We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and exciting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)

Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)
Hua Hin, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 22 Attractions in Hua Hin
Type: Religious Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Lookouts, Cultural
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing and exciting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Relaxing as it is up in a mountain and temple. Nice scrolling around and walking 100 steps u to the temple. Exciting as there are plenty of monkeys. But monkey here are gently not like those in Bali.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    99
    61
    20
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Monkey mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Monkey mountain as it’s known here, very interesting 100s of roaming monkeys, but a lot of people from the reviews I read, just need to remember some simple rules, animals are free rooming so respect them, it’s there place, you are huge compared to them so no fast moves as there mind is saying "don't step on me, or sit on me". (I train animals professionally) If you remember that it’s fun to see the walking running and interacting. A rare opportunity for families to see so many free roaming monkeys.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice view at the top and the temple down the road is beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The temple was nice and the view on the top was very impressive too. Did not like the monkeys, they were really agressive, jumped to my kids, took theirs water and ice cream. Are they so hungry..???

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“fun & scary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

visited based on hotel recommendation.
was interesting to see, but those monkeys go nuts (!) at the slightest hint of food. they will grab your water, even coke bottle from your hand.
One decided to jump & climb my friend, if it had been me, I'd probably faint :-)
the area is quite dirty & unkept. I guess they gave up long ago fixing what the monkeys break.

many abandonded houses & the funny part is all the houses windows, balconies are caged up. the ac units, the satelite dishes are all under protection from the monkeys.
so the monkeys are free & humans live in cages, if the monkeys threw them nuts, that'll be something !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One wrong turn and we ended up with a great side trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

So we were trying to get to the beach and ended up driving up the hill to this cool little spot. The view of Hua Hin was amazing and there were monkeys everywhere. Be careful, monkeys are not pets. This is a very steep staircase so please watch your step. If you are in Thailand and looking to emmerse yourself in religion, culture and tradition, then this is a cool temple. The bells are not found at all temples so that was an experience we did not have elsewhere on our trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab) also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.