We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hua Hin Fishing Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hua Hin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hua Hin Fishing Lodge
Save
You added Hua Hin Fishing Lodge to your Saves list
115 Moo 10, Soi Wat Ni Kho Taram | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a day at the Hua Hin Fishing Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Conveniently located, the Lodge is an attractive place to spend a sunny day relaxing and fishing but is by no means exclusive to the experience angler as we rarely fish but still managed to land six decent sized fish (having lost several more. The guides are very helpful and friendly and are also good fun.

The Lodge has a wide selection of food and drink available -ice cold beer and the best cup of tea I have found in Asia so far. All very reasonably priced (as is the fishing).

Unfortunately we left our visit until the last day of our trip although if we had time we would have come back. Will visit again for certain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your comments SJJL - very much appreciate your time taken for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed the visit - and the tea! Hope you get back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I generally fish everywhere I go and the thought of fishing in a man made pond had me feeling a little dubious at first. All that changed when I got there and started fishing. It's quite a nice relaxing atmosphere with plenty of beer, drinks and food. The people are very nice and the guides are very friendly and helpful. I caught some great fish here and was so happy by the experience that I went back for a second time before heading home. It was great to catch species that you don't normally get the chance to target and there is some quite large fish there to be caught. I found it quite enjoyable and could imagine that kids would have an absolute ball if you were to go as a family.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Verivas - Thank you for your very encouraging review and the time taken to write. You have expressed exactly what we are aiming to provide - it's good to know that we achieved it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a day package for 1 (female) and 1 non-fishing male, including all equipment, transport from hotels, fishing guide, meals and drinks. Worth getting package, as taxis so dear in Hua Hin. Fishing slow but regular, and good number of fish of reasonably sized fish throughout the day. Guides great, and with their guidance partner outfished the solo fishermen around her. No monsters, but still good fish and worth the anticipation.
Bungsamran Bangkok for the monster fish on our visit.

Room Tip: Get a day ticket if only one fishing, otherwise haggle a taxi price the day before in Hua Hin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Your comment - "Get a day ticket if only one fishing, otherwise haggle a taxi price the day before in Hua Hin" - is accepted.
However - if you calculate what is included in our all inclusive day package, you will see that it is extremely good value for money - two fully baited rods on any pond, services of a baitman, transport both ways, freeflow soft drinks, water, tea and coffee and a choice of lunch from the menu + fruit platter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Mom and daughter fishing team! We were the only girls out fishing on this particular day and my 15 year old daughter was on a hot streak! She waited 5 hour before hooking her first fish then it went crazy and she hauled in 6 fish; last one was a "river monster" Mekong catfish. She was exhausted from fighting it so I took over. Yeah! great fun catch and release fishing. Cheapest rates for fishing I could find. Staff put your bait on for you and take the hook out as well. We stayed overnight 2 evenings as well and it was very clean and comfortable. Would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
"Girls just want to have fun" - and why not? Very pleased you enjoyed yourselves and the accommodation.Thanks for taking the time to provide this positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hi I normally do the reviews but as the husband is the angler of the family here are his comments

Fished here on 2 occasions on the day package.

The fishery has 2 lakes, English equivalent to small commercial type lakes with space available for about 12 anglers on each.

1st visit fished on my own this was the best day fish wise with an Alligator Gar 33lb and a Red Tail Catfish 40lb the highlights with other fish including: Pacu, North American Catfish, Mekong Catfish & Siamese Carp caught.

2nd visit fished with the wife 5 fish caught Pacu and Mekong Catfish still enjoyable with plenty of bites missed and fish lost, the most entertaining part was a little German girl who was fishing a live bait she hooked and lost a large Arapaima that nearly pulled here in and only for the intervention of the staff she would have gone in with the fish you need to watch out you don't know what you may catch next and the bites are rod pullers.

We fished with in line method feeder and bread and live bait for the Pacu and Arapaima.

The 2nd visit was busy and a spot your float competition on the top lake with 8 rods out and lines and hooked fish crossing each other on a number of occasions.

