We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 131 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The perfect place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My apologies for not writing sooner. We visited this hotel back in March and it's the 3rd time we have been. We believe that it's the perfect place...the staff are friendly, the gardens are beautiful and the food is perfect. We stayed in the villas and were given a surprise upgrade, we even had the managing director come out and warmly welcome us. We cannot praise this hotel enough, nothing is too much for the staff to help you. From the cleaner who cared for our room, to the waiters who were on hand without being intrusive , they all know their job. We love the Centara group and never stay anywhere else in Thailand, from Bangkok to Phuket and Koh Samui to Hua Hin. Keep up the excellent work.

Room Tip: The upgrade to club is worthwhile as are the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Yorkshirekippy,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is always very motivating and rewarding to receive positive comments and not only negative ones.

We are glad that you enjoyed this third stay with us and would like to assure you that it has been a true pleasure to have you with us.

We all look forward to welcome you back to Centara Grand Hua Hin in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    196
    51
    26
    13
See reviews for
347
630
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Midlands UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have just returned from a long stay at the Centara. As per other reviews the hotels location is ideal, the gardens are fantastic. The breakfast buffet was on par with other hotels of this rating, however on some mornings service for breakfast was a little patchy staff numbers where sometimes minimal. We used the Garden pool on a regular basis and where well looked after by all the pool staff especially Sujin and Nepeta. The in-house cleaning was also excellent with bedding changed daily and towels replaced as soon as they where used. Our room was comfortable, the mattress was a little hard but thats just me, we had our suspicions about the room standard we had booked a deluxe room.On asking we were told it was a deluxe room, when we got home googled room 274 surprise surprise it was a superior room. We had hoped for an upgrade but didn't expect a downgrade, the hotel wasn't exactly full this has left us disappointed as we didn't expect this from a nice hotel like the Centara. Would have to think about returning.
All the restaurants served quality food and the service was excellent, the only one we didn't use was the Hagi as we don't like Japanese food.
We attended some of theme nights, the Mediterranean night served great food but strangely no pasta! the Thai night was again very good food wise however the entertainment was performed on the far side of the swimming and was poorly lit.
What did disappoint was the fact that hotel dress codes and regulations are on the whole ignored. Many times at breakfast there where children and adults in sleepwear, other reviewers have stated that "You can't dress up enough in this hotel" we got fed up of arriving for dinner properly attired only to be surrounded by people in cheap shorts and flip flops. This was also true in the pool with people diving and jumping in and using the pool lifebelts as toys.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room grade you have booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear mike477,

I would personally like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your valuable feed back to us about your recent stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin.

It is such a pleasure to receive compliments about our staff and thank you for specifically mentioning Khun Sujin and Khun Nepeta. These comments have been passed to them and they are greatly appreciated.

I sincerely apologize for booking you in a Superior Room instead of a Deluxe Room as per your original reservation. There was a mistake in communication between our Reservation Team and the Front Desk, therefore this unintended and very unfortunate downgrading happend. Kindly be advised that we are already in contact with your travel agent and you will be refunded for the price difference in the room category. Rest assured that we take such mistakes very serious and will retrain the concerned departments to avoid a recurrence of such mistakes.

May I take this opportunity to thank you again for staying with us and I very much hope to welcome you back to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin and for you to experience our beautiful resort at its very best.

Best regards,
Miguel Jaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We are currently staying at the hotel, one night left of our 10nt stay and we do not want to leave.....
We have traveled to many asian hotels in thailand, Singapore, Hong Kong and Malaysia including shrangri La's, intercontinental's and Centara's and this Centara is truly outstanding and far exceeds all other hotels.
The hotel is in perfect condition for its age, the gardens are exquisite, so beautifully looked after with amazing animals forms from the trees. The colonial style of the hotel gives a fantastic feel of grandure and you feel special as soon as you enter through the front gates. The hotel apart from its perfect appearance has to be the best located hotel in Hau Hin with also the most attractive stretch of beach in Hau Hin. Only comment would be it would be good to have some loungers on the beach too.

The hotel staff are so attentive and always so pleasent, special thanks to our maid, room 130, who was superb, always smiling and works so hard. All are so good.... thank you for being so lovely.

