We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional Smooth Operator...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiva-Som

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chiva-Som to your Saves list
Chiva-Som
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   73 / 4 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Professional Smooth Operator...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Their renowned spa cuisine is delectable, original and delicious with nice surprises such as Black Glutinous Croissants which I have never seen before. Staff impressed me with their standard of English and service skills. Spa personnel are consistent with standard and are professional to my liking. Trainers have good interaction with clients and are very encouraging especially for beginners like myself. The closeness of the sea to the restaurant "Tastes of Siam" is especially appealing to me and I love the proximity. The sound of waves is calming if you need quietness and inner healing. The staff are trained to be sensitive and makes the bill worth footing. Will definitely like to return on an annual basis. By the end of the stay, I actually got used to going around the estate without my mobile which is pretty much a miracle...

Room Tip: I love the garden pavilion rooms but the one I was located in (Room 111) was bordering a different e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
33
30
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Amazing couldn't fault anything about this experience. The staff were very attentive and no request was a problem. The food was the best I've eaten and so fresh and healthy. The massages were to die for. A wonderful retreat for girls to get together and pamper themselves.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Totally relaxing, fabulous place & deliciously healthy food which make you look & feel ten years younger at the end of your holiday, pure heaven !!!!
I would recommend it to anybody needing an uplift & a new lease of life.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have now been to Chiva Som 6 times.It is exclusive and expensive,but l do not believe there is anywhere else in the world that matches its blend of holistic treatments,wide range of guest fitness and Wellbeing programmes that run all day,the sensational healthy food.On top of this you have a wide range of world class,guest consultants and the friendliest and efficient employees l have ever met,they all seem to be part of a family.This is an oasis of calm and you leave relaxed,lighter and with significantly lower blood pressure.As l said this is not cheap,but l am not sure it is appropriate to put a price on this kind of experience.It is not an hotel in the true sense of the word,but a private health Spa.If you want the experience of your life-just go.No children or mobile phones!

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent,but it is better to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Having heard so many great reviews from friends I wanted to try a few days at Chiva Som to relax and detox. Overall I think it's a great place, but you do pay for the experience.

Upon arriving you have a consultation where you plan your sessions/treatments for the duration of the stay. The best thing about Chiva Som is the variety of things you can do in one place without ever leaving the resort. It's like a wellness buffet! On my first full day I did gym training, super stretch, fitness analysis, skin analysis, meditation, swimming, walking on beach and massage. There really is every kind of spa treatment and fitness option here possible.

The food was fantastic, very healthy and with 2 restaurants (Thai and Western) there was plenty of variety. You could see the calorific content of everything which was useful. Many products used were organic and it really gets you into healthy eating.

The service was good but not great. The only downside is the price. It's definitely a great place but you do pay a premium for the experience.

Overall well worth a trip if you can afford it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the 5 night option (shortest) and it was ideal for us. We had fabulous help organising our transfer from Bangkok, and both trips worked without a hitch. The property is wonderful, and with a clear emphasis on privacy, healthy living and weight loss. However don't go with pre conceptions, you can eat and drink as much as you want! There is a full on physical assessment and discussions about goals etc. and focus on a programme to achieve these, or at least move towards them. Like most things you get out what you put in. I particularly enjoyed the massages and my personal favourite was the Chiva Som signature massage. I got to enjoy new experiences (massages of different types; stretching classes etc.) and came away with clear ideas as to things I can do to improve my personal well being.
They don't let you use mobiles or other electronic devices, driven by privacy considerations and not wanting people snapping away a guests. This is commendable but, in the modern world, being told off for using your kindle or iPod is a fine line. Make sure you take a proper book!
There are two restaurant options - International and Thai. Not surprisingly we found the Thai option way superior. Servings are, in keeping with the health kick thing, modest but sufficient and they'll happily give you more.
It is worth mentioning that the staff, from the person who registered us, to the fitness trainers, waiting staff etc. were absolutely wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were proactively looking to help and add to your enjoyment.

Room Tip: If you can get a room that has a view over the pool and is close to the spa reception. This should b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had spent a few weeks researching a health resort to go to to de-stress and improve my health. Basically I wanted to find the best place, anywhere in the world. Chiva Som came up in the 'top 5' time and again in various travel site reviews. And finally, some friends of friends recommended it as they had been going there every year for some time.

So my explanations of what it would be like were extremely high. I was expecting it to be the best of the best.

What I found was that it exceeded my expectations in every way.

But before I go on, first let me point out that this is not a hotel or a holiday resort. It's a health spa, specifically for people who want to go to a health spa for the specific reasons relating to their health. You can't judge such a place in relation to a normal hotel, it is a completely different category.

The Chiva Som resort is side by side with other beachside hotels in Hua Hin, but you would never know it. The layout of the buildings and the high stone walls make you feel completely separate from the outside world, and there is no noise other than the soft sound of the waves on the beach.

From the moment I arrived it was clear I was in the hands of exceptionally well trained staff. I was greeted by a pleasant young lady who showed me the grounds and facilities on the way to my room.

Everything in the resort is maintained to the highest standard, and all the facilities and equipment are first rate. The general staff are very friendly and helpful, and the health care staff impress as being expert in their field. So too do the trainers seem to be picked from amongst the best in the world.

Even though there were 60 other guests there at the same time I was, I would rarely see more that 3-4 other people, except at meal times.

The food was fantastic, super fresh, of the highest quality and expertly prepared.

At the start of the visit there is a consultation where they determine what you want to achieve from the stay. Based on that, the adviser works out a schedule to meed those objectives. In this also were my expectations exceeded. I left the resort after 10 days feeling relaxed, healthier, lost 5kg and reduced my blood pressure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chiva-Som? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiva-Som

Address: 73 / 4 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chiva-Som 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chiva-Som reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiva-Som Hotel Hua Hin
Chiva Som Luxury Health Hotel
Chiva Som Luxury Health Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiva-Som, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.