We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with a friend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistro Hua hin

Le Bistro Hua hin
214 Phetkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
+66 32 900 143
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 399 Restaurants in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 stars 175 Reviews
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: French restaurant in Hua hin. Discover the authentic taste of traditional french cuisine.2 menus available : Lunch set menu & a la carte - a la carte Dinner.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dinner with a friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Decided to meet with a friend (whilst our wive were away) for a good no calorie counting dinner... We were looking for a good culinary experience unlike the other so call French restaurant "la paillote" restaurant (total disaster there! )
Well at the bistro we were not disappointed let me tell you, yes a bit pricey for Hua hin , but in Thailand if you are going European/ western for most cases you have to pay what you get... I had the foie gras salad, and my guest had the special "tartare of sea bass"... By the time I finish my starter I was really looking forward to my lamb ... And it was perfect... The chef is really trying to make an impression on the Hua hin restaurant stage... And for the size of his operation he has done an exceptional job... Dessert were also exquisite,,, if you decide to visit the bistrot you will be in for a surprise.... My only neutral but not negative comment would be ....why did he call it the Bistrot? In French it refers to a casual drinking/eating place ... This is anything but casual... But well done to the chef " I'll be back"

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    37
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tahiti
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“French must in Thailande!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

With my wife we had dinner there a week ago. During a trip of three weeks in Thailand with an overdose of spicy food, It was a great moment of french cooking by young and very sympathetic chief Romain. Main course, rabbit, was perfect and desert delightful.
We recommend highly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The perfect steak i needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great little French restaurant near the Grand Night market. The steak was cooked perfectly and got my dose of much needed veggies too. Desert was also delightful. Cant wait to go back again

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Back again now with my wife and one friend. We started we a Strawberry Mojito a Gin Tonic and a bottle of San Pellegrino. A Bottle of Le Mayne Red Bordeaux was also on order. My wife once again did choose to eat the Salmon and again perfect cooked for her, crispy on the outside but not dry inside. Todays Special was the Thai French Beef Tenderloin so me and my friend did share that together with the Aussie Tenderloin to compare the taste. The Chef and Owner Romain was at the table taking our order and I'm sure also supervised the cooking. Both plates came in and both looked Beautiful as Always and sure cooked exactly as we did order. Not that Romain need to be there as proved during our last visit when Everything was just perfect even it was his day off. We asked for more vegetables and in came 2 plates at a heafty price of THB 500! We all 3 thought it was a bit too much but did not complain as Everything else was excellent!For dessert my wife and my friend shared a Chocolate Fudge which was todays special, they both did enjoy it. As there was some Red left in the bottle I did choose to take a cheese platter with 3 different cheese, 2 were perfect and one was a bit over riped for my taste. The evening was ended with 2 Irish Coffee for the gentlemen and the Lady was still happy as she was driving!
Again a perfect evening at Le Bistro!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Number one in Hua Hin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Finally a restaurant that attracts a clientele and a Chef that understands the higher pleasures of eating continental food of top quality! Are we in Paris...? No, in Hua Hin!!!

Progress!! We have lived here for soon two years but - apart from the Italian restaurant that everybody with tastebuds know about (...La Grxxxx...) - there has been little choice for a top food experience (..except several very fine restaurants serving Thai food only). Now we know where to go: Le Bistro!

Enough said. Its not inexpensive, but we think it is worth it. In Paris you would probably pay double the price for a similar experience!

We will come back, regularly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro Hua hin also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Le Bistro Hua hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistro Hua hin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.