We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there until they are fully refurbished!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Resort Guti Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AKA Resort Guti Hua Hin to your Saves list
AKA Resort Guti Hua Hin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   152 Moo 7, Baan Nhong Hiang | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 131 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“Don't go there until they are fully refurbished!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I could understand why the hotel was vote"d" one of the best boutique hotels in the South East Asia - the pool is beautiful, the villa is lovely designed and spacious...but that was the history...

The maintenance was horrible - 3 lights in the room didn't work, 1 door know gone, 1 nail on the wooden deck poked me, the bathroom door couldn't locked...Sorry but this hotel is definitely not a "luxury" hotel!!! I wasn't paid to be a mystery shopper to report all these defaults!!

Besides, the breakfast wasn't impressive at all. Stayed there 2 nights but most items were exactly the same...the food on the buffet station was either too cold or dried...the bowls got chipped, the food cover net was broken...sigh...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort Guti Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear RickyWai1973,

Looking into the past comments and reviews the Guti resort has had I would like to first of all thank you for your constructive comments and for your time to do so.

Arrived a few months ago now it thought to reply and kindly highlight to you that since your last visit much has changed and that you might consider giving AKA Guti a second chance.
You would discover the true essence of Guti as for the meaning of its luxury provided.

I am looking forward to welcome you again and prove you that things can be done differently and effectively.

It would be our pleasure to make your experience this time the most enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Cyrille.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

great place!! I really love it. All staffs are friendly and welcoming. The villa is beautiful and clean, the private pool is so cool with great panorama view. Love it!!!!!
Breakfast is also tasty with good quality. Foods also delicious but too salty
All service are good, I suggest to do many activities which resort offer such as bike tour, thai boxing,Yoga,etc.the instructor is kind and friendly also.
Hope to go again,

Room Tip: two bedroom pool villa has a great view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a great time staying in a 2-bedroom pool villa. We love the staff hospitality and overall facilities at the hotel. We enjoy watching the sunset at the main pool as well as chilling out with a bottle of wine at the pool in our villa. But if you expect extreme privacy, you might be a bit disappointed as you can pretty much have conversations your neighbours or gardeners from the pool in your room.

Location-wise, it’s in the middle of nowhere. We’re Thai and we got lost on the way to the hotel as the Google map directed us to a wrong location and there’s a minor error on the hotel map! So do check the direction before getting there.

Overall, it was a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Our rooms were spacious though we wish they added a little touch to enhance the in-room comforts like in other luxury hotels such as flat screen TV, DVD player, ipod dock, etc. WIFI is available throughout the hotel but we had trouble using it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently visited this resort and was impressed with the layout of the resort, set in natural surroundings with fantastic views of the hills, just look out from your villa and admire the Natural scenery!

Well maintained Pool villas, with outdoor Sala & dining area. Other facilities which were impressive, are the 50mt Lap Pool, Brand new Bike,s and Guest activity programme.

Very friendly front & hard working front office staff.

slight improvement in staff training in the dining area, will help. The staff serving the breakfast seemed new and not confident. An Al-carte menu for breakfast would be more in keeping with the resort. Also the management needs to get rid of the occasional stray dogs at this resort.

Having your own car will help, so you can visit the town centre and surrounding areas at your leisure, however the hotel has a complimentary transport services to the town centre and can normally be sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's one of the very good hotel expriences I had. However, if I hadn't got the 50% off deal, I wouldnt go there. It's just not worth the price. First, it's really far from everything and there is not much you can do in the 10km radius unless you want to use the waterpark and golf club, either of which is my thing. So, definitely you need a car there. And the journey in wasn't beautiful (about 10 km from the main road). Secondly, it's not close to the beach and you can't even see it from here. Although the mountain view is beautiful and due to the distance it is secluded and peaceful, I can't see the point why you come to Hua Hin, the beach town, to stay in this hotel. There are so many better places near BKK that you can relax in the wilderness in a good hotel that is half the price. The staff also wasn't well-trained so for the luxury it claims to offer, it is a let down. it also seems to take forever to get any services. Another down side is that you have to go to AKA resort (their non-luxurious wing) to get breakfast which is quite far and the shuttle car takes forever to come. breakfast range was average again! Having said all that, the design of the pool villa is beautiful, really beautiful! You will still love it. Bear in mind all these down points and I think you will still have a memorable time, especially if you just want to go there to relax. There is nothing to do in the area. Also, forget AKA resort, especially if you enjoy luxury and seclusion like me!

Room Tip: Ask for the one in front with no obstructed view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This resort is a new one and I think it's better than AKA Resort. The environment is clean with friendly and helpful staff. The room was spacious and the facilities are well equiped. The resort provides shuttle service to the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Resort Guti Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Resort Guti Hua Hin

Address: 152 Moo 7, Baan Nhong Hiang | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 131 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AKA Resort Guti Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA Resort Guti is an exclusive monastery styled retreat located in the historic seaside resort of Hua Hin, one of Thailand's oldest and most traditional resorts for both Thais and overseas visitors. Hua Hin, a sanctuary frequented by the Thai Royal Family and nobility is home to the summer palace of King Rama VII, built by the King of Thailand as a hideaway naming it Klai Kang Won, meaning Far From Worries. Today, this is home for His Majesty. Hua Hin is rich in cultural heritage and is within easy reach of Bangkok.Designed by the Architect of other luxury five star internationally acclaimed spa resorts, AKA Resort Guti offers elegant villas with emphasis on utmost privacy and attention to detail.A member of The Small Luxury Hotels of the World and voted top ten boutique resorts in South East Asia, AKA Resort Guti nestles reclusively against a hillside just 15 minutes from Hua Hin's charming town centre. Its design is tropical elegance, blending traditional Thai and monastery styled architecture. Sheltered by mountains with panoramic view of Hua Hin's countryside, monastic tranquility pervade AKA Resort Guti resulting in a unique ambiance; the ultimate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your AKA Resort Guti Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Resort Guti Hua Hin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.