We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most unique and welcoming little shop in Hua Hin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Family Tree

The Family Tree
7 Naresdamri Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
+66 (0) 32 511 716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Shopping in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Family Tree proudly offers authentic, Thai arts and crafts, handmade by community groups and independent artists. Treasures include award-winning, natural dyed and hand-woven Thai silks, natural cosmetics, vibrant paintings of Thai life and inspiring recycled sculptures, jewelry, toys and accessories. We are committed to Fair Trade, sourcing our products from over 30 social and environmental initiatives, including crafts cooperatives, women’s groups, ethnic minorities and artisans with special needs. We look forward to welcoming you.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most unique and welcoming little shop in Hua Hin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My friend and I came across this shop while staying in Hua Hin for the week. The owners were so friendly and giving that we ended up coming back multiple times. The organic lotions and hair serums were all absolutely wonderful. We also each bought some hemp shoes that were surprisingly very comfy! Everything in the shop is made ethically and organically by the local people of Thailand. Such a gem of a shop! Very unique finds.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Aclark,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Family Tree on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your effort. Pleased to hear that you are enjoying the cosmetics and the hemp shoes.

We look forward to welcoming you again, next time you visit Hua Hin,

Happy New Year 2014,

Dtor, Peter and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If Want Authentic Thai Artistry Please Visit The Family Tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We visited this shop at the very beginning of the New Year and we were so delighted to meet the owners Dtor and Pete. They truly are making a difference in Thailand as they are supporting Thai artists by only carrying products that are truly hand made in Thailand and that are made with care, often through ancient methods that they are still using today. For example, some of the silk scarves they carry are made with dyes made from organic byproduct such as seeds, leaves, and bark. Something more that they are doing to support the environment is that a portion of the proceeds from products sold at the store are used in a reforestation effort in Northeastern Thailand. Fantastic! You really do feel like you are making a difference by supporting the Family Tree and you'll be glad you visited when you finally get around to it. Don't pass through Hua Hin without a visit or better yet, book a trip and make it a priority to go there. You won't regret it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Roamin Dan,

Many thanks for your great review. We are very pleased that you were inspired by the natural dyed silks at the Family Tree, and our tree planting project. We are lucky enough to work with some real local geniuses, who have kept their artistic traditions going and share their creations with our shop.

Enjoy your travels and warm regards,

Dtor, Peter, Joke & Boom @ the Family Tree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Family Tree is a fantastic concept based on Fair Trade. The owners have an extensive knowledge and relationship with all the local suppliers they source their stock from and their commitment is genuine. It's nice to know that the money is supporting people all over the country. I highly recommend a visit to the Family Tree while in Hua Hin, I know I'll be back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Hey Poro!

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us.

Indeed, we are very lucky to work with inspired artisans from around Thailand. Even after three years, it still excites us to welcome their creations to our shop, and share them with our customers :-)

Safe travels, health and happiness for 2014.

Dtor, Peter, Joke and Boom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Gift shopping with a feel good factor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent quality, ethically sourced souvenirs and gifts from Thailand all hand made individual pieces of jewellery, leather goods, paintings, beautiful silk scarves.

The owner gives you a wonderful warm welcome and every product is carefully explained the ethos behind it and how it's production is making a difference in the village community where it's sourced from.

I purchased a lovely Handmade paper bead necklace and bracelet set where the parents earn a living making the sets but only on the condition that the children go to school instead of having to work.

It's nice to see a retailer putting something back into the villages away from the big resorts that are impacting the landscapes and lifestyles of this beautiful country.

A really welcome break from the homogenised shopping malls.

I wish I could have visited the village and seen the silk production or the jewellery being made.

Everytime I wear the set I will think of your lovely shop, thank you!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Ginger Monkey,

We remember you telling us to look out for a review on Trip Advisor from Ginger Monkey when you got home, so I guess that you are safe back to home and work, now.

Many thanks for writing such a detailed and kind review. We are really pleased that you treasure the gifts which you brought here.

All the best and hope to welcome you again one day.

Dtor, Peter, Joke and Boom @ the Family Tree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If in Hua Hin, don't miss the Family Tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Also in Thailand it's bekomming rare to find nice hande made items (not imported from China :-)). But there are exceptions. That's why I highly recommend the Family Tree in Hua Hin. Very friendly staff, nice items, eco- and fair- shopping. Don't miss it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Werner,

Thank-you so much for your kind review of the Family Tree, which we really appreciate.

Yes, we agree! The products sold in the Family Tree are made in Thailand, by local community groups, artists, social and environmental products and small-scale family businesses.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed visiting us!

Happy New Year 2014!

Dtor, Peter, and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Family Tree also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to The Family Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Family Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.