We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reconsider . . . Free WiFi in rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Hua Hin
Colombo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Reconsider . . . Free WiFi in rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A hotel which charges the most but gives back the least to a guest in return.
The front reception did not have a print of the booking voucher which makes the checking process very long.
Gardens are beautiful but the rest of it is disappointing. Rooms are gloomy and too cramped up with no bidet showers in the bathroom. The towels are not kept in a visible place and we spent a considerable amount of time looking for them.
The trollies which go on the corridors are very noisy perhaps due to lack of oil on the wheels. Do not disturb sign board is not kept in a visible place.
Choice of food is limited in restaurants and the savory food with oozing oil makes you feel uncomfortable for the rest of the day. The Thai Restaurant on the other side of the road with Villas is good .Management badly needs a policy change to keep up with the status of a World Class Hotel. The difference and style of Vijitt Resort in Phuket was beyond compare and we are happy we stayed at Centara only for one night .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear manojicolombo,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that you felt that our rooms are gloomy and cramped.

I herewith would like to respond to a few comments raised by you:
Free Wifi is available in public areas, charges apply for wifi in the hotel rooms. We will review our existing policies in this regard to see whether any changes are necessary.

In regards of the check-in process, no voucher was printed by the hotel as you've booked your room via the third-party site Booking.com. These sites do send guests a virtual copy of a voucher, which the hotel does not receive.

Thank you once again for your constructive comments and we hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again. Meanwhile, we remain at your disposal for any future information you may require.

Your sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    173
    40
    17
    12
See reviews for
312
547
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
lLondon, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

As ever we had a wonderful time as this beautiful oasis. Lovely to see improvements made as a result of guests' comments. The private dinner organised by the hotel reflected the hotel staff's fantastic attention to detail. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear jackygr,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the resort recently and your comments were shared with the team. Please rest assured that we will do our utmost to continue keeping our passion for service!

We are looking forward to be of service to you again in the future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Old colonial style hotel/resort, simply stunning. Truly world class.

Pros

Historic buildings
Beautiful gardens
Three nice pools
Good breakfast, with nice outdoor seating
Reasonably priced F&B
Peaceful
Classy

Cons, for some..

Traditional rooms may not suit those looking for modern amenities
Gardens attract quite some mosquitos in the evening
Very quiet

Room Tip: Decide for yourself whether you prefer a traditional 1920's room or one of the modern rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear User124,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our resort and we are pleased to note that you have a good time during stay with us. It is very encouraging that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and had a great impression of the resort's ambiance. Your remark about the mosquito are well note by department concern for follow up.

We hope to have you again at Centara Grand Hua Hin in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Colonial ("Raffles") style hotel set in beautiful topiary gardens with lotus water pools. Three great swimming pools to choose from and right on the beach. Less than 5 minutes walk to shops & restaurants. Very clean, beautifully decorated rooms. Efficient, friendly, helpful, professional & well trained staff. Wonderful breakfasts. Free wi-fi in rooms & by the pools.
(If possible we would have liked a few drawers in our room however our friends in adjoining room did have the additional storage) - not really a significant problem.
Next visit we will ask for a lower floor room as there is no lift & my husband & I are both in our middle 70's with arthritic knees! & sometimes found the steps to 3rd floor a bit tiring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear MelbourneHellie,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and appreciate your kind comments about the facilities, food as well as the services.

We look forward to your next visit and rest assured of our undivided attention and utmost service at all times.

If there is anything else we can do to make your next visit a more comfortable and happy one, please let us know. We’ll be happy to be of service.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This year there have been subtle changes to the way the Club Lounge has been run and they make it much more relaxing and pleasant. The variety and quality of the canapés is excellent. The staff are so attentive and very quickly learn what you like. The other difference this year is the refurbished Hagi Japanese restaurant and it has proven to be a triumph. The overall ambience is wonderfully relaxing and the quality of the food is superb. Once again very attentive service is in evidence. This year we met some more guests who have returned year after year and everyone was singing the praises of this wonderful hotel. This year the fitness centre has been improved and the staff are very helpful and ensure you come to no harm! Nothing is too much trouble in this hotel. Monsieur Mury and his staff have created an oasis of calm and can only be congratulated for the way they allow the staff to express their personalities within the overall control of management. I cannot think of anything that merits even a whiff of concern. Congratulations are, once again, in order to all the staff. We shall be back again next year.

Room Tip: As with all things, you get what you pay for - but the quality of the service will be the same no m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear melbournerebel,

We are very grateful to you for having taken the time to give us such nice comments with reference to your recent stay at Centara Grand Hua Hin. Guest feed back is always valuable as it enables us to take immediate corrective actions where needed.

Please rest assured that your comment is being relayed to all departments concerned and that we shall continue to strive to reach as much service excellence as we possibly can.
We are glad to read that we will see you again next year and, with our reiterated thanks, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Twenty years ago, when my wife and I were broke and backpacking through Asia, we spent a few nights in a very cheap and cheerful bed and breakfast in the back streets of Hua Hin. We spotted the wonderful Railway Hotel on one of our evening walks and had a good look around the Hotel, admiring the gardens and even having the occasional (unlawful) swims in the beautiful pools over the next few days. The memory of the Hotel stayed with us both and we promised each other that 'one day' we would return. Well we did when our finances improved somewhat, and we stayed there (lawfully) in a deluxe room for eight nights in July 2013. I feel I cannot add anything materially to the myriad of other reviews, other than to say that everything you read here is true and for my wife and I it was the best Hotel experience we have ever had.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for a deluxe room, as far as I could tell Superior and Deluxe rooms are about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear BrisbaneRobert,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review your stay at the Centara Grand Hua Hin. Needless to say that we greatly appreciated your very positive and touching comments on the property. Again, your true kindness and constant enthusiasm while staying with us will not be forgotten.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another happy holiday at the resort in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wanted to stay in a friendly, quiet resort and that's what we got. (Our 2nd visit)

The staff are wonderful, the bed was really comfy, they asked whether we had any special pillow preferences at checkin and delivered accordingly. The room was very well maintained and although the hotel was pretty full, we didn't feel cramped or rushed at any time.

The hotel is in a quiet but fairly central location so local shops, massage places and restaurants all easy to get to. We see signs that Hua Hin is growing and we just hope it doesn't become a big, commercial, unfriendly town - it has a small cosy and friendly feel to it at present although locals we spoke to say its already changed and changing.

Only downside is the beach outside has a few rocks and no sunbeds on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear M R P,

Thank you for support and patronage to the Centara Grand Hua Hin and we greatly appreciate your second visit to the resort.

We are delighted that you had a great time at during stay with us. We certainly look forward to your return visit to the resort next year.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate within this colonial-style Hua Hin Thailand hotel, nestled in a tropical garden along a beautiful four-mile beach. Signature features of this Hua Hin hotel resort include 207 rooms and 42 villas, local and international cuisine in five restaurants, three conference rooms for up to 300 people, three swimming pools, a spa and fitness centre, and limousine service. There are also six golf courses near our Thailand hotel resort, complementing our extensive onsite recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.