We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bamboo House to your Saves list
Bamboo House
5 Vietnam Road | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
3.5 of 5 stars 45 Reviews
Wolverhampton. England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great budget accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Tranquil, beautiful location, walking distance to the bars and restaurants. Choice of brick bungalows or floating bungalows on the river Kwai. Very basic inside with just a mattress on the floor, but waking up in the morning the views compensate for everything it lacks. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this if you like nature and beautiful settings.

Room Tip: The floating bungalow is perfect for budget backpackers. Ask for a towel on reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had the cheapest room (wood cabana) on the river and it was soooo nice ! We wanted to book for more nights, but it was busy .

-Amazing view (by day and by night).
-The staff was very good : reception + cookers (but dont speak english)
-Great food and not expensive at all for a restaurant (breakfast incuded)
-Wifi
-Clean, no problems

I RECOMMEND THIS GUESTHOUSE SPECIALLY THE FLOATING ROOMS FOR PEOPLE WHO LIKE NATURE and also there are normal rooms with fan

Room Tip: Floating rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this place in October 2013. The rooms were basic, but clean and a great location on the river, HOWEVER......

The rooms are not very secure, being that they are on a busy river, and there are holes in the screen windows and just a padlock on a very old rickety door. So we decided to leave our valuables (laptop, passports and money wallet) in the hotel safe.

We left the valuables on Sunday afternoon when we arrived and we organised a cheap bus for Tuesday at 1.30pm to take us to Bangkok. We asked for our valuables at about 12.45pm when we arrived back from lunch and they said they would bring them to us in the restaurant. We were checking emails on the internet, and then realised it was 1.20pm and we still hadn't got our valuables back. My friend went to check and they brought us the laptop case. We check that we had passports and money wallet (containing $1500 Canadian in $20). All looked to be accounted for.

I then decided to count the money and we were $400 short! I went straight up to reception to report this and ask the receptionist (who had checked us in 2 days before and spoke PERFECT english). She then claimed she didn't speak english, and called the boss, who I spoke to and said she would come over.

I went back to the restaurant and mysteriously the internet had stopped working, thus preventing me from getting the tourist police number or the number for my travel insurance. Suddenly our transport arrives, and I asked the driver if he spoke english, he was about to answer me and the receptionist says something to him in Thai and he says NO ENGLISH! but that we had to leave on the bus NOW or we would have to wait till tomorrow and lose our money.

I ended up contacting my travel insurance, and they said I was not covered for loss of money, but I emailed the hotel and they said the standard they were looking into it etc.

Great location but not worth $400!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

An idyllic location - could not have asked for a more peaceful place to stay (apart from the karaoke boats at the weekends!). We stayed in a floating house on the river - access was via a rickety little bridge! Breakfast was included and for the price we paid it was excellent value for money. Kanchanaburi town was great too - there were some very cheap places to eat. Also lots of trips available to WWII sites such as the Hellfire Pass.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Couldn't be closer to the water. I loved the location and friendly staff. My husband dropped his glasses overboard (2M deep at that point) and one fellow went after then even though it turned out he couldn't swim - now that is service! Bathroom facilities are basic to say the least but it is clean and cheap. Breakfast fruit was fab. Locality a little quiet in the evenings (except for the party barges floating past between 6 and 8 p.m. - If karoke isn't your thing I suggest this is the time to go out for dinner). Finally dawn chorus was beautiful, loads of wild birds, water clean and full of fish. Surprisingly not any bugs - I usually get eaten alive if there are! A natural beauty if you are happy to go with just the basics,

Room Tip: Go for the raft rooms - it is quite an experience and amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at in one of the floating rafts, it was as cozy as can be! Great location by the river, very quiet and great service! And surprisingly enough they cook the most basic but wonderful food. Could not be more satisfied.

Room Tip: The floating rafts have pretty hard mattresses but the feeling of it is far greater than good sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is farther up the main road and set on the river. It is nice to be away from the bars and tourist scene and even better to be near the water. The value is great and the staff were friendly and helpful, they will even arrange a tuk tuk to take you to the bus station. The room was okay. No bugs, but the bathroom was small and more grungy than other places I have stayed. But for the price and location I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House

Address: 5 Vietnam Road | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bamboo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Hotel Kanchanaburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.