We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little resort, but could do much better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11/66 Moobaan Borfaai, Liabwang Road, Hua Hin 77110 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 131 Hotels in Hua Hin
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A lovely little resort, but could do much better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for a week (we did spend the weekend in Bangkok) in October. The Imperial is an attractive resort, with a lovely pool, but we did expect a better service.

We chose to upgrade our rooms on arrival, as the standard rooms are a little boxy. The next level of room up, however, with a balcony overlooking the pool was the standard I would expect of a hotel at this level. As an Air conditioning engineer, however, I was a little disappointed with the AC in the room. Too noisy for my friend to sleep well and definitely in need of a service as it smelt of damp.

The hotel is not in the main resort of Hua Hin, although this is really not a problem at all! There is a regular courtesy bus service, or the hotel will drop you in to Hua Hin in one of their vehicles for 120 bhat (under £3).

I have to say the pool, was surprisingly quiet during the day, an unexpected bonus. Its a very nice place to lie back and enjoy the Thai sunshine.

Unfortunately our service experience let us down during our stay, particularly the food service. Breakfast was pleasant enough, however, it was very difficult to enjoy lunch by the pool. We would place an order, the waiter would tell us that everything was fine, only for him to come back 5 mins later and tell us that they did not have various ingredients. This happened on three occasions during our stay. I did try to raise the issue with the food and beverage manager, but he was apparently 'in a meeting' and made no effort to meet with me.

The standard of English is a little poor here too, and the majority of staff simply cannot understand your requests. This was even the case in the spa, where it would be beneficial to understand the treatments offered.

The hotel manager was an exception. Her English was very good and she was very helpful when I hurt my back.

We had a good stay, but it was just a little frustrating. With a little more staff training, this could be a really good hotel, rather than a standard/average one! Surprising, given the hotel's owner. Apparently the hotel owner owns Chang Beer, I learnt this when we were 'invaded' by a group of very excitable promo girls attending a training session at the hotel!

Not sure I would stay again.

Room Tip: Do't go for a standard room, you will be dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperialhuahin, General Manager at Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I really appreciate the time for writing a review on the Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort. Hua Hin is the destination for Thai people majority and they come for weekend holidays; therefore, during the day especially during weekday, there are few guests at the Hotel and also using the swimming pool except foreigners who enjoy the sun at the pool during the day. I have to apologize for some incident that you had unpleasant experience during your stay as mentionted. It was nice meeting with you at the lobby and knew from you about the massage at the Spa which we compensated with free transportation and my F&B Manager did not charge you for some meal that you ordered but it was not available.

However, we are trying to improve our service in every area in order to meet with guests' expectation.

Yours sincerely,
Pinthida Bhatayanond (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
44
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The room is OK and spacious enough for us, considering the reasonable price, though the furniture is a little bit aged.

The pool is great, and during our stay, we went there 3 times, I would say even at the peak hour there were less than 10 people in the pool and alongside the pool, so we really enjoyed it.

The breakfast did not offer a great choice, but again, it is abundant.

The hotel is really 'far' from the city center, beyond walking distance, and the frequency of the shuttle bus are definitely not enough. But we would like to thank the hotel staff, they were so nice to give us an extra ride to the mini-van stop when we left.

They do have the beach, but only at low tide, and it is not the usual white, soft, delicate sand people used to think. But on the other side, it is natural and very quiet. You can really discover a lot of sea creatures on the beach in the morning. If you can get up earlier, treat yourself with a beautiful sunrise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperialhuahin, General Manager at Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
On behalf of the hotel management, I really appreciate your review on the Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort. Your reveiws are fair comments to the Hotel which I agree. This Hotel is almost 19 years old and our Imperial Hotels Group bought it 4 years ago. Although the hotel is quite aging but we have to keep the clealiness and services up to standart of 4 star hotel. We are improving our facilities continuously. October is still in low season month; therefore, during weekdays there are not many guests which is very nice for guests who like to enjoy peacefullness. The location of the Hotel is not in the center of Hua Hin Town but it takes only 10-minute drive to walking street (Night Market) and there are 4 times of van schedules to the town.
Again, thank you for expressing your comment on the hotel in general.
Yours sincerely,
Pinthida Bhatayanond (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sihanoukville, cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This accommodation was a sad mistmatch by our travel agency Travelpack Marketing and Leisure (http://www.travelpack.com) as we ultimately believe that the hotel is not well suited for international visitors, moreover families. Unfortunately, fees and commissions had already been paid by Travelpack and resolution to upgrade us did not solved the main issues.

Location - this hotel is at least 3km from the main beach and where other main front beach hotels are located, downtown hua hin city. Under the heat, this is not walking distance and though the hotel does offer a free shuttle at certain times, it was rather inconvenient as most adventures and general things to do with a family could not be easily arranged. The beach front is limited, low quality and unusable during high tide, unlike other key hotels in Hua Hin beach proper (this is not a value add).

During the stay we saw limited number of foreigners and mostly thais coming in cars for the weekend or business related events.

Room - #444 ocerlooking the pool, large, comfortable, clean, and tidy but also not particularly special or cosy.

Service - personnel were very friendly and willing to help. Unfortunately, except one manager (who assisted me in offering me the upgrade) and one waiter, lack of English profficiency remained an issue. Examples: driver unable to understand an address and taking us to the incorrect one, and pool bar attendant not understanding request for free snack with cocktails and bringing peanuts in a plate for a fee (culturally I felt that they could not understand me even after they brought the peanuts).

