We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hin Lek Fai Restaurant

Hin Lek Fai Restaurant
238 Moo 1 Soi Wat NiKho Tharam | Hin Lek Fai Subdistrict, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
08 9918 1827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 409 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, International, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The correct dining options are: Reservations and Romance. Our Motto since 1999 - More than just an eating place! Just 7km west from the Hua Hin City. Enjoy a romantic dinner in a beautiful environment. Our restaurant (former Pasta Factory) is recommended in many travel books, magazines and telecasts. Note: Closed on Tuesday.
Aarhus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Enjoy tasty,nice and freshly prepared italian or thai food in "private-like" surroundings.
Outstanding service only 10 min by taxi from center of Hua Hin.
We went to the restaurant 3 times durring our last stay in Hua Hin.
If you have time...make a reservation and enjoy your dinner !!!!!
We will be back for sure

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Morten8520. Small but nice - I think it is really like that. That you have made ​​3 times the way to our place says it all. For that I thank you and look forward to a possible reunion. Even the mention of the reservation, I think it is important, because we want to turn anyone away. Thank you for the rating. hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    45
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful home cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a wonderful dinner experience. The European food is as great as the Thai food. It is a beautiful little restaurant, run by a wonderful couple who cook and serve everything on their expansive menu.

It takes a bit of a taxi/car ride to get there so make sure you make reservations. They want to take good care of their customers and they prefer not to overpack the restaurant if possible. The host takes great pride in him being a Hua Hin resident and speaks with pride with the restaurant. The open air atmosphere just adds to the ambiance.

All of our appetisers were delicious and the main courses were very lovingly made. We had a mixture of Thai and European dishes. The ingredients were fresh and well put together. I had a seafood pasta which was generously sized and very good. My kids had pizza, my husband had stir fried chicken, and parents salad. It was a great variety for all of us.

They also had a decent wine list. The owner says he is 5% Swiss, 15% Italian and 80% Thai - trying to explain that his heart and his adopted home is Thailand. And his passion for the country shows in the restaurant, the personal service, and the food.

Its a relaxed, thoroughly enjoyable experience. It is one of those 'finds' which you will talk about to your friends long after your holiday is over!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear TMausH. It is the 100th review and a very nice one. It seems that you enjoyed the ambiance and also the food. It is important that you have mentioned the reservation, because it is a trip of 7km away from the city, and we want to turn anyone away. It's also was great to read that it was an experience for you that you will remember for a long time. Thank you all for the visit and the great review. hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Get out of the tourist stream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited this restaurant based on recommendations by Tripadvisor and others as we were quite filled up with the standard cheap look alike so called genuine Thai food at other local restaurants in Hua Hin. (unfortunately also recommended by Tripadvisor)
We were a family of 7 adults looking for a special evening (had tried the Peking Duck at Hilton Hotel the previous day and that was a disaster, to say the least) and thought Hin Lek Fai looked promising.
It was indeed quite a taxi drive, 7 people in a tuk-tuk for 20 minutes, but when we arrived we were just taken aback and thought we had arrived in Tuscany or Provence!
The outfit, including the decor, music, dinner table setting, menus, well everything was just amazing!!
Our waiter- cum owner, was a true gentleman, expecting us to behave in the same way not to destroy the athmosphere, quite a character, adding plentyfold to our dining experience with his subtile small jokes, carefull selection of splendid wines and marvelous presentation of every dish.
The food was great value for money, tasty, plentyfull and nice.
Don't expect gourmet food, that's not the point here.
You get a fantastic, romantic, great dining experience in wonderfull suroundings with great service to an expence similar to the tourist joints downdown. Your choice : )

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Rune J. Another very detailed and wonderful review. That is exactly what we strive for: dive for a special dinner and just enjoy everything. The message with the gourmet food is it worth mentioning, because exactly that we do not offer. What the guests can expect from us you've described very nicely. Thank you for that. hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“always a plessure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was again a pleasure having dinner last night. As it was a special occasion for us the owner and his family did make a well appreciated attention for us. THANKS AGAIN!!
We noticed that the restaurant is very busy over the last period and this is no doubt because of the excellent service, excellent food and this all in a rightly balance atmosphere!!
Despite that the restaurant is busier than ever before at this location, the service, food, and the friendly contact does NOT suffer at all.

I think that for all (potential) customers it could be advisable to make a reservation to avoid a disappointment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Menno v. That we had Thai Maalai flower was of course a coincidence. It's just a pity that you forgot it on the small table. Also, the presence of the small attention. But we are flexible, creative and spontaneous. As you have correctly noted the restaurant is very well attended and deserving of thanks with your Notice of reservation. We do not want send away anyone who has driven to us 7 km. But a full restaurant is full. More is not possible. Therefore, please follow this advice. We are pleased that we have not abated despite the many guest at the quality of the food nor the service. Which of course it can sometimes be a wait, because many orders are in queue. Luckily, our guests are not in a hurry and see that we work as a family. For the submission of this review I am very grateful. hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, great service and would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go to the restaurant purely based on the tripadvisor rating and reviews and weren't disappointed.
We are staying in Hua Hin at the Hilton hotel and needed to get a taxi to the restaurant as it is 'inland'. It is around 7km from the centre of hua hin and a well
Worth short taxi ride to the restaurant
The menu caters for everyone including a variety of Italian, Thai and western choices.
The ambience is lovely and very well decorated.
We had the bruschetta, shrimp cocktail and the pork satay that was on the special board for starters. For our mains we ordered the cordon bleu, lasagne, pasta and pork chop which came with a lovely jacket potatoe and sour cream / Chive.
We all enjoyed our meals and had great service from the staff / owner. I would
Definitely recommend to anyone wanting a quirky, chilled off the beaten track restaurant with great food and service.
Would go back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear KateGreen1981. It is such a great and detailed description that actually mentioned everything important. Thank you accessing it, and maybe you really returns back again. hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hin Lek Fai Restaurant also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hin Lek Fai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.