We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible monkeys.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)

Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)
Hua Hin, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 22 Attractions in Hua Hin
Type: Religious Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Lookouts, Cultural
Attraction details
Vologda, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible monkeys.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I don't think that this place is worth to visit. Very dirty and a lot of awful aggressive monkeys. My wife was attacked by them. Keep away from this place.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    100
    61
    20
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Its been twenty years since my first visit, and I still go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I guess we all want change and updates and for "something to happen"... but then it is Khao Takiab and not much changes year to year... I take a scooter and do a potter about, going left to the base of the Golden Buddha and then back out and via the concrete bridge -

I have met some "nice monkey's" and others who are evil and bad mannered little sods ... I have learned over time... have patience and wait, there are one or two gentle characters who will come and silently converse with you. I find their expressions and a gentle reaching hand most interesting.

These monkeys are really 'wild animals' and yes, the interaction can be relaxing... Don't scream and appear frightened - these guys know the tourists are easy meat but they don't take teasing well...

I always stop for the local Hot Coffee in the shade - and a cold drink... sure, I too could buy a wind chime and all the other eclectic stuff but enjoy the coffee sitting beside the netting walls - a little furry hand might appear and if you are lucky its mother and child. That makes it all worthwhile.

Coming back down the hill - stop in the car park on the seaward side - that is a grand view of the beach.

The fishermen in the creek - I guess these boys are the true Thailand 'native'... how they fish nightly for hours in such rickety boats - and have done for century's... Not much has changed in twenty years - although I see that some of the boats now have GPS, they still look rickety!

Yes, the Temple could be cleaner - it even could be pristine if someone took responsibility - the monkeys could have manners but really, everybody is scratching out a living.
We need to consider as tourists - as guests in somebody else's country that we often pick up the bad side.

This Temple has been here on the hill for eons - the fishermen here for probably a thousand years and change does not happen instantly.... They have a new concrete bridge over the creek - that is progress..

You need to go. You need to contemplate the past and even ponder on its future. Kkao Takiab has doubled in size in twenty years - so many more hotels and developments - some good some bad - this is Thailand - it all takes time and at every visit celebrate the changes. That makes it worthwhile.... Nothing happens overnight.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“I thought we'd see ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

the odd monkey like we did as we taxied up the hill, & was quite delighted to see so many! I loved being in the thick of it all as we wandered freely around photographing the monkeys', so many cute babies! Don't stare at them though as one of them jumped up me, he was after my rucksack. It was one of the more adventurous ones who was jumping in & out of the pool. I can't believe that they don't clean the place up a bit & charge an entrance fee I certainly wouldn't mind paying. Some of the monkeys looked quite sad. One of them had a piece of glass & I think he could see his reflection in it, another was rubbing a large piece of brick up & down like it was his life's work. There's a market to buy stuff. My husband was advised by the stallholder to sit & eat his ice cream at the stall as the monkeys would steal it. Although one of them got on the roof & tried to dive on him to get it as he sat at the stall, luckily the stallholder spotted the monkey first. The fishing village at the bottom of the hill looked interesting, but we didn't stop. We paid the taxi driver (Mr Min Tieamtad) 800 Baht for this trip to Monkey Mountain, Elephant Village, & the Shopping Centre, a good day all round!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dirty and ruined”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I'm not sure this should even be called an attraction.
It's a shame that this place is not cared for at all 'cos it coud be lovley, but as it stands now it is full of monkey feases which stink and broken stuff.
There are no guides or anything to help you get around or to protect you from the monkeys which seemed aggressive at times.
Neither were there any signs of that religious dresscode should be applied everywere (?) which a religious man screamed at us about as we were walking down.
Neither do I think that the fishermans village is at all directed a tourists, maybe us it more fun in the mornings when the boats come in, but at afternoon when we were there it was just not much to look at except a few restaurants which had their shellfish at display...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldaboro, NC
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the walk up the steps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

At the end of the beach of Hua Hin. You see the giant Buddha statue and the temple on top of the hill and you will be curious to go up. I was the only one in my group that wanted to go up because the others were scared of all the monkeys and the long stairway. It was worth the hike. Didn't see anyplace at top to leave a donation but I bought a couple of wind chimes from a nun at a small outdoor shop. Maybe since I paid 300 baht for the wind chimes I didn't have to make the 40 baht donation. Your not supposed to take photos from the temple but their are some good places to take pictures. Nice scenic view for sure. Monkeys didn't pay much attention to me until I went down the stairs. They all started running down the stairs on both sides of me and I was expecting one to jump on my back but thankfully they didn't bother me. Next time I go to Hua Hin I will go back to the temple and will try to take the group with me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab) also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.