We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service but not beachfront property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Resort Hua Hin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added AKA Resort Hua Hin to your Saves list
AKA Resort Hua Hin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   160 Moo 7, Baan Nhong Hiang | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 131 Hotels in Hua Hin
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service but not beachfront property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The staffs were attentive and friendly to offer any assistance you may require. The food was just great both for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was normally served on a -la-carte basis unless the hotel is packed on some weekends (they will serve buffet in that case.) Their egg benedict was just perfect to start relaxing day.

There was problem about cleanliness esp for the outdoor bathtub. LCD TV could be a good addition for in-room entertainment. The hotel also offers very nice spa but be ware of 5 stars price tag.

The hotel is located far from the beach and surronded by mountains. If you look for a place where you could just enjoy swimming in your private pool and good food in the property, this is the place for you. Otherewise, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaguti R, Manager at AKA Resort Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear KongVeevi ,
On behalf of a very grateful team here at AKA Resort Hua Hin, thank you for choosing to stay at our resort on your recent visit to Hua Hin, and for taking the time to leave a review of your stay on tripadvisor.
We are absolutely delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable stay at our resort and that you enjoyed your breakfast esp egg benedict , private pool and service from our team members.
some you value comment about out door bathtup, It not easy to matainence outdoor bahtup but we will find solutions to improve among our team .Thanks again for the kind and positive review KongVeevi, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Kriengsak (Gong) Hansa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    97
    25
    26
    22
See reviews for
42
141
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Ok you are not going to like this palce if you need a kids club, karaoke machine, or bingo night as part of your experience, but if you are a couple wanting a quiet place to hide for a few days, I am struggling to figure out what's not to like.

Firstly this review is for the Guti, not the main AKA which I have also reviewed and rated it pretty highly.

We were actually booked at the Seraton but checked out promptly after checking in and rang the Guti, looking for a quiet room. They took care of the rest.

We arrived, they knew who we were, they showed us a couple of rooms, we settled for a two bed with absolute privacy looking out over the Black Mountains, and we were relaxing in ten minutes with a beer next to our pool, while they cleaned the room.

We had room service dinner which was excellent, breakfast was bit limited but did have an egg station and freshly brewed coffee, so met our needs.

Some people have said the place is tired, clealry they have not owned a property in tropical climate. Basically what the Guti have done is blended into the environment, which means not slappimg glossy paint on everything, but letting the materials mix and fade as nature inteded. Truly a masterpiece in foresight and taste. I also loved the indoor outdoor flow of the villa.

The staff couldn't do enough for us, and I also loved the understated uniforms, simple black pyjama style, again class.

Sum up, if you are a couple looking for absolute privacy, in a place that has been exquisitley thought out, try it.

Tip, Plonk down a bit extra for a two bed on the front, and you can leave your swimming trunks at home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaguti R, Manager at AKA Resort Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
I wish to thank you for your very specific feedback on your recent stay at the resort.
We are happy to learn that your had enjoyable stay and experienced the resort's diverse activities and facilities.
We are also grateful for your kind testimony about the good value of staying at the
AKA Guti villa ,We are happy to here from your that your love sunset at AKA Guti ,all of our villa
is designe to see the sunset at the evening , appreciated your enjoy with our dining and break fast .
Once again our sincere appreciation for the excellent observation and this comments will motivate us to strive in enhancing the guest experiences through our products and services.
Best Regards,
Kriengsak (Gong) Hansa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genova
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I could easily find negative things to say about AKA but I don't want to because the whole was better than the sum of the parts. Our 1 bedroom deluxe pool villa was divine. The spaciousness and privacy with our quite large private pool was great. We had a compound with a large bedroom, spacious bathroom with outdoor shower and sunken tub, comfortable living room with wet bar and stocked fridge, second complete bedroom and bath in another bale (they call it the "spa room") and the pool with deck and lounge chairs and dining area. All of this is surrounded by a high privacy wall and planted with healthy, flowering plants. There is also a second floor lounge area with a view of the entire resort. The air conditioning worked perfectly and the bar was conveniently (and oddly) stocked with fairly priced pints of rum, vodka, etc. as well as water (complimentary) and soft drinks. The bathroom amenities were plentiful and nice quality. The staff was charming and very available and helpful. I don't speak Thai and appreciated the fact that most of them spoke some English. The resort provides a shuttle to Hua Hin which we found convenient for trips to town for dinner, etc. The breakfast was more generous than I require so should be good for those who eat hearty breakfasts. We ordered lunch delivered to our compound twice and ate one lunch at the restaurant. All meals were delicious and though not cheap like eating in local restaurants were good value for a hotel restaurant and room service. Cocktails before we went to town to dinner were well made and graciously served by the pool when we asked.

