pool. Both rooms had large bathrooms including bathtubs. Both rooms had sliding french doors opening onto balconies. A big plus for the rooms was that they had REALLY EFFECTIVE curtains in that they offered a full blackout effect and overlapped properly avoiding the perennial problem of gaping curtains allowing the annoying dawn light to invade the room and wake you at first light. Seriously - these were the best window coverings I've come across in all my travels (and gaping curtains bug me to the point where I literally travel will binder clips in my luggage to clip together annoying curtain gaps - NOT required here). One criticism was that the beds were very firm. This bothered my husband more than me and it didn't seem to worry the children at all.
Location wise - Dheva Mantra is a little out of Kanchanaburi - but it's only a 10 minute taxi ride which we didn't have a problem with. Twice we actually hired a long boat near the River Kwai Bridge and for THB 300 enjoyed a 5 minute cruise up to our hotel. The kids thought this was a blast !
We enjoyed several of the hotel's facilities including The Rice Barge Restaurant, The Tiara Restaurant and the swim up Poolside Bar.
Dinner at the Rice Barge was nice but, in my opinion - The Tiara Restaurant is much better. The Rice Barge is a Thai restaurant on a barge (as you would expect) tethered on the Kwai River which flows alongside the resort. I was very worried about mosquitoes and the diseases they carry so ensured that my family was thoroughly smothered with insect repellent (which we came to dub "KCB Cologne") - good move - as there were mozzies aplently on the rice barge. The food was nice - the service was lovely - but it was nothing special. On the contrary - we really enjoyed the food and service in the onsite restaurant - The Tiara. There were a variety of meals on the menu and the food was beautifully presented, service was excellent and we enjoyed it so much that we dined in for two of the four nights. Staff were particularly lovely, attentive and efficient.
My kids adored swimming in the beautiful pool at Dheva Mantra. It is split into two sections with a shallow area and a deeper area which also included a swim up bar.
As the name suggests, Dheva Mantra also includes a spa and our biggest disappointment was that we didn't get to enjoy some of the lovely treatments available. Our focus was a family vacation - but I would love to go back as a couple and enjoy some of these treatments.
We also used the hotel driver for a couple of excursions. The drivers were polite, professional and helpful. The hotel was also able to customise trips to suit our needs. One day we had a driver take us to Hell Fire Pass - wait there while we explored the museum, then drive us down to Nam Tok where he waited for the afternoon train to come in and take us back to Kanchanaburi - it was so nice that he waited - had there been some misadventure with the train - we were not stuck in the middle of nowhere with kids and no transport back.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the hotel each day and this was a lovely spread accommodating both eastern and western breakfast fare.
The resort manager introduced herself to our family at breakfast one morning. She saw us again in the restaurant one evening and came over to enquire as to how we were enjoying our stay. This made us feel very welcomed and appreciated.
We certainly enjoyed our time at Dheva Mantra and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Dheva Mantra now three times in the last year. We have definitely noted a decline in service. It's as if the management has become cheaper and has put the fear of god in their staff to save every penny they can. As a result, the staff has lost some autonomy and common sense and often act lost or confused if patrons ask for things that are outside of the given script or menu or order... For example, we ordered some lovely green tea in the lobby bar area. The next morning we asked for the same tea from THE SAME waitress that served it to us the night before. This time though she was utterly confused, claimed the hotel didn't even have any green tea! After our befuddled reaction, I literally walked her over to the lobby area and pointed out the tea to her. The light bulb went off but then she got even more stressed out as she tried to explain to me that it would cost me extra to get the green tea vice the peppermint tea which was "included" in the breakfast buffet. After having just spent nearly 25 minutes running down the tea saga, I just gave in and paid for the extra 200thb ($6) green tea. Another example was the water in the gym. The gym had run out of the cone shaped paper cups they dispense for the water fountain and couldn't figure out to replace them. So I asked for some drinking water and they brought me some Chang water (the same kind they provide in the rooms for free). As I was leaving the gym, one panting staff member ran after me to give me the $1 bill for the water! The same kind of nickel and diming and confusion ensued at dinner and drinks again. The best part was when our party of 5's dinner order all came out at different times, spanning over 30 minutes. We were the ONLY patrons at the restaurant, mind you. And the lady who is the general manager/possibly owner, came out only AFTER the 30 minutes and the only question she asked was (wait for it) "has everyone received their food?"... It was comical. So the next time we go to Kanchanaburi, we will try another place and I will definitely stop recommending this hotel to others as well.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location, nice amenities, and good service. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The balcony was useable and furnished. We had no service issues at all. In fact, a couple of the staff were outstanding, showing initiative and going the extra mile to make sure that we were getting what we wanted.

The facility is located on a great piece of property on the river front and is well designed to take advantage of the site. The pool area is very large and comfortable. The spa was good and reasonably priced. We encountered no wifi problems anywhere on the site, but it is so large you have to change routers sometimes. There is a very well equipped fitness centre.

The breakfast was very good, and our dinner service (on the Rice Barge) was absolutely fine.
I would love to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Whoever built this hotel had a dream - to create a timeless colonial hotel of the highest standard.
In my view, it works beautifully and is a wonderful antidote to the grim faced tourists who frequent the obvious tourist hot spots.
The location is adjacent to the River Kwai, in a quiet area . There are rolling grounds, a generous and beautiful pool and smiling staff.
We found it uplifting and amazing value. Our memories of Asia, built up over 40 years is of the type of luxury and service that is unattainable elsewhere, at comparative bargain rates. this is changing and many Thai hotels are now expensive. Not so Dheva Mantra. We had an amazing suite for less that 10,000 B.

Room Tip: Go for a Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spend 2 nights with my familly in this Resort. The location is amazing and i do like the style of the construction. But when it comes to services and confort i have to say it Was really bad. We ask for an extra bed ( 1500 bahts more per night !!) and we received a camp bed. A piece of Wood with a tiny matela. We ask for too matelas but i couldnt sleep all night. The day after we ask for a solution but they didnt do anything. When i explained another time they were looking at me but didnt understand. They add then a third small matelas but come on this is not normal for a 5 stars Resort! I slept very bad one more time. The FO manager offer the second extra bed for free as solution. At least he did something. Then when we left they were chasing us cause we took a loundry bag and they charge the Credit card !! With all the money we left they did charge us ! For 1 dinner we spend 10000 and the plates were not serve at the same time and some dishes were wrong. Really disapointed.

So for familly i will say dont go but as couple i think it is a good place. The pool is beautiful and the room very big.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa

Address: 9/99 Moo 3 | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dheva Mantra Hotel Kanchanaburi
Dheva Mantra Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.