We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf course, superb conditions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Mountain Golf Club

Black Mountain Golf Club
565 Moo7, Nong Hieng Road | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
+66 (0) 32 618 666
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great golf course, superb conditions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Played Black Mountain in november 2013. Course was great, excellent fairways, superb greens.

One remark is that I didn't had a very good caddy. She was slow, didn't knew the difference between yards and meters and was in my opinion not very good in green reading so I've decided to do it myself...

We also played behind a very slow 4-ball (we were only 2) and they refused to let us pass. A marshall would be convenient here.
Facilitues are good, restaurant is excellent and not expensive.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    70
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice golf course with good maintenance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Playing golf in Black mountain is real nice, nice course, not too hard not too easy. Good putting green and nice fairway and with good service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice course.... But.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First time i played here. Quite nice in all respects especially the greens. The price to play is ridiculous but there were lots of moneyed Asians playing so who am I to say? Additionally the caddy insisted on keeping my score which I always do myself. I finally had to take the card away from her.

If you are only going to play one course in Hua Hin, suggest Banyan over BM.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Experience spoiled by caddie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have played at Black Mountain around a dozen times and only a couple of times have I had a caddie that suited me. Others appear to be disinterested and I have experienced a take it or leave it attitude at the pro shop.
For some reason that escapes me, one is unable to book a caddie in advance. That resulted in my playing 6 games at Hua Hin, one at Black Mountain and 5 at Banyan where I pre booked a particular caddie and the staff are delightful.
This is regrettable because the course deserves its high ranking as one of the top 10 courses outside the U.S. and ranks alongside Red Mountain in Phuket as must plays in Thailand.
It is very well maintained but one need to check on the playing conditions for the day on the day. It is not uncommon to be told that carts are unavailable and the course is walking only. Although at worst I have only had to walk the first 9 holes with a cart on path only being available for the back 9.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

fabulous course with a good degree of difficulty -well manicured. Lots of water and views everywhere you look

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Mountain Golf Club also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Black Mountain Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Mountain Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.