We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1349 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 76120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 128 hotels in Hua Hin
NSW Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Looking for a luxury experience for our final 6 days in Hua Hin so booked the Dusit Thani through an exceptionally good Wotif deal, turned out to be a great choice, the place oozes luxury – the most magnificent foyer had us won over even before we checked out the rest of the Resort.

Reception was friendly and efficient. We upgraded to Club on arrival, a good move but our cheaper deal meant we kept our higher floor booked rooms but had access to the Club facilities, loved the club lounge – superb staff and service and well worth the cost of the upgrade.

The upgrade also included breakfast in the Thai restaurant which serves the club breakfast – a lovely spot. The main restaurant was very busy while we were staying at the Dusit so were very pleased to have the alternative for breakfast. We were disappointed that due to numbers we presume, the club breakfast for our last 3 days was cut back to contintental, (did have an egg station but we are Asian food people) but we could order any special dishes to be brought from the main restaurant – still missed having that choice available in the club rooms and did question this with the front office.

The main pool areas were just magnificent, plenty of sunbeds and no problems with people reserving sunbeds here. We actually liked relaxing in the mornings on the sunbeds in the shady areas adjoining the beach but near the smaller second pool – beach area not so good to swim as very shallow but pools so nice so not a worry. Enjoyed having an oil massage by the second pool, cost was only 400 baht for 50 minutes so a good deal and competent masseur.

Our room had wonderful views over the main pool area and to the lagoon, room comfortable but felt ours was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel – furniture showing some signs of age, our carpet had burn marks which wasn’t the best sight. The TV channels weren’t brilliant, some channels reception quite hazy but despite these minor disappointments still loved our stay as the rest of the hotel was just so beautiful and the club lounge a pleasure to return to each day.

The foyer of the Dusit was just luxurious, had amazing appointments, stylish furniture with magnificent marble flooring – we felt like royalty walking through this area, most impressive!!. Throughout the hotel are impressive areas set aside for relaxing, we enjoyed just walking around the resort finding all these special places.

My husband took ill at the Hotel and I was most impressed with the Dusit service – they have a nurse on duty, she decided my husband should be checked out at the Hua Hin Bangkok Private Hospital – they sent us in in the Dusit shuttle, the lovely nurse coming with us – was just amazing service and we were also impressed with the actual service at the Hospital, 5 star all the way and quite inexpensive. We had to do a return visit to check my husband’s progress and again the same procedure with the shuttle and nurse helping yet again – we really appreciated this wonderful service.

The resort has plenty of restaurants to choose from. We were looking forward to a meal at the Thai Restaurant on our last night but unfortunately not open every night – had room service several times because of my husband’s illness – good service each time.

The Dusit is quite some distance out of Hua Hin, really at Chaam so the hotel shuttle is essential. They provide a regular service into Hua Hin and to a central drop off point. Our club deal gave a us a free trip each day but according to a regular guest, if wanting a taxi for the hotel return instead of getting the bus, one should only pay 200 baht - never did get to test this but the fellow guest had stayed for some time and said it was the going rate so worth knowing for other guests.

Didn’t get to use them but lots of sporting facilities at the hotel, but for this stay, eating, drinking and swimming were our priorities and for that the Dusit was just perfect. Must mention Eve and Rocco from the Club Lounge, amazing service, all staff members from the Club Lounge exceptionally friendly making every visit just a pleasure.

The Dusit has a very large condo located past the pool and lagoon areas to the southern side which is well utilised by the many northern Europeans who like a longer term stay, hotel facilities are available to guests so this could be a good alternative for someone looking for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Go for higher floor, pool and lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Executive Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear barkem,

Thank you for choosing to spend time with us at Dusit Thani Hua Hin during your recent visit to Hua Hin and for finding the time to post your comments on tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that overall you were satisfied with our services and your stay, your kind compliments will be of great motivational value to our club lounge staff and all of the staff as we endeavour to maintain and always find way to improve Dusit Thani Hua Hin’s gracious Thai Hospitality.

In closing, on behalf of the entire team, I hope that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    184
    53
    17
    8
See reviews for
211
309
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Dusit in Hua Hin is one of my most preferred hotels and that for the last 15 years. I am travelling for a living and still find the The Dust HH cosy, charming, and great for a short or long trip.

