We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple's Retreat by Apple & Noi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple's Retreat by Apple & Noi
Save
You added Apple's Retreat by Apple & Noi to your Saves list
153/4 Moo 4, Sutjai Bridge | Thamakham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
4.5 of 5 stars 266 Reviews
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Should have stayed longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Kanchanaburi and the surrounding area actually have a lot to offer. I should have stayed one or two days longer.

This guesthouse is located on the other side of the river, so you are facing a little walk when you want to go to the main tourist area. The room was basic but adequate and featured a modern, silent aircon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    78
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
136
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This guest house was a lovely retreat to stay in. On the other side of the bridge to town, it was quiet but well located. Our room was sparse but adequate and comfortable and very clean. The staff were lovely, very friendly and extremely helpful. The food was delicious and the owner took time to explain each meal and how it was prepared - she took great pride in her cuisine and also ran Thai cookery classes. The guest house is separated from the river by a boggy area where we could sit in the restaurant watching an abundance of wildlife including kingfishers, bitterns, all manner of birds and monitor lizards.

Room Tip: The rooms are idea for those carrying little luggage - nowhere to hang clothes - ideal for back pack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a great stay at Apples and Nois place. The rooms are very nice and cosy and the food in the restaurant in the guesthouse is great and tastes wonderful! Free WiFi is offered.

We were warm welcomed and felt nearly like home immediately. We just can recommend this place to everybody who wants to pay Kanchanaburi a visit.

Room Tip: There are not too many rooms. But all of them are in a good stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here one night and also took the cooking class. I highly recommend the guesthouse, restaurant, and cooking class. The room is very zen like, with a portion of the room raised up like a loft and the bathroom / shower has an indoor garden area. We found it very peaceful and also enjoyed the communal outdoor area outside the rooms. Noi and her staff are very friendly and helpful and we felt very welcomed.

We enjoyed staying away from the main part of town and rented bikes for 50 baht/ day so it was easy to come and go.

Room Tip: Know that apples retreat house can not be booked on agoda, hotels.com, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We highly recommend Apple's Retreat as a guesthouse, restaurant and cooking school. The rooms are very clean and the beds comfy. This is a real guesthouse, as you would assume for the price of 690 (high season) so there are no amenities, but the a/c is excellent, lots so hot water, and good towels. Could certainly use a table or rack for luggage, but there are strong hooks on the wall which is unusual. You need to ask if you want your room cleaned.
The food here is really special. We worked our way through all their "special dishes" and were delighted with every meal. We took the cooking class and it is great. Noi is very particular and really wanted us to do everything in the traditional way. The restaurant cook assisted and it was fascinating to see her taste each dish as it neared completion and then correct the seasonings -- what a palate!
We didn't mind the walk over the bridge to town and had no trouble getting a tuk tuk back. Note that Apple's Guesthouse in the town is not theirs, Apple and Noi moved to the Retreat 5 years ago.
Highly recommend all aspects of this establishment (except the high price for coffee and tea!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice setting, and ok price. A few little extras would make a huge difference such as a chair in room, and bottles of water( which was supplied in every other room we had). On our first night of two, it was apples birthday, so the restaurant was closed for food that night and next morning. There was no warning so we had no where to eat. Is not near any other food outlets, there are no taxis or tuk tuks around and it is too dangerous to walk across bridge by myself to get dinner. So was not happy, neither were the other people staying. The food in the restaurant is delicious and people there helpful on the second day, didn't really see anyone first day due to closure of restaurant. Ok if have own transport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a hidden little jewel in Kanchanaburi, Thailand. The food and drink are terrific, as is the vibe of the proprietors and workers. Off the beaten track, but well worth your time to seek out. Thanks to the beauteous Nikki Zimbler for the recommendation, and thanks to the restaurant for sending me to spicy Thai food heaven! =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple's Retreat by Apple & Noi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple's Retreat by Apple & Noi

Address: 153/4 Moo 4, Sutjai Bridge | Thamakham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Apple`s Retreat And Guesthouse
Apple`s Retreat & Guesthouse Hotel Kanchanaburi
Apples Retreat Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple's Retreat by Apple & Noi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.