While it wasn't their fault that it was cold while we were there (really cold) they apologized none-the-less. The spa was okay--beautiful, but the staff was not particularly skilled. I had better and certainly cheaper treatments in town. There are some maintenance issues. The outdoor bath tub was not inviting--tired and grubby looking. The wooden decking around the pool is due for replacement or repair. The only real issue for me was what should have been a charming water feature within the compound of our villa--but the water was stagnant. While it didn't smell bad and there were not mosquitoes, it was not appealing. The same is true of some of the water features in the public parts of the beautifully landscaped resort. But really for what we got and the great price we felt it was extraordinary value and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I think all deluxe 1 bedrooms are identical, but some are farther from reception and the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaguti R, Manager at AKA Resort Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Originunknown,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the resort. We are glad to know that you and your family had an enjoyable time especially with the private pool and villa facility /amenity.

We look forward to welcoming all of you back again in the near future to the resort. You may want to take advantage of the various resort's special promotions available at the AKAresorts.com
Best Regards,
Kriengsak (Gong) Hunsa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My girlfriend had booked this as part of a surprise weekend, so prior to the trip I had no expectations. After the drive down from Bangkok, we were greeted by welcoming staff, towels, refreshing drink and biscuits. We were immediately showed to our villa which despite being advertised as a one bedroom villa actually had 2 bedrooms as well as a private pool.

The whole apartment was clean and although their were slight signs of wear (stained wall and cracked wood) we appreciate that is a place which experiences Monsoon and prolonged heat it is going to be impossible to maintain a look of everything being branch new. The Villa itself was spacious and private and mostly quiet although in the evenings a nearby bar did sometimes like to play music until the early hours which was more of an inconvenience as oppose to being truly annoying.

One evening we ordered the private villa BBQ and when they chef arrived with the food we thought he was planning on feeding a small army; including prawns, fish, chicken, pork, steak, vegetables, rice, salad, corn on the cob, baked potatoes and deserts and I am sure I have missed things! The BBQ was very well done, with the evening remaining a romantic affair despite there being the chef and waiter present, unlike some times in Asia with the staff is so keen to assist you sometimes feel you are being watched by a hawk!

The only point to bear in mind is that it is a good 15 minutes from the centre of Hua Hin so don't expect a stroll, but instead a taxi or the hotel shuttle bus you can book in advance. We also found the Tuk Tuks to be a lot cheaper than the taxis, and infinitely more fun!

Having read other reviews, it seems that opinions are mixed but given the experience we had, I would happily return to this villa.

One last thing is that in the evening, given the amount of water the Mosquito's can be very aggressive so ensure you are well covered.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaguti R, Manager at AKA Resort Hua Hin, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Klembo,
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us recently and we are glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay.

Thank you for your kind compliments about the resort's location, facilities as well as the shuttle from AKA to Hua Hin Town timming/schedule .

We look forward to having the chance of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kreingsak (Gong) Hansa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Me and my guest arrived at the hotel at 1030 pm on a Friday night straight from the airport starving, hoping for some food, to be told that we would have to go into town to find something to eat... This is as the staff are eating in sight of the check in desk.... Not exactly a good move when dealing with 2 service industry customers.. So we ended paying a local taxi driver that was droping off other guests to go into town to grab some fried rice for us.. Upon check in we were taken toour room, the staff member that took us was flamboyantly gay, not that we care, but he proceded to open one room of our 2 bedrooms then started to leave When we requested that the second room be opened he gave us a confused look like he was annoyed we we're not staying together... Once settled in we planned on hitting the pool, when the lights came on we couldn't even see the bottom the water was so dirty.. Again we called the front desk and asked to be moved to a room with a useable pool. No such luck and we were assured the pool would be useable by morning, it was fairly apparent that a 10 m pool would not be drained and re filled by morning, but we were assured it would be... Wrong the staff didn't even attempt to do so.. In the morning we complained again, and were offered another smaller 2 bedroom villa at Aka guti, of course for a higher price. Needing to salvage the trip we went ahead with the move, no visible management of any kind assisted us offered us any sort of compensation for a ruined and aggravating trip. I would suggest that there are plenty of much better resorts in hua hin skip this one.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel has been around for many years since its establishment !! I remember once used to be a very charming unique hotel of hua hin, regardless its remote location where you have to travel into the middle of nowhere!! Signiage to the hotel must be improved!!!

