We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   43 / 1 Phetkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase 20% off!
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 stars 847 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The Anantara Hua Hin is a very pleasant place with all the facilities you would expect of a 5 star resort hotel. We stayed at Anantara for two nights, accompanied by adult family members, and everyone enjoyed the experience. The pool and gardens are great, and there are plenty of options when it comes to restaurants and bar facilities. The food and service were excellent. However, the resort was let down a little by a the cleanliness of our rooms - there was grit on the floor indicating they had not been properly cleaned. The rooms themselves, although adequate, are quite small and I suspect would not suit a long stay. The other thing that bugged us was that some of the pathways between buildings seemed always to have muddy water on them despite there being only a quick shower of rain on one evening during our stay. Overall though the Anantara Hua Hin was a nice place to relax and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    262
    67
    32
    8
See reviews for
185
395
24
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Resort is beautiful, beach is small and dirty, rubbish washed ashore not collected quickly: Rooms are nice, connecting doors between rooms are outside on the balcony; no activities for kids, only three kajaks on the beach, no banana boat, no jetski, no slide on very beautifull pool.
Pool bar prices extremely expensive, internet charges 214 Baht per hour
More a resort for the older generation with no kids who enjoy a quiet resort.
Matrasses in rooms (520,521) are sagging

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Beautiful hotel and grounds, the sea view room we stayed in was also nice but not very authentic i.e. no different from a room you would get in any western hotel. The restaurants and room service in the hotel were all very good, if a little expensive compared to eating in town (strongly recommend the Moon Smile & Platoo for quality and value for money). The sunbathing area by the beach and pool are okay if a little crowded, however the beach is not great and the tide goes quite a way out. Getting to town is done easily enough by taxi/took took or green bus (07:00 - 19:00 I think), the latter being the cheaper option both take around 5-10 minutes depending on traffic. Overall was my first holiday in Thailand and I really enjoyed it partly due to this hotel, if someone else was going there would I recommend it... yes, would I go back again... no probably not (but then I prefer never to visit the same place twice).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Just got back from Thailand where we stayed at the Anantara Hotel just outside Hua Hin.I have to agree with the other reviews that this hotel is very well laid out with separate areas and pools.However,I found the restaurants a bit too expensive for our budget,which was a pity because they looked great and the menus were pretty good too.We decided to check out the restaurants in town which were better priced and seemed very popular with a lot of the guests we met at the hotel who agreed that even with the "Meal Deal" it was too expensive.The Hotel is very beautiful and a great place to unwind but just too expensive for the range of facilities(spa,massages,drinks,food)that is on offer.It would have been a better stay if there had been an All-Inclusive package available where you would not have to worry about costs and could really enjoy the hotel to the fullest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This is hotel that I may warmly recommend to anyone who wants to escape from everyday bussiness troubles and to make deep dive in leisure and relaxation. Romantic architecture and interior design, with amaising garden. Garden is so well maintained and it looks like cultivated jungle. Sweaming pool is made in such way that it can spoil even "Spartans": restaurant bar inside pool, water massage jets, shellow places for simply cooling and relaxing in water, surrounded with palm treas and frangipany flower trees.
Hotel is situated on nice HuaHin beach. You can either enjoy in sea view laying on sun beds under palm trees, drinking coctails in sweaming pook bar, relax under water jet massage or taking real royal thai massage in hotel. Only objection is that internet in room is awailable if you pay additional 20$ per day. This is too much, but you can have in all hotel public areas wi-fi internet access for free. Hotel is very well designed and managed - taking care even in small details to make stayng to their guests pleasent. Thus staying wit Ananatara Hua Hin will remain to me as great experience for long time after this visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Wonderful hotel in typical Thai style. We stayed in a superior lagoon room which was excellent. The hotel cleanliness was immaculate and the staff very polite and helpful. The pools are great, especially the Lagoon pool which is a little hidden gem. The only real downsides to the resort are the sea which is not particularly clear and not too good for swimming and also the price of the on site restaurants, which whilst excellent are close to European pricing. Having said that a short bus or taxi ride to the town brings all the typical cheap and excellent restaurants within touch.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and would visit again if in the area. This is the first Anantara I have stayed and and was suitably impressed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed here for 10 days for our honeymoon - have always loved Thailand and have travelled around the country extensively (albeit on a different kind of trip) but have never been to Hua Hin before. The taxi down from Bangkok took less than 2 hours. The hotel is a few miles out of town but the shuttle bus is a reasonable price and tuk tuk or taxi back from town is only about £4 if you want to stay out later than 9pm. There's a good night market and Thai massage is much cheaper than the hotel ie. £5 instead of £50.

