We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fell in love with elephants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutsadin Elephant Foundation

Hutsadin Elephant Foundation
176 Moo 7 Nongplub Rd, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
032 827-098 100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Attractions in Hua Hin
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hutsadin Elephant Foundation offers the visitor a variety of attractions. At present we have 3 elephants available for trekking. Each trek can be half an hour or an hour and you will be taken through the surrounding areas. After your trek you will be able to watch a small show by our youngest elephant, or if you would prefer you are welcome to wash her instead and there will be plenty of opportunities for some amazing photos. After this you may want to visit our retired elephants. If you prefer a more hands approach, you may want to try our 'mahout experience' where you will get a talk about the foundation and its ethos plus the individual stories of all our elephants and why they were rescued, you will also help to take care of our retired elephants for the morning(9.00a.m - 12.00), in this time you will get to prepare food, give medication, clean their shelters, take one for a walk and then give her a wash. Will receive a t shirt to remember your time with us and you are welcome to have a free vegetarian lunch and ice cream to finish your morning. (please e mail for details as only available on certain days and only small groups are taken). If you can't spare three hours but still want something 'hands on' you can take one of elephants for a walk and then wash then on return - approximately 1/2 hour. If you just want to have a look around the foundation and chat to some of the English speaking volunteers you are more than welcome and there is no charge, however they are only there on a Monday, Wednesday or Friday morning. All of our elephants have been rescued and all have their own story, there is an information board near the seating area where you can learn more about each individual elephant.A final word to clarify the situation :- you may be asked for a tip or to buy trinkets from the mahouts - this is entirely up to you and is not supported by the foundation. Any money that you give to the mahouts DOES NOT go into the foundation funds and is not used to buy food etc (no matter what you may be told). Should you wish to make a donation please put it into the box in the front office or give to one of the volunteers.We hope that you enjoy your visit and find it a memorable experience.Please post your comments on tripadvisor for the benefit of others.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“fell in love with elephants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was probably the best part of my trip!
The elephant foundation was a great experience that my whole family loved and we had a chance to help the elephants.

I rode on the elephants and then washed the little 5 year old elephant. I had a great time doing this with my family. I think my sister enjoyed being with the elephants so much that she wants to donate/volunteer to help them.

The volunteers put a lot of work and time into looking after the elephants and taking care of them and do an excellent job.

Please make sure that you donate money by putting it in a glass box or giving it to a volunteer and tell them that it is for the foundation. Any money you give to the little elephant in the basket doesn't go towards the foundation and any tips you give to the mahouts doesn't go to the foundation either.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
So many people say that they fall head over heels with our lovely elephants. Taking the option to wash our youngest is always a popular alternative to watching the show and it's a toss up as to who enjoys it the most - the visitor or the elephant:)
Really hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    92
    27
    13
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“BEST EXPERIENCE EVER HAD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My girlfriend found out about the Elephant Foundation through Trip Advisor. On arriving we weren't sure where to go but were met by a lovely couple whom took us down to the Elephants. No question was too much for them. To have the opportunity to stand next to and feed these beautiful creatures was a "magical" experience. One we will never forget. We want to thank Will and his wife for taking us around. A great day that is highly recommended! ********

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It was our pleasure to show you both around and introduce you to our gorgeous elephants. It always amazes us to see how these huge animals can always raise such an emotional response from just about everyone that comes into contact with them.
The retired ones were very grateful for all the lovely fruit we were able to buy them with your donation, the rest of the money will go towards medicines so thank you once again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best experience ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a wonderful opportunity to spent time with the wonderful elephants and volunteers at Hutsadin it took my breath away it was a magical experience. We too as previous reviews state were greeted at the door and encouraged to purchase a trek experience. However, when we decided not to partake we were given our money back which we the donated for the upkeep of the elephants. The baby elephant was gorgeous and entertaining although I was uncomfortable with some of the things she was asked to do she obviously enjoyed performing many of the tasks (football, basketball etc) which we were assured was part of her exercise.
We were encouraged to interact with the elephants and I fell in love with the old lady and the pregnant elephant, can't wait to hear news of her baby. We were able to feed and wash an elephant and when we return will definitely book the mahout experience. Big thank you to Jo for spending time with us and sharing her extensive knowledge about the elephants and their background information. This is a must do experience for anyone interested in elephants take advice from this and fellow reviewers and book the mahout experience and definitely go on either Monday Wednesday or Friday when the European volunteers are there to make your visit extra special.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I'm so sorry that we were already booked for the mahout experience but I'm pleased to hear that the alternative we were able to give was enough to encourage you to write such a lovely review.
The question of the baby elephant show is always subjective, but as you pointed out she really does love to show off and can't get enough of all the attention.
Personally I defy anyone with a pulse to not fall in love with Tong Kam (our hopefully pregnant one) - she doesn't do tricks - she's just the most beautiful elephant in the world.
Thank you once again and don't forget to book well in advance for the mahout experience. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Before we decided to go,we looked on the internet for elephant trekking in hua hin and this one definatly did not disappoint! We arrived and we booked our tour for the elephant trek.they said it eould be a 60minute wait which gave us time to learn about all the elephants and how they ended up at the foundation.jo and the guides were great.it was awesome to have the english speaking guide!they answered any questions and took us around to each elephant and told us all about them. We then got the chance to watch the baby elephant get washed.she was very cute and playful.the trek was great.we spent 800 baht for 60 minutes.in this time the mAhout was great.he didnt speak much english but made the trek fun and enjoyable.he took photos for us (lots of them) with us at the front of the elephant.he offered us some ivory but was not pushy at all.very friendly.we paid 100 baht for a basket of fruit to feed our elephant at the end of the trek.we also paid 250 baht for a photo but these things werent pushed on us.good value for money.we finished with complimentary icecream and the mini elephant show (all in the price of the trek) which was very up close and personal with the baby elephant.we got photos with her.overall i give hutsadin a 11 out of 10 and would recommend this trek over any other elephant tours in the area.the staff were friendly and you can easily see that the elephants are well cared for.great half day out!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.
It is always a pleasure to show people around and introduce them to our elephants. I guess having an English speaker to answer questions isn't something you would ordinarily get at most elephant camps in Thailand. Sorry to say we are only available on a Monday, Wednesday or Friday morning but we are always willing to spend time with interested parties.
I have to stress at this point that the jewelry that the mahouts try to sell is definitely NOT made of ivory and any tips that you give to a mahout does not go towards the upkeep of the elephants. Anyone wanting to give a donation can give money to the volunteers or put it in the donation box.
Thanks again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The children loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

So did I, but I'm not as mad about elephants as they are. The oldest "child" was 23 and she loved it too, so I think this is for everyone.

The trek was fascinating. As the three children had to go on one elephant, my oldest son had to play mahout and sit on the elephant's neck, which gave us some lovely photos, and the chance to rib him constantly about his elephant driving skills.

The youngest elephant was a real performer: you could see how much she was enjoying the interaction. She reminded me of our dogs (yes, really!) in that she responded to training well because it gave a her a function, or stimulation and intelligent animals maybe need something more than free food and somewhere to sleep. Anyway, the animals all seemed well-cared for, we enjoyed feeding and watching them, and the work of the foundations seemed valid and worthwhile.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review - you are totally right, children of all ages love to have an up close, safe experience with elephants.
Song Kran, our youngest is always the star and as you so rightly point out, she loves to interact and show people what she can do.
We love all of our elephants and give them the best care we can and it always makes us proud when people recognize that. So thanks again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutsadin Elephant Foundation also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hutsadin Elephant Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.