We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel to your Saves list
Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1349 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 76120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 131 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed at the Dusit in July/Aug 2007 and we found this Hotel to of a very high standard, the staff are a credit to them. they made our stay at the Dusit one of the best holidays we have had in Thailand.
the only thing that this holtel lacks is something for teenagers mabey a games room/bar, where they could meet up with the friends that they have made.
we would go back there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    233
    59
    18
    11
See reviews for
264
359
23
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed at this hotel in April for two weeks, and had a great time. Apart from a small hitch upon arrival - we arrived at 2pm and the room wasn't ready until around 3pm - the service was very good. The room was clean, quite nicely furnished with a lovely sea view. I did find myself cautiously peering under the sink after reading one of the reviews on this website - but all was well! My only small gripe was the horse riding. I was looking forward to horse riding but unfortunately they will only let you ride in the tiny paddock, however experienced you are. You can ride one of the horses on the beach, but the hotel doesn't advise it, and I wouldn't do it on principle. I would say that the horses in the hotel stables looked in very good nick.

The food was wonderful - we mainly ate out, but on the occasions we did stay in, we were very impressed by the food. Breakfast was excellent too.

The hotel is about a 10min drive from Hua Hin, you can get a shuttle bus or get a taxi at a reasonable price. We also enjoyed hiring out a car and driving around the wonderful national parks.

We have high standards - our benchmark is our favourite Bangkok hotel, the Oriental. Whilst the Dusit could never match the Oriental - very few hotels could - we had a great stay there.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

I found this to be a really smart Resort set in lovely surroundings by the beach just ouside the town.The rooms were very smart and clean as were the Resturants both in the Main Building and in the grounds. The outdoor pool areas were superb and spacious with excellent service. All the facilities and the massage areas were well organised and well attended supplying every need for your relaxing break.You would need a car to get around as the Resort is on the outskirts of town but not within easy walking distance...

  • Liked — Staffs and services.
  • Disliked — Non.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check some special rates from hotel reservation.
  • Stayed December 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton Essex
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

What can I say. On arrival at Bangkok the journey began. The hotel transfer by private car was swift and very comfortable. When we finally got to the Dusit we were impressed immediately with the grand entrance and the service was faultless.
We arrived slighty early so were relieved of our baggage and asked to take a seat where we enjoyed the most superb cocktails .... looking out to the gorgeous pool and beach we knew this was going to be paradise!
The pool area was fantastic the beach area was small but very clean and the waiter service was great. A massage in the garden area is a must for smthg like 400bht you cannot go wrong!
We found the staff a joy to be around and the whole complex very romantic.
We moved rooms once as we just felt we could get smthg a bit more spacious and that was no problem. In fact nothing was a problem so i would say if you are not happy with ANYTHING spk up!
On going into Hua Hin town we were sooooo sooooo pleased to be stayin outside in Cha Am as it was much more relaxing and exclusive feeling. Hua Hin itself is great the foot massage is a must and the bars are cool.
The food was delicious (yellow curry the best i have ever tasted) and we were spoilt for choice!
Such was our experience that we are going back to Thailand is April for their New Yr but this time to krabi so fingers crossed it will be just as amazing 2nd time round!
August weather was ok, even if it is overcast you still get burnt and the showers come around in the afternoon so no worries about that.
I would definately recommend this hotel to all that want to visit Hua Hin....

  • Liked — Superb complex
  • Disliked — One Restaurant was closed
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not go to the Spa it is far too overpriced the poolsice massage is just as amazing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester , England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

Lovley Hotel, great location between two towns,Hua Hin and Cha Am.
Regular shuttlebus can take you to both towns.
Fantastic rooms, Great food, very very friendly service.
If you are a beach person though this may not be for you, the beach was quite small and univiting, but the pool area more than made uo for this.
Would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

