We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average and out of the way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hin Lek Fai Restaurant

Hin Lek Fai Restaurant
238 Moo 1 Soi Wat NiKho Tharam | Hin Lek Fai Subdistrict, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
08 9918 1827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 410 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, International, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The correct dining options are: Reservations and Romance. Our Motto since 1999 - More than just an eating place! Just 7km west from the Hua Hin City. Enjoy a romantic dinner in a beautiful environment. Our restaurant (former Pasta Factory) is recommended in many travel books, magazines and telecasts. Note: Closed on Tuesday.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Only average and out of the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Based on other TripAdvisor reviews, my wife and I tried this spot last week while in Hua Hin. I must say that restaurants in Thailand that try to accommodate many tastes, generally prove to be average at best. The owner, although friendly, is a bit too schmoozy (sic) for me. Even though we informed him that all guests (2 friends were with us also) visited Thailand many times and wanted Thai original, the food was bland. The place was not busy at all and did not have any Thai locals there (bad sign). Service actually approached weak to bad. We had to ask for service spoons and many other items that an owner/waiter/host/do it all person, should have been more attentive too. Any restaurant that tries to serve food to all Nations should at least limit the dishes to ones that they can execute successfully. Overall, the money and time spent at Hin Lek Fai were not worth the out of the way location.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Critical1. This review has been looming on the reservation of the table: The Thai lady was complaining in advance to my wife about the long way to go! I absolutely don’t understand how you can complain in advance, visit us and complain about that again in this review!? The fact that the Thai lady wanted to eat real Isaan food, fits into the picture. She also wanted to eat very spicy, the other couple just a bit spicy. Have I made suggestions for dinner, she stopped me several times with “No, No”. Apparently she knew better what your friend wanted to eat. These have revealed me that you’re being together was more of a coincidence, because they lodged in the same hotel and also reserved this evening with us. We are not an Issan restaurant but offer a finely tuned meal - offering under the motto “A Taste of Asia & Italy" for more than 14 years. It has proven. For tourists and foreign residents who visit us very numerous (You can see it in the many relevant reviews). Also, we often have the "Hi-So" from Hua Hin and on long weekends from Bangkok in our restaurant who appreciates our offer much. That we are not a restaurant for the average Thai should be obvious every connoisseur of Thailand: The average income is about 5% of income in Central Europe. Furthermore, does not like the Average Thai this kind of food. Phad Krapaow Moo, water, food at the market or on the roadside - all for 30 baht. And of course seating in plastic chairs instead our stylish chairs made from the Mango wood! The fact that three courts no service spoons were in the process is correct. Everyone who works makes mistakes, sorry about that. Other things, however, have not been lacking. At the moment my wife and I have a cold. Our nose is clogged; we have fever and sneezing sometimes. Nevertheless, we still work hard to satisfy our guests. That it is worth showed me the other couple: They came at parting spontaneously up to me, shook my hand and said that everything was wonderful. Thanks for the review. hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    45
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"a sua volta fantastico"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visit Hin Lek Fai Restaurant two-three times a month. Because we like the nice atmosphere
and we get always excellent food, a good service, you find several excellent wines. The owner are
always very friendly and helpful. Even you need information outside the Restaurant, for instance
about a trip or nice places we should visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Hans-Rudolf H. Molte grazie ai nostri clienti abituali. It is great to hear that so after so many visits the food was always very good. You also like the special atmosphere and there isn’t any complain about the service. That’s great. Our wine list is small but nice and wine connoisseurs will find the right wine in the appropriate price range. We will continue to work to maintain the level and to be friendly and helpful to our guests. Thank you again for this great review. hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua hin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

3rd visit yesterday in this reataurant during this week. I never go back restaurant if not satisfied...so,1st visit last sunday was quite late (allmost closing time) , owner was tired but ok we had very warm wellcoming and the food just great! 2nd at lunchtime day after (empty place) we had the best service from staff you never can expected, and again the food ( duck, seafood risotto, crab) super good. 3rd time yesterday night ...fantastic experience again. Ok, sometimes the service is little slow but in this case its only positiv thing, you can enjoy the athmosphere in this nice decorate restaurant. Dont miss it, take taxi, just 2-300 b, and you are in small paradise.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Jan L. 3 visit in a week and you sent us an excellent – “fantastico”. After a 14 hour working day we are late in the evening a bit tired - Thanks for the understanding. Since we're not a fast food restaurant and we only work with minimal staff, there really is sometimes waits. Thank you that our guests are not in a hurry and understand. Thanks you for you taking your time to write this fantastic review. hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very athmospheric place with an excellent host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Yesterday I visited Hin Lek Fai for the first time & we really enjoyed it. The owner is an excellent host and will do everything to make you feel warm & welcomed. Food is very good and the prices are more than fair.

It is one of those places where you walk out and want to recommend it to your friends immediately.

Thank you!
David & Duan

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear davidbgh. Dear davidbgh. Just been here and you have already rated us. Great, that you also were one of the many satisfied guests. And you want to share you experience immediately. There isn’t to say more – just thank you very much for a quick and excellent review. hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
1 review
“An absolute gem of a restaurant, friendly, family run with excellent food and a very special ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We ate there last night, it was our second visit, the week before my wife and I went without the kids and had a excellent meal. The owner, Hannes makes you feel very welcome and the decor makes for a very special ambiance. Last night we decide to go again, but this time with the kids and they to loved it. I highly recommend you try this restaurant, which is only a 15 minute drive at most from the center of Hua Hin.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear JMacG333. With or without children - you have enjoyed the food and you felt comfortable in the special ambient. We are very pleased also that the service was good. If the kids are happy, it is good for the whole family. Thank you to take the time to write us a great review like that. hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hin Lek Fai Restaurant also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hin Lek Fai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.