When I read hotel reviews I always want to know about the breakfast... no need to worry here... amazing. Everything you could want; beautiful pastries, smoothies, thai, sushi, noodles, american cooked, etc. etc. Too much to mention but you will not be disappointed!

We are off to Centara watergate next in Bangkok and if that is half as good as here we would be happy. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for such a wonderful stay. You are a credit to the centara group.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you very much for highlighting your recent experience at the resort. It's great to hear that all things met your expectations.

We appreciate your support and patronage to the Centara Hotel & Resort and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a 15 night stay at the Centara Grand and can't find a bad thing to say about it. When you step into the grounds you could be a million miles away from the madness outside, it's so tranquil but still close enough to walk to all the bars, restaurants and markets.

We've stayed at the Hilton for the last 16 years and now we wished we had tried the Centara years ago.

We stayed in a deluxe room in the colonial wing with a view of the sea. Our room had a huge king size bed and a big walk in shower with a rain shower head. All the toiletries you could need were restocked daily and lovely clean white towels. Every day there were delicious little cakes, chocolates or cookies left in the room.

Breakfast was amazing with everything you could think of to eat. Lovely fresh bread, eggs cooked to order any way you liked, muffins, pastries etc.

We spent our first week by the railway pool but this got a bit noisy on our second week when lots of families with young children arrived so we moved to the garden pool which was really quit and relaxing. All of the pools are the warmest pools I've ever felt anywhere in the world. Fresh water melon and ice cold towels were brought round by the staff twice a day which was a really nice touch.

All of the staff we met were very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. We spent two really enjoyable evenings in the Elephant bar while the curfew was on and the bars outside closed early. The music was brilliant and so nice to sit in the air conditioned bar.

We'll definitely be back again hopefully in October.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Karen L,

Thank you very much for your kind words and it is a great pleasure to have you at the resort.

We will ensure to continue to strive for better products and services at the resort.

We surely look forward to welcoming you again in October, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Weston
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Ok, are you sitting comfortably? then I will begin ....

Over the past year or two, we have stayed at the Four Seasons in Mexico City, Ritz Carlton in Cancun, the Chedi in Muscat, Etihad Towers in Abu Dhabi, Grosvenor House in Dubai, Savoy in London ect ect ect and there is no doubt, the Centara stands out as the best. I am going as far as to say that, having actually stayed in some if the worlds best, this place stands out as the best.

We stayed in the best suite which gave us access to the amazing lounge. Jonnas and the team were smiling from Breakfast to Dinner. You know how you go to some of the executive lounges for Breakfast and and they have these bloody great piles of ageing hot food choices, not here! The main breakfast is a'lacarte in the lounge and order whatever you like. And the bread, mmmmm, fresh every morning and try the Almond Croissant, I resist them every morning and then my resistance totally collapses and I eat two.... as my tummy continues to expand. You would think that Jonnas had been here years with his knowledge of the hotel and the area, but I believe it's only been a few months and his professional approach, hospitality and attitude were truly exceptional. I am sure he is recognised as a shining star!

It was a special birthday for my wife during our stay and I wanted it to be perfecto. I had a meeting with executive Head Chef (who had my wife swooning when he came and spoke to us with a French accent during dinner) and he simply sorted everything. Lobster simply and perfectly grilled with Garlic and Lemon followed by Orange Liquor Soufflé washed down with with a fine bottle of Chablis. The Hotel General Manager came over and and wished my wife a happy birthday during dinner and even the security guard at the front gate knew it was her birthday. We went to the bar after dinner where they have nightly an amazing Jazz Trio and they also serve blinding Lemon Grass Martini presented by one of the prettiest girls I have ever seen, excepting my wife of course ....

The Executive Head Chef is now a hero of mine, but he knows that....

We also had a number of treatments in the Spa. We looked at the Spa's outside (they looked a bit minty and sweaty) and decided the value, cleanliness and quality was far superior in the Centara and wow, a 90 minute massage has you so chilled, relaxed and had me snoring a few times

Owning a large company with all all the stress ect, coming here was the best choice we could have made. We are chilled and relaxed in one of the worlds greatest hotels. If you are planning to come to this area and are checking the Hilton or Intercontinental or Banyan, don't waste your time... Splurge a bit for once in your life and book a suite here....you will not be disappointed

We made a big mistake one evening and went to the Chinese Restaurant at the Hilton next door and it was Yuksville or total rubbish. We went across the road to Carlos Italian one evening, very authentic, but the best food is in the Centara

To sum up, we have not left to go home yet and we can't wait to come back .....

