We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hagi

Hagi
1 Damnernkasem Road | Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
+6632512021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 395 Restaurants in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 stars 109 Reviews
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Recently renovated and located on one of Hua Hin’s busiest street corners, it affords nice views of the bustling Hua Hin nightlife. Discover our traditional and modern Japanese cuisine at the Hagi Restaurant where you can experience the art of Teppan-Yaki, live cooking and our wide selection of sushi & sashimi, every day from 5.00 p.m. to 12 a.m.Our lounge is also perfect for a nice aperitif or some exquisite cocktails after dinner.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We went to Hagi no less than 5 times in 3weeks. Had pretty much everything on the meny, and finished off with teppanyaki. Can't fault anything, and we have been to japonese restaurants all over the world.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for your time in writing to us following your recent visit at our Hagi Japanese restaurant in Hua Hin!
Your very kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to our team members.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food was good but noises were so annoying!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I visited here on our honeymoon. They had a eat as much as you like sushi night which was great, however there was one draw back. Half way through our meal one of the sushi chefs came out to cook for a table who had booked a special personal chef experience in the main restaurant. He repeatedly made a squeeky 'Donal Duck' type noise with his mouth as a joke/ entertainment. He did it so much, so loudly & so frequently it completely ruined the ambiance of the lovely decorated restaurant and we were pleased to leave at the end of our meal. We went to go there again a few nights later & as we went to enter we heard the squeeking from right at the back of the restaurant. My husband just turned around and led us back out saying 'I'm sorry I just can't bare another night of that'! Shame really!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for visiting our HAGI restaurant while in Hua Hin. Your patronage is appreciated just as well as the feed back you gave us on Trip Advisor.

Guest comments are an invaluable tool to improve our operations and correct wrong doings.

The Teppaniyaki table is designed essentially for specialty chefs to show their skills in cooking "a la minute" in front of the guests and we apologize that, progressively, we let it slip into a show taking the attention away from the food preparation and the pure culinary art.

We are pleased to inform you that the squeeky "Donald duck" is now silent and the cooking demonstrations quiet.

HAGI placed again the food as its "centerpiece" and all its team is looking forward to your next visit, for you to witness the change in all peacefulness.

Hoping to seeing you soon again.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A trendy restaurant Japanese style, only down side is the uncomfortable chairs in the lounge area, as a result of this did not stay long for after dinner drinks

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for your time in writing to us following your recent visit at our Hagi Japanese restaurant in Hua Hin!
Your very kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to our team members.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Expensive but exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Delicious Japanese dishes, sushis, sakes and whiskeys. The signature sesame seed seared tuna is to die for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your comments regarding our Hagi Japanese restaurant! We do appreciate that you have experienced a great evening!
Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and hope to welcome you in the near future with an even better experience as we are always striving to improve our services and offers!

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We didn't eat but had some cocktails in the bar area which were good value and well made in a relaxed seating area and a good place to people watch

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for your time in writing to us following your recent visit at our Hagi Japanese restaurant in Hua Hin!
Your very kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to our team members.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hagi also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hagi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.