We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot for a relaxed family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hua Hin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Hua Hin to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Hua Hin - Khao Takiap Road | Prachuap Khiri Khan, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Free Night After Three
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Hua Hin
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for a relaxed family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed here for a short 4-day trip with our family with young kids and my parents. Although I would not return to Hua Hin (Thailand has nicer areas), this hotel was an excellent choice for us. A short ride from Hua Hin 'centre' but we knew that in advance. No problems getting taxis.
We had interconnecting rooms, with 2 adults and 1 kid in each room. Comfortable, practical and spacious rooms, nice bathrooms. We were at ground floor; if curtains are open, everybody can look straight into your room...
Due to the well-kept tropical gardens with palm trees and flowers, fountains, fish pond (kids can feed the fish at certain times), small paths, and the ocean view you get this absolute relaxed 'resorty' feeling.
The swimming pools are excellent, especially the artificial beach pool, where little ones can play for hours. You can easily access the beach. After reading several reviews, we did not expect much of the beach, but (of course) it wasn't so bad. When it is high tide, there is hardly any beach, but it is fun to make a long beach walk, look for crabs and shells etc.
Overall, staff were very nice and attentive. Friendly and making jokes with kids. We booked a private sightseeing tour (Hua Hin and Summer Palace) with the tour organisation in the hotel. Not cheap, but it was a nice trip. The guide was very friendly and knew a lot about the area, history, customs, etc.
Restaurants had good-quality and varied food. We did the beach BBQ thing one evening, and it was excellent. Dance / show a bit touristy of course, but kids loved it.
Yep, very nice place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    178
    65
    13
    14
See reviews for
272
312
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The pool is simply fantastic. That's why it is a great place to relax. However, if you love beautiful beaches, go straight to Phuket and don't bother with Hua Hin. Incomparable.

The hotel provides great service, delicious food (especially at Ahaan Thai) however restaurants are overpriced for Thailand.

Make sure you check out the Barai Spa - it is stunning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Fantastic hotel in a quiet area about 30 minutes walk from the city center. The hotel consists of several three storey buildings containing rooms. In the hotel there are bars and restaurant. Super swimming pool with water slide.
Rooms large, clean and with a large terrace. Service very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good with a wide choice of dishes.
I recommend especially for families with children.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We visited Hua Hin in a Group of 6 adults and 2 kids one aged 2 and the other 3. It was during the Easter break in April and would recommend this Hotel to both families with kids and couples alike (albeit it is a family oriented hotel so expect to hear have kids around all the time everywhere!). Stayed for 6 nights and would easily have stayed for another 6!!!!

The best part of the this hotel is that even after being a fully family-oriented hotel, the Spa makes it ideal for couples - so best of both worlds.

1. Kids Pool and Artificial Beach – This is probably the best thing in the entire hotel (second only to the Spa! as is everything else) - the kids pool and this artificial kids beach is a few steps from the real beach! So for young kids (upto 3-4 yrs) its ideal as you don’t risk letting your kids out of your sight and still the kids have a ball while you sit around and sip chilled cocktails!

2. Location – right on the beach with what looked like a private beach, very clean and well maintained with not many hawkers. Although looked like anyone had access but given that the hotel is in a nice location the beach was always empty.

3. Travel time for BGK – its about 3 hrs but a comfortable ride, we knew someone in BGK who arranged but I am sure the hotel can arrange it.

4. Layout - The hotel layout is very resort feel – long landscaped gardens, artificial ponds outdoor areas are just beautiful

5. Pool (goes all around the very large hotel – so is huge) accompanies with a Huge Slide (not suitable for kids below 6/7 yrs) but brilliant fun all the same. As the pool goes all around the hotel

6. Food – is spectacular, especially the local food and the standard holiday fare (fish n chips, burgers etc.) at the pool side café and the McFarland lounge and cheap as hell. However, the fancy Thai food restaurant is just OK we had the Thu night full sea food buffet but were left unsatisfied, the Thai food we had on the stretch of restaurants built on wooden logs the water on another beach (about 20 mins away) was exceptional. Not sure what areas that was it but it was much more lively (with alternative entertainment – not very suited to families, but worth an evening visit for food).

7. Rooms / Accommodation - Nice large and practical rooms (don't expect exceptional / plush rooms) they are standard resort rooms but pretty good size and a huge bathroom with 3 areas and a big tub in every room. All the rooms are the same layout (including the Regency Wing), however the ground floor rooms are larger as the balcony area (on the 1st and 2nd floor rooms) is included in the covered area. We much preferred the outdoor balcony with a bit of a view and some fresh air and a bit more privacy. I think all rooms open to the beach or the pool so don’t worry abut getting a room with a ‘courtyard room’.

8. Upgrade to Regency Wing - Did not stay there but it looked much quieter and then you get some freebies and a separate pool area (although the access is not restricted, I think as we did not use it – it’s a long walk away from main block.

9. Activities - The Hotel had some activity / event on everyday – the kids loved the Easter egg hunt. There are also local operators offering water sports and horse rides etc. on the beach.

