We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb rejuvenating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiva-Som

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chiva-Som to your Saves list
Chiva-Som
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   73 / 4 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb rejuvenating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Fantastic property, rejuvenating for the body and mind. The food is great, ambience superb. They have some great program's during the day, it is like heaven on earth. A must visit if you really want to try some of the best things the world has to offer. The staff are great and very friendly. I just love the place and all the people I have recommended love it too. A great spa, the place is by the sea. It has all positives in it.

Room Tip: If you are willing to splurge a little more stay in the Thai pavilion rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    13
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
31
30
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went there from May 12 - May 16 2013 to celebrate my husband's birthday. My husband had a nice time but I did not and will never return again. This was supposed to be a relaxing holiday but it was not. I did not like the fact that you have to choose from a package. There is an ala carte pkge but they do not advertise this and you do not get as much value for your money if you choose this option.

Everything operated like an assembly line. When you get a massage, they give you no time to relax afterwards because the next person is waiting. And, if you have two treatments scheduled right after each other i.e. a Thai hand massage and a full body massage, you have to change room for each treatment.

Attention to detail is lacking for a 5 star resort. When I met with my "advisor", I emphasized that I wanted a lymphatic massage that focused on my sinuses b/c I felt congested. Instead, she booked me for a full body lymphatic massage where the therapist promptly told me she could not do my face b/c it was not included.

I had a body composition and the genetleman doing it entered my height in incorrectly so it skewed all of the results. I have written to them to ask them correct this.

The only positives - the environment is relaxing, rooms are nothing to write home about though, food is excellent and they give you the calorie content of everything you eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a truly great spa - having being dragged by my wife to a number of spas around the place this was something different. While all the spa Treatments are really top notch the other activities certainly allow you to get out and do some exercise or not as the case may be. The gym and other activites with the trainers allow you to do more than just lie around and this adds to the whole experience of getting away

Room Tip: While the Pavilions are more expensive the Hotel rooms are better as they are closer to all the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for one week over Christmas and found it a relaxing experience. The food was superb and perfect for dieting without feeling hungry. The location is in a very busy beach area so no reason to leave the resort as the surroundings are tacky. The cheapest room was quite small and sold as an inclusive package, still prohibitively expensive. The treatments varied from excellent to mediocre, and the concept of this holistic type of resort has been copied all over the world. That is why the price here cannot be justified. It's not super luxurious or very exclusive in feeling and there are many good destination spas worldwide. The staff were friendly but very spoilt, everyone expected tips. Service and tax were included in our charges but we were told that tips were expected. This spa is fine for specific medical purposes and if money is no object. At half the price, I would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

An exceptional resort whose unique combination of healthy eating, balanced exercise and body pampering is guaranteed to make you feel mentally and physically loads lighter. Thais have a wonderful ability to make you feel that they really care. No wonder guests come here again and again for a regular session of body re-regulation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a resort - You have to visit to believe. it is pure air as if full of oxygen and beauty > We fell in love with this place - The trees, the water fall, the Thai Style Villas and the way the whole resort has come up. As soon as we arrived, we were offered cool tender coconut water. We came by road and the roads are very good.

Chiva-Som is a luxury health retreat located in the beachfront city of Hua Hin. It is spread across 7 acres of beach front and is just 185 km south of Bangkok.

They have the best activities all through out the day till late hours and one can chooseout of these right from 7AM to 8PM.These include yoga to pilate to aqua aerobics --- You name it it is there !
All meals are included and they are made from vegetables grown with in the resort and all are organic stuff - B esides the food is very tasty and the sorbet (which we ate after every meal) from out of sweet dishes too good. Fruits are organic and very tasty.
Stsff is very courtious and helpful. Massages are included one per day for one hour and are very good.
Now a days, in a world of high pollution it is a tranquil heaven.

Room Tip: Thai Villas are lovely and spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Where do I start. WOW. Worth the trip from Bangkok. A 10 day break from the reality of a busy life, to be treated as royalty. So spoilt, upgraded to a suite, with private butler service. Very easy to get used to. Quality programs all about learning the art of true relaxation. Freshest of wholesome foods, great programs and the best example of hospitality service we have experienced in years. Congratulations to Chiva-Som.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chiva-Som? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiva-Som

Address: 73 / 4 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chiva-Som 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Chiva-Som reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiva-Som Hotel Hua Hin
Chiva Som Luxury Health Hotel
Chiva Som Luxury Health Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiva-Som, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.