We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream vaccation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin to your Saves list
Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33/17 Soi Mooban Huadon | Petchkasem Road, Nongkae, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Hua Hin
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dream vaccation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed for 10 days in Pool Villa nb3. A modern 3 story town house with our own pool and terrace on topp of the building. The villa was modern but still it had Thai style furniture, which we love. Your family consist of 2 grown up children, 14 and 19 and two parents, therefore it was a great location. You could spend your time sun bathing on top of the house ore by your own pool. If you wanted more people and things to do, you could walk to the beach which was 1 minute away. There was a long beach shore so you could talk long walks and a golf course which was lovely as well.
The atmosphere of the hotel was personal and friendly but still it had a great portion of integrity, a perfect combination. The sophisticated owner added a lot to that feeling. As a garden architect there was nothing to complaint about. The cousin was great and the design and colors in the restaurant was a delight.

Room Tip: Pool Villa nb 1 ore 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear 122Andrea246,

It has been a great pleasure that we have made a Dream Vacation for your family for this time and that the villas and our property suites you well. Our team is always looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit in Hua Hin.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    61
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
92
61
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the Anantasila for 2 weeks over the Christmas break. We had done a lot of research (thanks to TA), and we were not disappointed. Yes it is out of way, but to us that was the charm of this property. It is right on the beach, and there any many restaurants along the beachfront, our favourites were Sapo Seafood and the Candlelight Restaurant. If you have a sunbed on the beach you will be approached by hawkers, but a simple no thank you with a smile - normally does the trick.
The rooms are a little tired, but still lovely and very clean. The housekeepers do a great job. We would go to breakfast and the "cleaning fairies" would have been by the time we got back. The staff make this place, they are friendly and kind. Nothing is too much trouble. In particular Ning and Thunyaa always went out of their way to make sure we were happy. The General Manager Bruce and Mr Jimmy were always out and about, checking on all the guests - spending a couple minutes each day with everyone - listening to plans for the day and fixing any problems they had. I have travelled a lot and I never seen such hands on management. My daughter got quite sick, and needed to go to hospital, the arranged one of the staff to take us and was in constant contact with my husband to see how she was. The next day Bruce came and saw us to to check on her and it was a genuine concern.
I have to mention that breakfast was fantastic everyday. My son had is birthday there, and they spoilt him at dinner with singing and a cake - it was very special.
Look if you after a well run, family style hotel with a fantastic location and atmosphere - this is the place for you. If you are expecting 5 star, close to all the action - stay somewhere else.

For us there is no going past the Anantasila and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Kellbelle276,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and feedbacks about our hotel.
We are always looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Anantasila for your next trip to Hua Hin, Thailand.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a week in an apartment in the annex building and were extremely happy there. The apartment was extremely quiet, spacious and had an outdoor balcony with a kitchen and a generous living room. The separate bedroom was huge, housed a second big screen TV and had a big ensuite with a shower and bath. The annex had good communal outdoor living areas with plenty of space to enjoy as well as the hotel reception areas that adjoined the beach. The breakfast was good and had plenty of variety that changed enough to add interest.The beach was lovely although we prefer the other beach on the other side of Khao Takiab in front of the Supara by the Sea Restaurant which we walked to everyday. There are plenty of other restaurants in the immediate area that we llked and went to The Sea Market twice for an excellent meal which is only a short walk from the Resort. The staff at Anantasila were exceptionally helpful and friendly and the room was always made up promptly whilst we were out. We had three very small gripes. The basin in the ensuite didn't have hot running water, nor did the kitchen! There was also a very strong smell of sulphur in the bathroom at times which we discovered was the water! This didn't detract from our stay greatly which we thoroughly enjoyed and would go back there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear SallyandPeter,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you so much for your kind comments and feedbacks about your stay and we look forward to welcome and serve you again at Anantasila soon.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

During 12 days we spent a very nice time in this place and really enjoyed our stay. Very nice Hotel area with immediate acces to the long amazing beach, excellent breakfast and food, very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear WernerKlitz,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about Anantasila Villa By the Sea, location, service and staff, this will certainly serve as good encouragement for the team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Anantasila Villa By the Sea on your next trip to Hua Hin, Thailand.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narbonne, France
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