10. Breakfast – standard huge breakfast layout as expected in any big asian hotel – but we stayed in the room and ordered breakfast through room service (about 600 thb) in which was exceptionally good and much better that queuing up at the buffet! If you get a good rate without breakfast take it!

Downsides
1. The one thing I hated the fact that the drapes in the room were white and let the sun shine through at the first strike of dawn – did not mind it as we were travelling with kids so were up anyways – otherwise we would have been furious!
2. Pool shuts at 6.30 pm, which is really a downer if one wants to stay a bit longer, they literally just shut it – take all the sun-beds away, there is no service after 6.30 so no lounging around the pool after that time.
3. 3 out of the 4 restaurants are shut for lunch! ad none of the restaurants have air-conditioning! Although having said that the pool café (which I ate at 4 out of 6 days) was amazing.
4. The hotel is very big and spread out over a few square kilometres so if you don’t want long walks try and request a room not too far away from the main hotel lobby area.

Must Do’s whilst in Hua Hin

1. The Barai Spa at the Hyatt Hua Hin is the best Spa I have ever seen (and to provide context, I have been to Spas including Amrita Spa (run by the Raffles Hotels) but this one outshines any Spa in the world – hands down no questions. Entering the spa it is like entering a different world, the design is UNREAL, never seen anything like it! I only went on the last day but if I had gone on the first day I would have been there everyday for at least a few hours – planning the next trip already to just stay in the Spa. They also have Spa suites (although pricy, but if can splurge this is the thing to splurge on), The Spa is built in a completely separate area of the hotel, so is very tranquil and away from the crowds and people – if you want to Spa this is the place to be! The Spa’s wet areas and changing rooms feel like you have been transported to an opulent Thai Palace which is both steeped in tradition and modern at the same time. I can probably write about 2 pages on the Spa, but I wont as I don’t want to ruin the experience for you!

2. There is a resteraunt right outside the hotel which has a cultural show and dinner – a spectacular live show with Thai dancers and live music! All for like THB900 (3 course meal served alongside!!!!!), never seen a better live performance (also saw the thai song and dance show at the hotel and in a word there was no comparison to SASI). Wherever you may stay in Hua Hin this one is NOT TO BE MISSED AT ALL. Was fine to go with kids (although they did not have enough baby chairs!). equally good for a nice romantic evening with a lot of song, dance and lights and not to miss the great food.

3. Local Food / Local Handicraft Fair / Carnival – In the same complex where the Sasi theatre is located – it is like a carnival with live food counters (mostly local) and small shops selling local handicrafts – a must go

4. Hua Hin Night Market – a little over-rated but worth a visit anyways! Good food and bit of shopping never hurts!

5. Elephant Show – Great but it is very hot in the morning so choose a later afternoon show.

6. Village Market Mall – Air-conditioned with a wide variety of food and shops selling everything under the sun. Great for shopping local stuff in the comfort of an air-conditioned environment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Picture yourself in the middle of beautiful tropical gardens and let yourself slide into a pool that seems like a river that taking you towards the sea. When you finally see the sea, look to the right and you'll find much further a huge statue of the Buddha. It's like a dream. The service is smooth and very professional. The tea offered to you at the lobby is divine.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Fantastic from start to finish, set in acres of beautiful well kept gardens with an excellent pool. The rooms were very good and extremely clean, the staff could not do enough for you. Breakfast had every food you could ever want. A wide range of nationalities stayed here which means you are not over run by one country. Make sure you take a trip to monkey mountain. Would I stay at this hotel again yes without a doubt. I have never felt so chilled out in all my life the Barai spa is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The Hyatt in Hua Hin was truly a nice surprise living up to its five stars. The surroundings are even better than on the pictures. The whole laguna swimmingpool and the river and the slide - our children (10 and 14) and we just loved the place. The swimmingpool is nicely placed up to the beach giving you an outstanding view every day. The rooms are spacious and nice. The service at the pools and the restaurants is really very attentative and friendly. So many smiles and kind words, we experience this not in Europe. Our youngest son got sick during our stay, the staff was efficient and helped out. Asked frequently and sent fruits and notes encouring him to get better. The breakfast is a chapter for itself. We have stayed at many great hotels, but this was really outstanding in taste, quality and choices. You don't have to eat again before evening. Hua Hin center is close by and it is great to be a little bit off road compared to the hotels in the center. The Barai is a luxurious Spa, which is a must, when you visit the Hyatt. Just the building itself takes your breath away. We will definitely come back and stay longer. The only downside were noisy guests, but there are several quiet areas, one can seek to. However, with children, you're forced to stay nearby the pool.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hua Hin

Address: 91 Hua Hin - Khao Takiap Road | Prachuap Khiri Khan, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin is a premier beachfront resort ideal for families, honeymooners and couples who are looking for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The hotel enjoys a 250 meter stretch of prime white sand beach, plus lush tropical gardens and swimming pools. THE BARAI, the hotel's brand-new residential suite and luxury spa destination, is a sanctuary for beauty, pampering and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Hua Hin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hua Hin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.