Now the property still looks good, but a bit tiring and old now..l better blame this to maintenance... You can see paint defects everywhere...

Room we had was a Deluxe Pool Villa, the pool itself is great!!! With its private compound consists of one master bedroom with living room and large outdoor rainshower and bath under the stars... With Another smaller bedroom is also nice and spacious... But again... No TV in the room....

By the way, the stars are great as you can see it very clearly in the middle of the night...

TV should be improved, the one we had was an old small 14 inches TV with no DVD player.... No other entertainment utilities like Connecting point to iPad or iPod, the phone is not a wireless one....

WIFI quality is so poor! Signal keeps going up and down every single minutes so at the end we had to stuck with our signal provider instead.....

Aircon was noisy and we can not even sleep properly... Curtains are useless and does not prevent us from the day light, so dont get surprise when the light wake you up at 7am.

Bathroom amenities was minimal, no shaving kits or extra tooth brush for guest..... Be reminded that this is a SLH hotel..... Locating in the middle of nowhere...

Breakfast quality is alright for a normal hotel, no WOW factors... Bakery items are nice... Salads was dried out and looked bad.... Hot station was too dried and unattended, pancake is too dried, fruits were not refilled properly, fried rice is good... Omelet station need big improvement, quality of omelet is not there, too cooked!! The food variety and quality are not there yet for a
SLH...

Still no match to another independant hotels in hua hin!!!

Service quality is poor! Staffs are visible but working without direction.... Just there for clearing plates.... Coffee was not refilled, no check on quality of breakfast by a manager.... Service staff was not smiley and in addition gave us a big face instead as we asked for more coffee....

Sorry, but we expected this out of your 5-star standard....

If you are looking for a nice hideaway hotel in hua hin with no expectation, just take this hotel...

If you have already been to Putahracsa, Capenidhra and InterContinental.... Dont bother to come here as you will be badly disappointed by its severe condition.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed at AKA Guti 1-bedroom pool villa for 3 nights. Spacious villa with an impressive 10m private pool. Breakfast at Guti restaurant is freshly cooked and delicious. The staffs are friendly and helpful. However,wooden glass doors at living room and bedroom is difficult to open and noisy as its rusty. The paint on the doors are fading.

Checked out AKA resort which is 1km away from AKA Guti. The staffs not as friendly and hospitality as Guti ones. Breakfast foods is cold and not tasty as Guti ones. Had great thai massage/muay thai lesson by a staff named Chai.

Overall, had a great getaway in AKA Guti.

Room Tip: Request villa at the highest level.Will give you a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Resort Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Resort Hua Hin

Address: 160 Moo 7, Baan Nhong Hiang | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AKA Resort Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA Resort Hua Hin offers private villas inspired by Thailand's meditative traditions. Tucked away in the hills of Hua Hin, the resort's private villas showcase elegant design and amenities. Personal infinity pools and nature open spas provide guests with a private oasis amidst Thailand's tropical landscape. Reflecting Hua Hin's unique cultural heritage, AKA Resort Hua Hin is a rejuvenating and peaceful retreat from the stresses of daily life. Each villa is infused with an ambience of tranquility, permeating the pools, terraces, and sala rooftop gardens.AKA Resort Guti translates Thailand's traditional monastery experience into an exclusive villa getaway. Nestled in the hills of Hua Hin, the resort offers private villas, each one inspired by meditative Thai traditions and elegant Thai architecture. With infinity pools and garden terraces, the exclusive villas provide relaxing sanctuaries amidst tropical landscapes and panoramic view of Hua Hin. Hua Hin's history as a retreat destination for Thailand's monarchy affords the area with an air of nobility and tranquility, steeped in traditional Thai luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your AKA Resort Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Hotel Resort And Spa
Aka Hotel Hua Hin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Resort Hua Hin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.