The fish where in okay condition some mainly Pacu where not placed on mats when caught but all safely returned some did have red mouths traces from previous captures.

In summary; A good day out fishing in Thailand with a chance of catching exotic, big fish. The staff where friendly and happy to help as much or a little as required but they do net all fish for you which is understandable. Food was good and plenty of drinks available all day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us - it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your two visits and we will certainly look into your comments regarding the Pacu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just a few lines to say how much i enjoyed my two days fishing at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge.

Whilst in Hua hin I visited three other Thai fishing parks. Two of them internationally known and one newly opened and regardless of the fish i caught at these other venues I had the most fun at H H F L. Also at a fraction of the cost.

The welcome was warm, the guides went out of their way to help and find you fish, and,were genuinely delighted when you did.
They also recognise an experienced angler quickly and know when to back off letting you get the most pleasure from your capture.

I recommend you take the day package with hotel pick up and return, soft drinks, food and all bait , you will be surprised how much bait you get through in a day ...i went through 4 loaves of bread!!.

The variety of fish is fantastic. I had Siamese carp, alligator gar,arapaima,rohu,striped catfish, mad barb,Tilapia,pacu etc etc. even had about 4 hours of just taking striped catfish on freelined floating crust straight off the surface...absolutely explosive action!
If you have a wife or loved one with you this IS the ideal place .
There is a lot of shade, and shaded areas.The lawns are well manicured and the place clean tidy and pleasant. Plenty of chairs and fans and lots of cold drinks on tap too ..my wife loved it.

The fish are in very good condition and appear well looked after too ...in fact showing less fin and mouth damage than at the other premium priced fishing parks.Unhooking mats are used and barbless hooks are mandatory.

The fish don't skimp in size either. whilst waggler fishing in the heat of the afternoon on light tackle; ie 6lb line and size 14 hook for barbs and tilapia, I hooked a huge GMC..giant mekong catfish...after me and the boys played it for 45 mins it broke me off but was quite memorable!!

The great thing about this place is it is does not take it's self too seriously, you can go there as an experienced angler and catch large fish if you so wish, or go as a beginner and have a great day out.

I fully recommend you go here first before parting with your money on the big names, a competent angler should be able to catch at least 5 species and include at least one memorable fish.

Oh... and the foods fantastic!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive and positive review. It is always good, when customers appreciate the efforts of our staff & crew - it makes all the effort worth while. It's also nice to hear of your thoughts on the variety and condition of our fish. Thanks again and glad to know that you had a good and not so expensive Hua Hin fishing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I went along to the lodge in an all inclusive days fishing which included hotel pick up, lunch, ice cold drinks and the help of two young men. My hubby is the fisherman and i thought id give it a try. im glad i did because i caught 6 fish in total, he got seven, but the highlight had to be my catch of a 35kg Arapiama. I really want to go back and get the aligator gar . Fantastic time and the boys were really helpful to me , baiting and netting the fish. they were really careful with the fish and they were released unharmed everytime. i highly recommend this to people who love to fish, or first timers like myself, give it a go ladies ! if only to make your fishermen hubbys jealous, :) my hubby used to go fishing to get some peace, im afraid i,ll be going too now, excuse the pun but i'm hooked. Thanks Terry and crew, it was the highlight of my trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pla-Alai, Owner at Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for your kind review Caz. I'm pleased that you got 'hooked' at the Lodge - now you can share the UK experience of fishing with your partner in the cold horizontal rain - which of course is not a problem that we have here in Hua Hin! Seriously it's always good when customers have enjoyed themselves and then taken the trouble to share their experience - it makes our job more pleasing. Good luck with your new hobby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hua Hin Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Hin Fishing Lodge

Address: 115 Moo 10, Soi Wat Ni Kho Taram | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshwater fishing ponds with 44 varieties of fish, 15 minutes west of the resort town of Hua Hin Thailand. Restaurant with Thai & Western dishes. Accommodation available in three bungalows. Childrens' playground. Professional grade Pool Table, shower rooms. Have a fun fishing day with the family and relax in the beautiful countryside of Hua Hin. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hua Hin Fishing Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.