We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced out of its league” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Veranda Lodge to your Saves list
Veranda Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   113 Soi Hua Hin 67 | Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Priced out of its league”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is my second stay in the last three years. The hotel has gone from a nice family run resort to an overpriced lodge with poor service. The rooms were clean and functional. Bed was very hard. air conditioner flap was spoiled and propped up using tissue paper stuffed in one of the corners. i felt really bad for asking my friends to book this hotel. Beware of the mosquitoes, make sure you have lots of insect repellant with you. Service was perfunctory and can be unfriendly at times esp. at the breakfast service. There were limited options for breakfast and if you must eat there, try the French toast. The rest were bad. Location is its key redeeming feature but I think there are many cheaper options in the same area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    57
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in the Veranda Lodge for a week at the beginning of March and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Hua Hin. The hotel is in an ideal quiet location right on the beach but within twenty minutes walking distance to the centre of Hua Hin and five minutes from the new shopping mall. We found all the staff very friendly, the receptionist even kindly wrote out a birthday card for us in English which had been sent over the internet by our family.
The rooms were cool and clean and the atmosphere was very relaxed. We enjoyed our breakfasts with views over the beach and the individual service rather than a breakfast buffet. We ate out in the evenings either in the street just behind the hotel or in Hua Hin itself returning by tuktuk.
This is a small individual hotel and is still run by a Thai family.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on 4th floor near lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Poor service, seafood in the restaurant was not fresh! Food was pricy and not very good. Location was great, directly at the beach! I will not stay there again, because it is not good value. You can do better for 2900 bath a night for a small room with a smelly bathroom!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in Veranda Lodge over Xmas and New Year for 20 nights and could not fault the hotel. The hotel is right on the beach and although other people have said the beach is dirty at times, this is when the tide comes right up and is cleared very quickly. Sun beds are reserved for hotel guests.

You can walk to town in 15 minutes or get a tuk tuk for 100 baht normally at end of road. This is a family run hotel and we found the staff shy but friendly. If you ask, they will try and deliver what you want.

We were in the main building and the rooms were cleaned daily to a good standard. If we return to Hua Hin would definately stay at Veranda Lodge.

Room Tip: Just speak to the staff and see what they can do
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were quite apprehensive about our stay at Veranda bcoz after reading some really bad TA reviews of this place. We were very keen on Baan Bayan (next door) & Devasom but they didnt have 3 rooms available so we went ahead with Veranda Lodge.
Veranda Lodge is actually a very beautiful property with a lot of character. The pictures of the resort don’t do any justice and make it look like an average lodge. Divided into 3 categories broadly- The Main Building (which houses the service apartments and basic rooms), the garden bungalows (7 cabins spread across the garden facing the beach) and the Main Villa (with 4 -5 rooms) facing the beach, the property is quirky but comfortable. Unlike the Hilton category hotels with their big buildings and sprawling facilities and impersonal look, this resort has a certain character and style (which is a very important criteria for selection for me).
We had 2 garden bungalows and one family suite (as we had a baby travelling with us). The Family Suite is large, spacious, well maintained and very comfortable. 3 adults can stay very comfortably as they have 2 full bathrooms in the unit. No complaints, except maybe that it has no views- overlooks the lobby and parking area.
The Garden Bungalows looked mint fresh, were spacious and could accommodate a small family comfortably. Each bungalow has an outside sit-out area to have your morning tea and read the papers. try to get Room 507, 505 or 501, they have the best views. Avoid the room we got - 504, it is the only room that faces the side of another bungalow and has absolutely no view or privacy. However, all the rooms are new and clean. Housekeeping does a very good job. The beach is literally a few steps away.
The location of this resort is unmatchable. It is located on the best (maybe busiest) beach of hua hin. Full of life and action. Lots of families on holidays and kite surfers. They have private beach beds for hotel guests with bar service and beach towels. There is also a small swimming pool that we used quite a bit. It was small but clean and had a lovely terrace with a beautiful view. We loved our 5 day stay here which was only badly marred by the overall service of the staff at the resort. The place has so much potential that I felt sad it was in such bad management hands.
Service (mainly at the restaurant) was downright PATHETIC, restaurant staff had no manners and were unbelievably rude. I was so put off that I refuse to give them any more review space. Just watch out for their curtness. And it wasn’t that this treatment was meted out only to us. I saw this behavior across the staff for all guests. I am stressing on this because in Thailand, and especially in Hua Hin, the hospitality and warmth of the locals is almost overwhelming. In contrast the behavior of the staff at Veranda was quite shocking. They give Thai hospitality a very bad name. For a 180-dollar room rate you expect basic greetings at front desk and a courteous restaurant staff but they were really off putting. They should take a leaf out of their next door resort neighbor Baan Bayan. We have friends who stayed there last year and came back to Hua Hin only becoz of the warm hospitality of this beautiful town. To be fair, the front desk staff was efficient and prompt but mostly indifferent. Almost robotic. They will help you book tuk tuk, answer your queries and do as asked, which was great, but a smile always helps make things much more pleasant. The management should do a serious shake up and improve the service. Ratings for this place would definitely shoot up.
Second serious issue is of mosquitoes. Esp in the garden bungalows, because of dense unkempt foliage and large urns of still stagnant water. If they took some serious measures to correct this issue then the place will be much more livable. Almost luxurious. Not a pleasant feeling to be attacked by a swarm of mosquitoes when you re sitting sipping your morning tea in your cute lil verandah. Huge problem. Especially when traveling with kids and infants. We ran out of 2 bottles of mosquito repellents in 5 days.
Overall, I would love to return to this place only if I am convinced that the staff attitude has been seriously changed. Else, at Hua Hin, there is no dearth of great properties with hospitality that makes you keep wanting to come back. try Baan Bayan, or Yaiya or Devasom or even a stall at the night market and you will know what Hua Hin hospitality really is. Hope you are listening Veranda Lodge!

Room Tip: Garden Bungalow- Room 507, 505 or 501, they have the best views. Avoid the room we got - 504, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great location and good view at Veranda on sea room number 702.
You can sit on the room balcony and enjoy.
But fair for staff service.
Have some garbage on sand.
Children can enjoy with the pet at the hotel such as bird, parrot and hamster.



  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel was recommended by a friend. She said the rooms are recently renovated and the location was good...this is TRUE...but that is about it. The location is nice, but there are many other hotels with locations just as good and the grounds of this hotel were terrible....wood rotting where it should be sanded and re varnished...the beach in front of the hotel was Filthy....and we never saw anyone even attempting to clean up. Pool was under renovation and we were not notified and overall we found this to be an aging mediocre resort. We stay in Thailand for Months a year and experience Many hotels....this one is poor choice....look around. That said, we met people who had gotten rooms here through agoda for $80 with breakfast.....if you just want a Bed to sleep in, that rate is good for this dumper.

Safe travels to all! cheers!

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms were small....I wouldn't want to be here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Lodge

Address: 113 Soi Hua Hin 67 | Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Veranda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Hotel Hua Hin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.