Room Tip: Don't be tight and get a Suite.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Tony N,

Than you very much indeed for your kind review about our resort.

We appreciate the details information about the various aspects of the hotel's facilities and services that you have come to try during your stay and it is grateful to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your. We will ensure your kind comments be passed on to all of team members as to motivate all of us to continue enhancing our services to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again to Centara Grand Hua Hin in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

In April 2014 we stayed in the Centara for twelve night. The hotel is located directly on the beach and central to Hua Hin markets, restaurants etc. It is an imposing hotel built in a colonial style. We were allocated a lovely large room on the second floor of the railway wing. This is the oldest section of the hotel where you have some original features. Although darker than some other rooms the décor is in keeping with historical aspects of the hotel. Rooms here are larger and have a shaded balcony overlooking the sea or gardens. What makes these rooms convenient is their location near to beach and pool. The beds were extremely comfortable and luxurious linen were the norm. The shower room was smallish but functional. Wardrobe space was adequate and our lovely cleaner sourced an iron and ironing board for us which we were allowed to keep for the duration of our stay.

Breakfast was just amazing. So much choice and oh so nice! You could have an American, British, continental, Japanese or Thai breakfast all cooked to a very high standard. A pot of tea was nice in the morning and we preferred this to the waiter tea/coffee service. Early in the morning service at breakfast could be intermittent as staff numbers could be low. A bonus was looking out at the lovely garden and topiary while listening to a harpist playing some truly beautiful background music.

There are three pools at the hotel and we preferred the colonial pool which is situated next to the beach and attracted an older crowd. The other pool beach attracted a young crowd while the garden pool attracted those who wanted some peace and quiet. The cold fruit and cold towel service twice a day was a godsend on those very hot sultry days.

Happy hour (in fact two hours) between 5 and 6 was 2 drinks for the price of 1. This worked well for us as a break between sunbathing and going for an evening meal. Most staff at the pool bar were very polite but some (2) needed to immersed in customer service courses and were the only let-down to his aspect of the holiday.

There are many restaurants at the hotel but they are rather expensive and as a seasoned traveller I like to spend money locally. We did have one lunch at the hotel and it was very nice! We also had some macaroons from the museum shop/café and they were simply delicious. We had a lovely late evening drink at the elephant bar and listened to a lovely jazz band.

Overall the staff were attentive and very polite. From our complementary tea and cake while we waited for our room to be ready to facilitating us having a late check out if so desired this hotel aims to please and make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thanks for a great holiday and I hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a deluxe room as we wanted to stay in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear cymrobangor,

Thank you very much indeed for your kind review and It is a great pleasure to have you at the resort.

We will ensure to continue to strive for better products and services and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Centara Grand Hua Hin soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I should explain - during the current military take-over in Thailand, many hotels have lost a lot of business and are heavily discounting their rates to attract whatever business they can. We were in Bangkok when the coup took place and with our hosts drove the 2.5 hours down to Hua Hin one Friday for a long weekend at this wonderful hotel/resort. Built in the 20s as the Railway Hotel, the whole place has an old-world colonial feel. All buildings have been lovingly restored and the rooms are exquisite. Many restaurants and pools dot the grounds; staff are as pleasant and helpful as you always find in Asia. The BBQ night in the main restaurant was superb value for money. If you want to spoil yourselves for a couple of nights I cannot recommend this oasis of luxury too highly.

Room Tip: Even the cheapest 'basic' rooms are delightful. All rooms are in the peaceful grounds, far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear William E,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your recent experience at Centara Grand Hua Hua Hin.

We are glad to know that you had a good time and enjoyed the various facilities and services around the resort. Rest assured this will motivate us to strive for excellence in our product and service offering.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate within this colonial-style Hua Hin Thailand hotel, nestled in a tropical garden along a beautiful four-mile beach. Signature features of this Hua Hin hotel resort include 207 rooms and 42 villas, local and international cuisine in five restaurants, three conference rooms for up to 300 people, three swimming pools, a spa and fitness centre, and limousine service. There are also six golf courses near our Thailand hotel resort, complementing our extensive onsite recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.