The service is excellent and the rooms are great. The restaurant is good. Especially the fitness centre and the SPA facilities reserve special mentioning. I have not seen many hotels (any?) where in fitness centre staff took my daughter on table tennis game while I was exercising for one hour and that a few times.

Like any grande old lady, clearly the hotel has 1-2 rooms which need attention and the hotel has been attentive in upgrading older rooms when required - a call to the front desk should address this though.

For any hua hin vacation, I would highly recommend the dusit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Executive Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Axelwinter952,

Welcome back. Thank you for selecting Dusit Thani Hua Hin as your home away from home and taking time out to leave a review of your stay on tripadvisor.

We are grateful for your comments and are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. These will be shared with the entire team as kind words do provide great motivation to continue offering the service standards we strive for.

We do hope that before too long we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Dusit Thani Hua Hin and enlighten your stay yet again.

Warmest regards,
Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Back in April for a return visit. When last here the beach was reduced heavily due to high tides. We went back with a sense of trepidation. We needn't have worried. The beach was there and we had our long walks on the shore. What's better, the sense of traditional Thai service and graciousness is very much in evidence. Lots of familiar faces amongst the staff and Diana, anAssistant Manager? came around and talked to guests many mornings and in the Club lounge. It's nice when you are made to feel more than a number in a hotel, particularly when of this size. Restaurants were as good as ever and the pools are lovely. Could not recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: Go for a club room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Executive Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Knightsbridgetripper,

Welcome back. Thank you for choosing your stay with Dusit Thani Hua Hin and taking time out to leave a review of your stay on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that overall you were satisfied with our service standards and your kind words will be of great motivational value to all of the staff as we endeavour to maintain and improve Dusit Thani Hua Hin’s exceptional standards of Thai Hospitality.

In closing, on behalf of the entire team, I hope that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back again during your next trips in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,
Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a top quality hotel. the staff cannot do enough for you. We upgraded to the a club which gave access to the club room for light lunch with soft drinks and between 5.30 & 7.30 pre dinner drinks (including alcohol) and snacks.
Club service also had a separate building for breakfast which was much more peaceful than the main restaurant.
Club also included free shuttle bus service to Hua Hin which compensated for how far the hotel was from anything else.
The pool and surrounding area was very large and the beach was quite small.
Didn't eat in the restaurants as they were quite expensive and we preferred the hustle and bustle and choice in Hua Hin
It was my husbands birthday while we were away and the cleaners noticed his cards in the room and surpised us both by leaving a cake in the room - nice touch!

Room Tip: if you upgrade to club - ask for a room on the club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Executive Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear H__Jane__B__,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin and we do very much appreciate your taking the time to post a review of your visit on tripadvisor.

We are grateful for your comments and are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. These will be shared with the entire team as kind words do provide great motivation to continue offering the service standards we strive for.

All of us at Dusit Thani Hua Hin hope that it will not be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort again.

Warmest regards.
Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rair
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the Dusit Hua Hin in a month. Once again, it's a great overall experience. Many of the staff have been there for years and a happy working environment clearly makes a happy hotel atmosphere. Many staff address you by name. The gardens are beautiful, spacious and breezy. Multiple pools means children are separated naturally from those who want peace and quiet. This time we had the Saturday seafood buffet included in the price - stupendous selection, even by Thai standards! Food is fine (Italian here was better than the Anantara, which is 50% more expensive).
One plea to management: Your riding stable makes you unique in Thailand, and it's a great facility - your stables and outside arenas are better than many riding schools in Thailand. The equipment is well looked after and the staff love the horses - even if they aren't very knowledgable. Please put a few more resources in! A small amount of regular training for the staff and schooling for the horses. Buy a couple more children's ponies and a few more small pieces of equipment. Advertise the facility better in the hotel, and beyond. Use the grass spaces you have (which no-one else does). This is a really great facility and you aren't making the most of it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Executive Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear BKKtraveller31,

Welcome back. Thank you for selecting tp spend your hotel with Dusit Thani Hua Hin and taking time out to leave a review of your stay on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that overall you were satisfied with our service standards and your kind words will be of great motivational value to all of the staff as we endeavour to maintain and improve Dusit Thani Hua Hin’s exceptional standards of Thai Hospitality.