3rd Hua hin Holidays and maybe Anantasila has the best beach in Hua Hin area but as usual in Thailand, not so clean as was suitable and to many vendors, horses and "brokers" disturbing every minute.
Excelent hotel location but not the best orientation due the sun, so pool water " cold". I think they must built the hotel considering the sun and not the beach .
Not many restaurants or shops at walking distance at nightime, so we must go to downtown or Market village every evening.
Rooms are ok, but not perfect. Not enough amenities in bathroom
Breakfast very limited ( after 8 nights, you can imagine..) Fried eggs already cooked, so sometimes in not really good conditions, so better wait a few minutes to have "new" fried .
I always had and smile from the staff but as is always usual in Thailand, non- 5 star hotels has not enough profesional employees as suitable.
Some disapointments: I had a room next to pump room and housekeeper room, so both noisy ( to early for housekeeping every morning around 7,45 when employees were discussing )
I don't really like about non-residents hotel policy concerning sunbeds ( Green towels users).
Some of the booked sunbeds the day before ( paying for this a tip) so hotel guest has less choice . Green towels users also use the swimmingpool with no control as well as toilets and other hotel services.
I think hotel direction/manager /owner , must do something about this as non-hotel residents seems to have same rights , when they are not paying for it. I understand hotel wish to make more money, but not at any price

Room Tip: front beach rooms seems to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I'm a bit torn on how to review this trip. I will break it down in 2 reviews. One for the beach and one for the hotel.

Hotel - The hotel sits on nice grounds, nice flowers and is very clean. The hotel rooms are dated and so is the furniture. We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa overlooking the sea. The rooms were not what we expected from other resorts we've stayed in (Cuba, Dominican Etc). The pictures on the site of the 2 bedroom villa (hardwood floors etc) is not what is reflected in the actual rooms. Quite deceiving. The lock on the bathroom door was broken, there were dead flies that has been killed on the walls and still there. The kitchen was outside the room on the balcony which made it difficult with kids to go in and out to get milk in the morning and bedtime. The food at the restaurant was fairly expensive and was hit and miss. At times you'd have an excellent meal and times not so much. The hotel GM Bruce was amazing. A total gentlman and so what the entire staff.

Beach - The beach is fairly large however there are horses and stray cats/dogs roaming around everywhere. There was horse poop along with urine along the beach and the dogs and cat would also urinate everywhere which wasn't fun when you have little kids playing in the sand. There are also a lot of merchants walking up and down and always hastling you to buy their stuff. Was quite annoying. I wasn't impressed with the beach to be honest but that's not the hotel's fault.

All and all, it was nice to get away from Bangkok for the weekend but I had higher expectations and was quite let down. Our next trip will definitely have to be to a real resort in Krabi or Phuket.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This villa is definitely cool! What a lovely place to relax and the amazing beach. Everything was absolutely wonderful! The staff and the RM were very friendly and helpful. The food was good and the restaurant was just beside the beach!!. I loved the breakfast buffet and the pizza in the restaurant. The rooms were clean. City center was easily accessible by taxi. and the hotel also provided free drop off service. As i was living in the Christmas period, the hotel hold a live show which was free!! just so relaxing !!!!

i will definitely suggest my friends to come here for those who are looking for sunshine, nice beach and relaxing

PS: As this time i went from BKK, the bangkok driver did not really know where was the hotel really located, luckily i got the hotel tel and the staff just explained to the driver patiently and finally we reached the villa

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Dicky H,

Thank you very much for your comments and nice feedbacks regarding our property. It is our great pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your valuable feedback and comments will help us to improve our facilities and services to strive for the highest level of service excellence.

We are looking forward to serve your friends and welcoming back you to Anantasila Villa By the Sea for your next trip to Hua Hin.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin

Address: 33/17 Soi Mooban Huadon | Petchkasem Road, Nongkae, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#18 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantasila By The Sea, Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Anantasila Hotel Hua Hin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantasila by the Sea, Hua Hin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.