OK onto the hotel... the reception area is beautiful and you are given cold towels and a drink on arrival - Very refreshing after a whole day of travelling! Shown to our lagoon room and it is very comfortable and unique looking (we had a lagoon room) - you dont get the feeling of it being a big hotel at all. The bathroom is great - with a big terrazzo bath in the middle with sliding shutters around it if you do want some privacy. The outdoor terrace is small but pretty featuring a daybed and a view onto a quiet lagoon filled with lotus flowers and fish. Room attendants, turn down service and room service all fantastic (if anything we were over pampered!).

Having a lagoon pool meant we had use of the more private pool at the back of the hotel (behind the spa and furtherest from the beach) but it was stunning. There was hardly anyone else to share the pool with so it felt like it was all ours most of the time. There is a bar up there too for towels, drinks and lunch. It was very serence and the pool was kind of an infinity pool style over another loutus filled lagoon. Waterfalls and pumps drown out any road noise (road is quite far away still due to the long drive way to the hotel from the main road). Pool also has submerges seats with jacuzzi pumps on either side of the steps. There is a main pool also for the rest of the hotel featuring a swim up bar.

Breakfast buffet is very extensive but on busy mornings (ie if they have a conference or on a saturday when the hotel seems to have a lot os weekenders down from Bangkok) it can be difficult to get staff's attention for tea and coffee - other than that the service throughout the hotel is outstanding and it quite often felt like there was a member of staff for each guest!

The Italian restaurant on site is AMAZING - Better than the food we actually had in Venice, Italy! The Thai restaurant by the main pool is nice also but expensive. The beach bar and grill do fantastic bento boxes at lunch filled with meat kebabs and peanut dipping sauce. And in the evening the beach restaurant does fantastic tuna steaks and chicken cooked fresh on the bbq, and you can load up on salads, rice, potatoes, veges etc as you like. Food throughout the hotel is outstanding but expensive for Thailand - we varied it up between eating at the hotel and in Hua Hin where you can get mouth watering noodles and mango sticky rice plus a beer (Chang or Singha) for a few quid.

Spa is wonderful, we had a couples massage on the first day and a thai massage each towards the end of our stay - both fantastic and one of the best thai massages ive ever had. You can fill in the form at the start if you want to focus on certain areas and specify how forceful you want it. There is a private area for changing in each suite and loose clothing is provided.

We booked a Kuoni trip to the floating markets which we feel was very overpriced for what you got. As we have been all over Thailand I recommend you hire a taxi to take you to the sights and go at your own pace. The tour mainly took us to various shopping stops for tourists, which was not what we were after. Having said that we did stop off at a gem of a temple - an underground cave temple - truly spectacular! Please cover your shoulders though as so many people just strutted about in vests and short shorts in front of the nuns and monks.

The beach at the hotel is technically public but its kind of the hotel's own patch so it is very private and hardly anyone there. We werent really there for sunbathing season (stayed august-sept) but the tide was out quite a lot and there were a lot of jelly fish due to the seasonal rains. Had a few pleasant walks in the shallows and crab spotting along the shore - there millions of tiny crabs scuttling about and big ones in the more powdery sand!

Overall we had such an amazing time and this hotel is pure luxury - more cold towels than you can shake a stick at!! Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa

Address: 43 / 1 Phetkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 187-room Anantara Resort Hua Hin is a distinctive Thai village-style property located on the sunrise coast of the Gulf of Thailand, around 220 kms south of Bangkok. Hidden amidst 14 acres of luxuriantly landscaped gardens and lagoon pools, the picturesque resort enjoys a beachfront location at the quiet end of Hua Hin's long sandy beach for only 5 kms. from Hua Hin town centre. A three-meters high terracotta wall cleverly cocoons the resort from the hustle and bustle of town. As you make your way along the landscaped driveway, a sense of calm descends. The sense of arrival is heightened as you admire a decorative wall adorned with a parade of elephants. A cool breeze drifting in from the beach floats through the open-air Lobby with the strains of a melodic Thai tune lingering. Polished timber floors and Thai-style salas (pavilions) heighten the ambience of an intimate tropical hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Resort And Spa Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Anantara Resort Hua Hin
Anantara Hua Hin
Anantara Hotel Hua Hin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.