We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel - just 5 rooms too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dune Hua Hin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dune Hua Hin to your Saves list
Dune Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5/5 Naebkhehars, Hua Hin 771100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 131 Hotels in Hua Hin
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel - just 5 rooms too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a great time in this lovely, modern boutique hotel. Great personal service from the whole team.

Best value was the 1 for 1 happy hour. .. which included champagne!

Rooms are large and with excellent quality fittings and furnishings. Honestly the best boutique hotel I've stayed in Asia.

Beach is not the best, whuch was strange as it's immediately beside the King's residence. Walking distance to many nice bars and eateries

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
antwerpen
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
435 helpful votes 435 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A boutique hotel with only 5 big rooms, with a large terrace and sea view, a big bathroom with a rain shower, only problems with the water. A large bed - no twin beds - television, safe box, mini bar, airco, a bit noisy, radio. Big towels. Lounge on the rooftop and restaurant, which is accessible by steps. No elevator. Restaurant is quiet expensive, but a walk of 1 km or by tuk tuk brings you to the centre.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi are fantastic, is next door. Small garden, very quiet.
Breakfast is basic. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The dune is a lovely hotel - we stayed in room 3 which was spacious, modern, sleek and felt quite luxurious; the bathroom in particular was really nice with a powerful lovely hot massage shower. The bed is big and comfy. Rooms are very clean. Great balcony with sofa. they were doing work on the downstairs whilst we were there but this didnt bother us as we were out and about in the day. The breakfasts are very nice, if slightly cold, though they do bring them to your room which explains that to some extent and they included some extras which were a nice touch (warm muffins, toast, fruit). The roof terrace is a hidden gem and the cocktails are very nice- more expensive than you'll pay elsewhere in hua hin but tasted nicer. We ate at the restaurant twice and thought the food was lovely-again it is more expensive than elsewhere in hua hin. To set this review in context, we travelled as a couple and we've stayed in all sorts of places in Thailand from luxury to budget and we thought this place was great. It's a bit out of the main tourist area but if you walk 20 mins staying on the same road the whole time you will get to night markets, nice beach (do not go to the beach by the hotel, it isn't nice but there are much nicer beaches in hua hin) shopping and restaurants. We would recommend it. There is a small pool on the fourth floor but you can use a big neighbouring pool also-we didn't utilise this however.

Room Tip: The balconies and bathrooms seem to vary-our room was shower only but great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Beautiful small hotel with lovely bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast very good and use of owners pool, next door is fabulous, we have had it to ourselves which has been great. We have not dined in the restaurant as prices are quite steep and also this is not a place for the elderly or infirm as there are no lifts and breakfast is on the top floor. All in all we have enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was quiet with a pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our bedroom at the Dune Hotel was spacious and modern with an open plan bathroom and lots of mood lighting, glass and wood. The location is mostly residential and a bit far from the centre which means getting a taxi or bus into town or alternatively walking in the heat which is not very pleasant. However the beach is on your door step and you can walk into town this way if the tide is out.

They have a roof top pool which covers the full area of the space so not much room for sitting around sun bathing but you can also use the owner’s pool in their property next door which was lovely and private.

My one big problem with the Dune Hotel was the breakfast. Breakfast has to be selected the night before plus the time you require it, between 8.30 and 10.30. On the first morning our bacon and fried egg breakfast was waiting for us on the table, stone cold. We requested they reheat it which they willing did but this made it hard and unpleasant. Each morning we went through this fiasco and each morning we would explain to the very willing and smiling staff that we required it hot. They kept trying with varying degrees of success but it was only near the end of our stay when I had abandoned a cooked breakfast altogether and my husband ordered poached egg instead of fried, that they finally got it right.

If the staff had more training it would make all the difference.

Room Tip: Try the cafe accross the road for good coffee and homemade cakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The suite was somewhat smaller than expected - hardly any space for the suitcases or to sit down.

Bathroom
Very nice and big. The double showerhead was fantastic. The tub is very big - so big that it will take an hour or so to fill it - and there is not enough hot water for that.

Pool
The pool is very refreshing after a hot day. Not very big, but enough to get cooled down. The sunbeds were plastic..

Restaurant
The breakfast is served at the 4. Floor restaurant. OK, but not spectacular. you have to select your breakfast the day befote. A few times we didn't get what we ordered but they were quick to change it.
Their chocolate lava is fantastic but costs the same as lunch and soft drinks for two in the city..

Location
The hotel is located 20 mins walk or 1.5 km from the city. It is easy to walk but can get very hot during daytime. Instead you can tasks a small white/red lorry marked 'suround city' that passes the hotel on as loop around town. The fare is just 10 bath no matter the destination. It passes night market, village city, railway station etc. If you take a stroll you will pass a lot of local restaurants - much cheaper than in the city.

Beach
The hotel is located 50m from the beach. It is however not a very nice beach and often impossible to use due to the tide.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dune Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Hua Hin

Address: 5/5 Naebkhehars, Hua Hin 771100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Hua Hin 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small exclusive beach boutique hotel features five modern stylish rooms with an utmost personalized service. You will be indulged with privacy and tranquility in the comfort of your fully-equipped room, while a lovely beach is only a stone throw away. The interior decoration is very minimalist in style but with a fine touch of details, a perfect combination of a modern concept of luxurious comfort lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dune Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Dune Hotel Hua Hin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dune Hua Hin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.