We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at an excellent price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Smile & Platoo

Moon Smile & Platoo
Poonsuk Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
+66 (0)32-511664
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 410 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
KESWICK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food at an excellent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I went for our second meal there tonight and it was even better than last night. We were recommended a choice by regulars last night, who had been eating their evening meal for their entire holiday, except for the wedding they had gone to Hua Hin for.The ambience is buzzing right on the street.
We will probably return tomorrow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    146
    53
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Good Thai food, well cooked, nicely presented and reasonably priced. Very friendly and helpful service in a clean and comfortable restaurant. Good to see a menu including a vegetarian section. Although we preferred the Onn Onn Corner restaurant next door, the Moon Smile usually appeared to be the busier of the two.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Maybe we ordered the wrong dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went here twice during our holiday. The first time we had tempura king prawns and fried rice. The food was nice but nothing special. The second time we went (to give it another go due to all the rave reviews) the chicken noodle soup was tasteless and still not wow if you added the different spices they provide on the table. I also ordered the garlic and pepper fried ribs from the 'recommended' menu, but they were that salty my lips and tongue started to go numb. On both occasions we also found their fried rice had a slightly smoked/burnt taste to it.
We much preferred Na Na Place a couple of doors down where the food was exceptional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The food was good and cheap, but the service was not too friendly the night we went and we felt that we were rushed to eat and get out ... so didn't return

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, need to book,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Amazing food, great street life. Busy but worth the wait. Lobster, fish beautiful. Sizzling dishes amazing. If you like it hot, this is the place to go. Don't be put off by the decor, best street food in Hua Hin.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Smile & Platoo also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Moon Smile & Platoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Smile & Platoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.