We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Duangkaew Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Duangkaew Resort to your Saves list
Baan Duangkaew Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   83/158, Soi Moobaannongkae, Hua-Hin-Khao-Takiap Rd., Hua Hin, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Hua Hin
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a great little place. No crowds yet a perfect little pool of privacy- it's not about food here, rather, location, people and the place itself. I love this place and I can't wait to go back. I stayed here back in 2002, 04 and 2011.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The photos do not do this little resort justice. Set amongst beautiful gardens are cute little thai bungalows, ours was spotless, and merely steps to the 2 beautiful pools. It is so quiet here. The breakfast was good with both western and Asian options, and it is right next door to the fabulous Cicada market held on Fri/Sat nights. About 150m to the beach. There are a few other restaurants nearby or the main part of town is a short taxi ride away for around 150 baht. Good value and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This resort is outside the town of Hau Hin so is very quiet and tranquil, the beach is two min stroll from resort. The surroundings of the resort are lovely very lush and green lots f trees, there are two pools one kidney shape in the middle and smaller one on the side.
The accomidation itself s wooden chalets very Eco friendly type setting, they have little areas very cosy for reading or just quiet time, during our stay it was the festival of sonkran which is water,they had a lovely area set out with a Buddha and alter where everyone was encouraged to take part and leave they're hopes for the future.
After being in Bangkok his was a lovely relaxing holiday the resort was lovely.

Room Tip: All chalets quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have been going to Hua Hin for many years and always stayed south of town where Baan Duang is located but usually at a property right on the beach. It has 20 bungalows, 2 small pools, a restaurant and is located about 1/2 km. from the beach. In fact, we watched the place being constructed maybe 12-15 years ago but had never stayed. I was in HH to play golf so we gave it a go. The bungalows are very cute and very clean. The included breakfast was average but eggs were cooked to order. My wife stayed at the property while I was at golf and felt the food was below par. We both remember eating there years ago and, at the time, we thought the food was very good.

Everyone on the staff from the front desk to housekeeping was attentive and very nice.

Tip: most of the cottages are around the pool and can be a little noisy during the day and early morning with children playing. We were assigned a cottage in the back (# 219) and were glad for it. If you want it quiet, request a cottage in the back away from the pool.

I guess I would give it an overall very good with improvement expected at the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff... Decent facilities and a good place to stay to relax. It's next to a taxi stand making it easy to get around and is also a couple of steps away from the beach. Cicada market is just next door and there is also a nice roadside bar to pop into.

I saw remarks about the breakfast before coming and it is fairly basic but it does the trick and they seem to be trying to improve it. Nice noodles today :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Weve been to Hua hin a few times and have really looked around hard for value for money and something different to a big hotles. The Baan Duangkaew resort is very sweet, quite, all the small details the staff do are really nice. We recomend 100%. and to save money going into town with taxi get the 15 bh bus right out side, Green open air van looking things jump on and press the bell at your area and pay the driver 15 bht. Its great fun. We keep going back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is without doubt the best place to stay in the Hua Hin/Takiab area, The staff are always incredibly friendly and caring. We always feel like we are at home. When my wife was sick in Hua Hin recently, everyone cared for her like family. The bungalows are excellent. The pools and are gardens idyllic. With only 16 bungalows well spaced out, It's a wonderful place to relax in the peace and quiet. At the price, it's also the best value anywhere in the area. We stay every year and will continue to do so for a very long time.
Thank you all and see you again soon.
Gary and family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Duangkaew Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Duangkaew Resort

Address: 83/158, Soi Moobaannongkae, Hua-Hin-Khao-Takiap Rd., Hua Hin, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Duangkaew Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baan Duangkaew Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Duangkaew Hotel Hua Hin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Duangkaew Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.