We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location.....hotel is OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Manthana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Baan Manthana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baan Manthana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24/10 Srasong Rd, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 128 hotels in Hua Hin
Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Decent location.....hotel is OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in April 2012......
Basically this is a no frills apartment style hotel in 3 separate buildings but the room was OK and the aircon and shower worked fine,also a balcony which is useful for hanging out any washing you might have.
Breakfast is a served set menu (bacon,eggs,sausage,toast & jam,coffee etc) with no variation and you are probably best passing on this and looking for better options elsewhere.
The staff are friendly but the maid service is erratic which the hotel should look to improve on.
One day our room wasnt cleaned at all and another day I accidentally dropped a couple of coins on the floor.When I bent down to pick them up I noticed that there was plastic and tissues,from a previous occupant,under the bed which,obviously,hadnt been noticed by the maid.
The main draw of this hotel is its location.Aircon buses from Bangkok stop right outside,a couple of minutes walk away,also you can catch the green sangthaew that can take you to places like Kho Takiab beach (6 kilometres away) or Hua Hin Village mall (2 kilometres away)for just 10 baht.
The nightmarket is also just a couple of minutes walk away....also Chatchai and Chatsila markets a couple of minutes or so further on.......they are all worth a browse.Just turn right out of the front of the hotel and you come to the nightmarket.If you want to eat,there are half a dozen excellent eating options here as well.They are all on the left side of the market and,particularily,recommended is the KO Seafood restaurant which does delicious food with drinks not too expensive either.
The Hua Hin beach is a good 10 minutes walk from the hotel but if you take the green sangthaew again and get off just after it has turned right onto the main road at the traffic lights then its just a 3 minutes or so easy stroll to the beach......cost 10 baht again for the sangthaew.
A saamlaw outside the hotel will ask for 100 baht to take you to the beach so,unless its money no object or you are desparate,you are best not to use them.
Overall,we enjoyed Hua Hin and found it to be a very relaxing and friendly resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    43
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
41
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

Basically I chose this hotel because its right where the Bangkok bus drops you off and I was too tired and sweaty to go find better. Great location for the night market restaurants which serves up some of the best seafood in Thailand, especially in low season.
The hotel has all the basics youd expect in this price range but not much more.
Nothing wrong with the place, just a tad overpriced by Thai standards.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of the Night market, the location is extremely useful and its easy to walk to different places such as nearby family restaurants and the beach. The green Bus is only 3 mins away and costs 10 baht to Market Village and other locations. We used this service everyday instead of the expensive tuk tuks.

We stayed in a standard room so did not have many creature comforts such as hair dryer, tissues and kettle (we missed hot drinks). However, the shower is excellent and although simple, one of the best showers we had. We didn't try the breakfast here as it starts at 8.30am and didn't seem to accomodate breakfasts for westerners so we went walking around at the local market and bakery for light breakfasts. If I do come here again, I would stay here but probably get a deluxe room for the next stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

very centrally located, close to night market. Large and clean rooms to answer more than basic needs: AC,TV, fridge (2 free bottles of water included per day), hot/cold shower.
I better like the annex building, close to road but still in a quite environment. Small pool .
restaurants, bars, pastry shop next door. Scooter rental in the soi opposite annex entrance; minivan stop to BKK in front of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have stayed here a few times over the past 2 years. There are standard rooms if required. Superior rooms are generous size with remote aircon and TV. Fridge, electronic safe, and balcony overlooking local Thai houses. Ample storage and wardrobe space. Bathroom is well equiped comprising a normal shower plus an overhead, both of which provide ample water flow. Deluxe rooms on 5th floor additionally offer sea views, CD player, flatscreen TV, tea/coffee and a softer bed. Breakfast is usual Thai fare but of better quality than other hotels I have been at. Pool at the back with basic loungers. Staff at reception/housekeeping are friendly and willing to assist, and a knowledge of Thai is appreciated/useful. It is a family run business. The Manager khun Teeramek speaks excellent English, is knowledgeable about the local area and extremely helpful. The hotel is well placed for local transport plus buses to Bangkok. 10 mins walk to the beach, and the night market is 1 minute away for food, drinks, clothes etc. Main areas of Hua Hin also within easy reach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We've stayed at Baan Manthana three times over the past couple of months while we've been travelling through Thailand. There are three buildings at Manthana - one at the main street, one just behind (the newest block and the one shown in the photo) and a third at the back, down a small lane, next to the swimming pool. We stayed at the latter and as we loved the comfort of the room on our first stay, we asked for the same room on each stay and were given it. There are no frills to the room but the beds are soft and comfortable and the bathroom has a small bath and a fantastic shower with plenty of pressure and hot water at all times. The TV didn't have very many English programmes but you could hire a DVD player downstairs for 100 baht a day. Unlike a previous reviewer, we had no problem with wifi in the room. The towels are a bit tired but for the price of the room this maybe expected.

The location is excellent, just a few yards from the night market and around a 10 minute walk to the beach. Despite it's central location the rooms are very quiet in the building at the back at least (can't comment about the other 2 buildings closer to the road). The only disappointment is that they don't serve breakfast but there are plenty of places very nearby who do.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Booked a superior room with a sea view. Room was good but you needed binoculars to see the sea! However the staff were all great & the location near the Night market was superb., cost £40 per night.

Room Tip: Get a room on 6th or 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baan Manthana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Manthana Hotel

Address: 24/10 Srasong Rd, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 128 hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Manthana Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Baan Manthana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Manthana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.