In closing, on behalf of the entire team, I hope that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back again during your next trips in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,
Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We wife and I stayed in the Lanai room which is located on the ground floor connecting the swimming pool. The hotel is well decorated with Thai interiors. Although it is an old hotel, the hotel's exteriors are well-maintained. However, only some rooms especially on the upper-most floors (i.e. club rooms) have been renovated. Rooms on the lower floors, including the Lanai rooms have not been renovated. My wife and I weren't too happy with the rooms. It is recommended to ask for a room on the upper floors. The services of the staffs were excellent.

At least we weren't disappointed with the large swimming pool. The hotel has at least 3 swimming pools, one of which happens to be a salt water pool while the rest are chlorine pools. Having a sports massage by the pool would not disappoint you especially when the rate is not so expensive compared to the hotel's normal Spa. Aside from this, the hotel also has 3 or 4 tennis courts within its compound.

My wife and I are both local Thais, who love to travel. We usually try new hotels when we travel. But whenever we are in Hua Hin on a Saturday, we always make it a rule to have the seafood buffet dinner at the hotel. The seafoods are very fresh and there are lots of choices such as rock lobsters, salmons, prawns, squids, oysters, crabs, etc. Since the seafood buffet is only served on a Saturday, it is recommended to pre-book since it is usually full. It is about US$ 50 per person including service charge and taxes.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel only if you do not plan to spend much time in the room, but plan to do more outdoor activities at the hotel.

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms on higher floors as they have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A very beautiful hotel at Hua-Hin that makes you feel that you are in your private world. The room is clean and comfortable.From the balcony, you can sit on a garden bench watching the sea ,touching cool sea breeze. Breakfast is delicious with lots of choices; Western, Chinese and Thai dishes. Swimming pool for children has life-guard on duty so let your children play as long as they want while you dip yourself in jacuzzi. The hotel is old-fashoined decoration but charming and luxury with lots of glass handcrafts. All staffs are nice with warm smile every time you see them. Since the weather is quite hot, you can ask ice cubes serving to your room any time with no charge.If you wake up early, the big and beautiful garden is waiting for your jogging or just tossing around. Free Wi-Fi in your room to let you skype your family and friends at home. 3 nights there,I throw away everything on earth and feel like living in heaven.

Room Tip: Try fifth floor no. 554 or more, it is the sea view and very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Executive Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear oudood,

We very much appreciate your selecting Dusit Thani Hua Hin as your holiday destination and taking time out to leave a review of your stay on tripadvisor.

Furthermore, it is good to know that you enjoyed the service from our team during your stay and your satisfaction will be made known to all of the staff. Kind remarks are always a great tonic for us all.

We do hope that before too long we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Dusit Thani Hua Hin and enlighten your stay yet again.

Warmest regards,
Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel

Address: 1349 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#11 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Hua Hin hotel occupies a special place within a region known for its spectacular natural beauty along the west coast of the Gulf of Thailand. The coastal town of Hua Hin retains the serene Thai charm that has captured the aristocratic imagination and made it a favoured summer retreat for the Thai Royalty since 1920’s. Conveniently located just 2.5 hours from Bangkok by car, its fine sandy beach, superb tropical climate and lush greenery provide the ideal luxury resort atmosphere. Commanding an unspoilt beachfront location, the spectacular Dusit Thani Hua Hin hotel combines sumptuous comfort with wondrous classic traditional style. An ornamental lake, lily pond and tropical gardens flank a magnificent swimming pool. For guests desiring a self-contained resort the luxury hotel provides well-appointed guest rooms, a range of dining and entertainment options, and a variety of sports and recreational facilities including water sports, tennis and squash courts, fitness centre and a horse riding track, plus the tranquil Devarana Spa, Hua Hin for ultimate pampering. With its legendary events and pampering service, the Dusit Thani Hua Hin hotel has been accorded a reputation as the Thai beach resort of choice for Thai aristocracy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Hua Hin Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.