Food - we enjoyed a buffer dinner the first night which included fresh grilled seafood and other thai dishes and music. Good. Breakfast was diverse (thai and western) but serving area and most tables were not A/C (smaller room with few tables is the only part that is air conditioned) so we ended up most of the time eating in hot and humid weather.

Value
The room and breakfast was paid by the package from Travelpack. The price for dinner, pool bar and Spa services were highly inflated compared to outside restaurants and Spas and even for a non-main brand hotel. The sense was that they were there to make a killing.

Again bad choice by Travelpack.com, I can only assume in trying to make good margin on a week with abundant room availability in all of Hua Hin and good hotel maybe for locals but not a good choice for the international travel coming for the first time to this city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperialhuahin, General Manager at Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I would like to clarify that the Hotel knew the guest's problem at the beginning of arrival since he came with family of 4 but he had booked with travel agent for only 1 superior room which is too small but my Front Office Manager was so kind to upgrade to another room type which is bigger than superior room but the room is still uncomfortable for the four people. We had contacted the agent which tried to find hotel in down town area but the price is higher so you did not agree to move and had to stay on. Before the guest booked, the guest must have agreed with the travel agent for the location of the Hotel, the type of the room and the room rate. Regarding this time of the year which is considered as low season, Hua Hin does not have many foreigners; therefore, Thai people are the majority which is the same everywhere except for International Chain Hotels where the room rates are much higher than Imperial Hua Hin's.
Staff at the Hotel especially Front Office understand and speak English but for F&B, some of them may not speak well. As per the Hotel's guest profile, he is spanish so his accent is difficult to understand for the Thai staff. We understand that the guests did not appreciate the Hotel at the beginning due to the location and the room but what the guest paid is acceptably reasonable to the service that the Hotel provides. However, as a service provider, we have to try our best to find best solution to the guest but it must have a limit for what we could do.
Best regards,
Pinthida Bhatayanond (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I arrived here in the early hours to a warm welcom and a free room upgrade as it was our honeymoon. The room was perfect as were the grounds of the hotel and the pool. Breakfast was good everyday. For the first week it felt like we had the whole hotel to ourselves which was perfect. It was also Hua Hins festival right outside the hotel so we got to see some amzing genuine Thai treats very early on. Everything was close to hand...we used Tuk, Tuks to get everywhere...always agree your price first. We ate out every night and never had a bad meal.....the food was amazing and sooo cheap. The night markets were great as it was so hot in the day we couldn't shop. The staff at the hotel were fso friendly as are all Thai people we met.
A perfect honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperialhuahin, General Manager at Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking your valuable time in writing such a nice review on the Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort. On behalf of all the staff, your compliment on the staff's friendliness is highly appreciated. I am glad that both of you had a memorable honeymoon throughout your stay at the Hotel. As a service provider, we will deliver our quality of service to all of our guests continuously.
Yours sincerely,
Pinthida Bhatayanond (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is my third time here with my family. The room is so clean and tidy.
Breakfast quite nice and varieties of food.
The location is along the beach.

Room Tip: the corner room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for nice reviews on the Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort. The compliments on the cleanliness of the rooma and breakfast is highly appreciated. For your information, we are in the process of menu engineering which will have more choices in the next few months.
Yours sincerely,
Pinthida Bhatayanond (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Good:
1. Price is cheap for the rooms compared to other sea facing hotels
2. Thailand is famous for hospitality. So this hotel is not an exception
3. Sea facing dining area is awesome
4. Nice swimming pool
5. Restaurant is also nice
6. Pool and Snooker facility is also there

Bad:
1. I say expensive because of their SPA and Massage prices.
2. The beach near the hotel is empty and no life guards. So we didn't dare to enter the beach

Room Tip: Its simple here. You pay more than double the other rooms for a sea facing room. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for writing nice reviews on the Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort. This time of the year is low season so the room rate is very attractive to the foreigners with the value of the Hotel as a whole. The Hotel has just finished renovation of the Pool Decking together with new sunbeds and umbrellas recently which makes the atmosphere even nicer. However, Spa at the Hotel has variety of menus which prices start from 25 US dollars to 80 US dollars and some promotions which depends on how the guest prefers with the value for money. Regarding the beach in front of the Hotel and other beach area as well, due to rainy season which could have jelly fish, people may tend not to swim during this time; however, the Hotel has signage to warn the guests as well.
Even though hotel has no lifeguard, our F&B agents around the pool could assist the guests during the pool operation hours.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udsholt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel is placed 5 min. drive from Hua Hin Beach center, in a nice quit area. There are dirictly admittence from terrace to the beach. Rooms are big and they are cleaned every day. You can choose from 2 single beds or 1 large dobblebed. Most of the rooms have A/C, seawiev, and a small terrace. Staff is thaispeaking, with a little english, but they always get what you mean. They are all very nice and polite, The hotel also have a nice pool, poolbar, resteaurent, and all the rooms have a minibar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort

Address: 11/66 Moobaan Borfaai, Liabwang Road, Hua Hin 77110 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort preserves Hua Hin's ideal resort atmosphere with 124 guestrooms, all beautifully decorated and equipped with modern facilities to ensure utmost comfort and convenience. The magnificent swimming pool and a beachfront restaurant offer an excellent variety of dining convenience and other entertainment options to make your trip just perfect. The resort provides comfortable accommodation, fabulous swimming pool, complimentary shuttle bus into Hua Hin town centre (set times), meeting and function room space for up to 180 delegates, small convenience store on site, cable TV, golf course green fees and transportation services, local sightseeing tours and true Thai hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hua Hin Beach Hotel Hua Hin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.