We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, poor food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maharaja

Maharaja
112 Naresdamri Rd, Hua Hin, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #271 of 391 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Indian & Thai food restauarr near Hilton Hotel
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quiet, poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've had some good India food in Thailand, but not here. The atmosphere was like a library inside and the food tasted artificial

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    17
    15
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great food for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

It may not be fancily decorated or have well-trained waiters, but the food is very good and reasonably priced. I have to agree with many other reviewers regarding the serving staff. They are slow, uninterested and not too helpful. The restaurant is clean but looking a bit tired.
We have eaten here several times and tried many dishes. All the curries have been very good and the nan breads and prarathas are terrific. Their basmati rice is excellent.
There's not a better Indian restaurant to be found in Hua Hin, so why not give it a try?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Excellent quality food. Being an Indian myself, I was expecting the worst, but I was very pleasantly surprised. They seem to proper chefs from India, because the quality of food was superb.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've been here a few times. Again aprpeciated the attentive service, wonderful presentation, delicious flavours. A must visit on anyone's trip to Hua Hin.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food & air conditioning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were happy to find this Indian restaurant right near our hotel (the Hilton). We were looking for something a little different with vegetarian options, and this fit the bill nicely. The food was good and the interior was charming and (most importantly) air conditioned, which was nice. I would recommend it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharaja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.