We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabai @ Kan Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sabai @ Kan Resort to your Saves list
Sabai @ Kan Resort
317/4 Mae Nam Kwai Road | Thamakham Muang, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This small friendly hotel is a short walk from the Bridge over the River Kwai. The rooms are very clean and light with view over the small pool. The rooms are fairly basic but have everything you need if you are out sight seeing all day and just want a nice clean room to sleep in. We ate in the restaurant 2 nights and the food was home cooked and tasty. The breakfasts were the best we had in the 2 week trip!! The staff were always friendly and helpful. We arranged a day trip through them which was great and they arranged a taxi back to Bangkok for us at a very good rate. All in all it was excellent value for money

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    108
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
134
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The was a very small place - not a resort - maybe 20 rooms, the pool was the size of an in ground in the states and the description of grounds definitely over rated. However, it was clean, the rooms adequate, bathroom not too great but clean. The view was the tiny pool and an empty dirty lot. What made up for it was the staff was nice,very helpful. The breakfast buffet was very small but the food tasty. If your looking for a place to sleep it's fine.

Room Tip: pool view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent a night here before and after our 3-day trek and found it to be clean and comfortable. It can be hard to find rooms that accommodate a family of four, so we were thankful to have found this place at such a great price. The staff was really helpful and nice; the pool (while of small size) was just right for a quick dip with the kids. Breakfast, included free with our room, was a good value. Overall, a smart choice to stay here and we would definitely book again. Only minor complaint was a pretty foul smell in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A very good conveniently placed, friendly, clean, small & well run hotel. We landed @ Bangkok 6am local & to maximise our time we took a direct taxi pre-booked on line for 2500 baht to take x3 of us directly to kanchanaburi. At that time of the morning it misses Bangkok rush hour, so it's 2 & a half hours drive. So we arrive approx. 9.15 am expecting to have to leave our bags & go out for the day, but the staff said our room was nearly ready & we could use it. That is the difference. You would not get that in a large hotel or in many other counties. Also, food is very good, it's peaceful & cheap. Look no further.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbados
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Everything that every previous reviewer said to convince me to try this place on my way back through Kanchanaburi was true and I thank you all. The staff are superb. They seem to know what you need before you do. The room was quiet, very clean and comfortable with things like serviettes, decent tv, other amenities that are difficult to find in this price class in Thailand. Food was very good as well and remarked on by our friends who live in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Free parking, clean rooms, very kind and well English speaking personal. Standard rooms are a bit "standard", but overall 5/5. Massages available ;-) would recommend this place. Try "Saan peek Mai" Restaurant about 500m west! Great Thai food.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Sabai@Kan.
The staff was really friendly, they helped us plan our trips, the breakfast was very good, with a nice buffet.
The room was very big, with a huge bed, a nice and clean bathroom (western style, so it's not wet everywhere!), and a view on the garden and the pool.
I recommend it, as for a few more dollars it's much better than what's around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabai @ Kan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabai @ Kan Resort

Address: 317/4 Mae Nam Kwai Road | Thamakham Muang, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sabai @ Kan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabai @ Kan Hotel Kanchanaburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabai @ Kan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.