On the recommendation of friends, we booked a Landmark Suite at this hotel. The start was not auspicious, as despite having confirmation in writing of our AIRPORT TRANSER we were not met at the airport as arranged and the relevant desk (Avis) had no knowledge of our arrival.
So, we found a licensed local taxi driver and saved ourselves Baht 1,500.
On arrival at the hotel we received a rather feeble sorry in response to the transfer debacle. Nothing more.
We were shown to our slightly SHABBY ROOM (743).
This was quite spacious, and on a top floor corner so we were expecting little, if no, noise disruption from passing traffic. A mistake, as every time the bell for the next room rang, we raced for our door, as their bell was so loud/our walls so thin. The rooms have very poor sound insulation, so I dread to think what it must be like in a room with others above/below/either side. It also begs the question why, when the hotel seemed to be running at less than 20% occupancy (at a guess) we were next to anyone.
Shabby rooms - the cabinets and furniture were chipped, the wardrobe door didn't close properly, there were lots of hangers in the closet, but they were quite dusty. No trouser press in the room, which I think many people expect as standard now, especially in a suite.
On the plus side, the bed linens and towels were clean, plentiful and of good quality and daily housekeeping in the room was good, with a fresh selection of fruit delivered daily.
There was a good selection of toiletries in the bathroom, incl. toothbrush/paste and a comb, but these were of poor quality. I think most people would expect better quality in a non-standard room - maybe they should consider supplying toiletries from their spa in some of the rooms. Which brings me to the
SPA...
We booked a 4 hour treatment for the morning after our arrival (bath/wrap/body/head massage). All was going fabulously, until the last hour or so when very loud drum and bass (or similar) music started up outside, swiftly followed by a man with a megaphone bellowing encouragement to a football match. The therapists were clearly feeling uncomfortable as our tension levels began to rise again. It transpires there was a staff football match on the sports field adjacent to the spa. On raising this issue at reception, we were assured this was a 'one-off' and offered a free 1 1/2 hour spa treatment each as compensation, which we thought fair, but the spa is next to the sports field, where many corporate events take place, and there was noise pollution (albeit not as severe) on other occassions. Not ideal given they are charging top dollar for their treatments. Not to worry on the prices, though, as we were given 4 discount vouchers in our 'welcome' pack. Sadly, using them wasn't very easy, as the very nice lady on reception thought only our first treatment qualified. I didn't expect to have to negotiate to use vouchers that had been issued by the hotel; all sorted out in the end, but not without a number of tight smiles and firm positions on both sides. Again, aren't spas supposed to be about relieving stress? On the plus side, the treatment rooms are lovely, the therapists very good at both delivering treatments and preserving modesty. It smelt fresh and clean (some spas smell damp and mouldy).
PUBLIC AREAS.
This hotel doesn't do itself any favours in this department. They are very poor at promoting their own restaurants, which is a pity since the food is really very good. A resort guide/map appeared in our room 3 days before the end of our 8 day stay (it would have been helpful to receive it on check in) and there is no comprehensive guide in the room summarising what restaurants are open when. Nor are there any sample menus in the resort facilities folder in room. The POLO BAR is looking a little sad, with buttons missing from sofas and braid hanging off chairs that have the stuffing dribbling out of the bottom of them.
The barman could use a course in 'mixology' and we gave up on trying to get a dry martini by the second night. The cocktails are generally weak, watery and uninspiring. Even the cleaners must be depressed by it all, as they don't stay long enough to dust the panelling behind the plants. The jazz quartet tried valiantly to fight off the dreadful feeling of morgueishness on a nightly basis, but were not helped by the [very] out of tune piano (I know it's damp and humid, but either get it tuned or stick with the electronic keyboard). The bass player was trying especially hard, as he practiced along with the piped music, even when the rest of the band weren't playing, which shows commitment, if being a little irritating. Make the lead guitarist happy and ask for Samba PaTi (?) by Santana.
The pool area is much of a muchness - we used the garden pool as it was more quiet and secluded, but it was all as clean and well maintained as one might expect, given it's age.
Overall, it wasn't bad, mainly because we found a good package, so it offered reasonable value for money, but you couldn't pay me to stay when it's full - breakfast (buffet service) must be a nightmare.
More fun and games on check-out as they initially charged us for breakfast, despite this being included in our package, so we had to go back and have that reversed out of the bill. One must ask what kind of internal procedures and controls are in place when they don't even know what meal plan their guests are on - Shambles.
BEST BITS: food generally, especially the seafood at the beachfront restaurant.
WORST BITS: general shabbiness; location of the spa (for noise pollution).

  • Liked — Quality of food
  • Disliked — Shabby, generally
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Hilton in town.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

i have no idea why this hotel and its staff have received bad reviews.

But honestly take it from me and my family. We love the Dusit Hua Hin. Its a beautiful, tranquil and special place and once you have found it you will want to return. And we have high and demanding standards and have stayed in many, many hotels.

This is the second time we visited the hotel and the first time we have ever returned to the same location. We wondered if we would like it just as much. We liked it more!

The location ideal, beach fantastic,staffand management friendly and spa beautiful. Its an older hotel and in some ways that shows but it is grand and it does have style. Just go and have a look at the other hotels in Hua Hin. We have eaten in them all and still were glad we stayed in the Dusut. Not only that the prices are great (having just been on a holiday in the States, Thailand prices mean you can live like Royalty and not pay over the top for it!)

We will be back!!!

  • Liked — location, food and service
  • Disliked — decor getting a bit tired
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel

Address: 1349 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#11 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Hua Hin hotel occupies a special place within a region known for its spectacular natural beauty along the west coast of the Gulf of Thailand. The coastal town of Hua Hin retains the serene Thai charm that has captured the aristocratic imagination and made it a favoured summer retreat for the Thai Royalty since 1920’s. Conveniently located just 2.5 hours from Bangkok by car, its fine sandy beach, superb tropical climate and lush greenery provide the ideal luxury resort atmosphere. Commanding an unspoilt beachfront location, the spectacular Dusit Thani Hua Hin hotel combines sumptuous comfort with wondrous classic traditional style. An ornamental lake, lily pond and tropical gardens flank a magnificent swimming pool. For guests desiring a self-contained resort the luxury hotel provides well-appointed guest rooms, a range of dining and entertainment options, and a variety of sports and recreational facilities including water sports, tennis and squash courts, fitness centre and a horse riding track, plus the tranquil Devarana Spa, Hua Hin for ultimate pampering. With its legendary events and pampering service, the Dusit Thani Hua Hin hotel has been accorded a reputation as the Thai beach resort of choice for Thai aristocracy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Hua Hin Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.