We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel to your Saves list
Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1349 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 76120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Hua Hin
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Revisit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Visited again over the New Year holidays. Hotel was very busy but seemed to cope very well and never did the hotel seem crowded. This a delightful property with a real focus on traditional Thai service. Would recommend the Club rooms and they are worth the extra as the rooms have all been refurbished. Club lounge is also a nice retreat pre dinner whether you are dining in the hotel or outside. If you want a very busy, hectic hotel the Dusit HH is not for you but if you appreciate good food, a beautiful location and well wonderful service you can't beat the Dusit Hua Hin.

Room Tip: Go for Club rooms every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Knightsbridgetripper

Thank you for your continued patronage. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Thai hospitality and the facilities offered to our Club guests. We received similar comments from other guests regarding the Club facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back perhaps to celebrate the New Year with us again?

Thanks & regards.

Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    193
    53
    18
    9
See reviews for
224
322
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We travelled down to Hua Hin from Bangkok with friends, to get away from the city for the weekend.

The Dusit is a grand,Colonial style hotel, with vast airy public areas beautifully decorated. Far better in my opinion than some of the more modern competition.

The valet staff parked our cars for us and check in was easy very friendly and welcoming, with lots of genuine smiles and laughter. Bags were in our rooms before us and the whole check in experience was polished and faultless.
Check out was equally swift, polished and painless.
The level of spoken English at the Dusit is better than at many hotels, and excellent at Reception.

Our 3 rooms were all good.
The bathrooms were very clean and well looked after, the shower was excellent.
Everything worked - Far from the norm in Thailand - and though the TV was elderly it was perfectly serviceable with a good picture.
The Minibar was fine and the tea and coffee making facilities were in good working order too. The carpets were new and clean and the mini safe was in good order too.
The AC worked very well, noiselessly, and in fact I heard no noise at all whilst in the room.

There is a fantastic and vast swimming pool, clean and sparking, with a large safe kids pool and a smaller secondary pool.
Plenty of sun-loungers and plenty of staff keeping the pool area running smoothly. there were plenty of good quality towels available, without the stupid booking in and out system favoured by many establishments.
The sandy beach is the full width of the property, clean and well kept, great for the kids who played sandcastles endlessly!

Food service at the pool was excellent, fast and efficient, and our large and varied orders arrived quickly, hot and tasty. The Thai food was also extremely good.

Breakfast was very good, with so many choices and good service, with a varied choice of table location, from fully air-conditioned to the cooled main salon and with outside seating too.

I felt for the breakfast service staff: Thai people are very polite and many of the guests are far from polite to the staff, but with a smile and a please and thank you to the staff our service immediately became excellent and attentive. Reap what you sow.


My only real complaint is about the beds.

The mattresses are poor quality and uncomfortable. I would expect to find mattresses like that in a much cheaper, smaller establishment, and if it were my Hotel I would be embarrassed by the poor quality.

They could be much better, and the housekeeping solution in most Thai hotels, to add a duvet or mattress topper, to the top of the mattress is not a proper solution. We got back quite late from dinner in Hua Hin so I didn't complain. By 3 am I was wishing that I had complained!

The age of dreadful Thai mattresses should have passed long ago, there are plenty of suppliers who make comfortable beds, why not order some?

I tried beds in each of the 3 rooms we had and they were all the same, uncomfortable and hard.
I had a backache and poor sleep, which is unforgivable in a hotel of this standard.

The beds are my only reason for not giving this hotel the full marks it otherwise deserves; I make a point of emphasizing the problem in the hope that the owners/ management will do something about it soon, so that I can return,soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Summer_rain 28

We are delighted that you have had a great time at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, enjoying its facilities, cuisine, the friendly staff and its services.

At Dusit Thani Hua Hin, we strive to do our utmost to ensure a fantastic stay for our guests. We are disappointed to learn that our beds fail to meet your expectation on this occasion. We have certainly taken your comments on board.

Thanks & regards.

Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This Hotel has everything. Very welcoming and friendly, helpful staff. Pool area could not be bettered. Right on the beach with plenty of beds and very comfortable. Just 10 minutes out of Hua Hin by the Hotel Shuttle which is 50 baht each way per person.
We stayed in Koh Samui with some of the family and then moved to Dusit Hua Hin when joined by other members of the family. It is not worth going all the way to Samui when there is a Hotel as good as the Dusit Thani. Restaurants are excellent but as usual you pay a premium to eat in the Hotel compared to Hua Hin town restaurants. We did at the Italian restaurant which was 1000 baht for a buffet in which you could have unlimited food which was great value.

Room Tip: Our Superior room had everything that you would need
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear JohnboyOxon

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin. We are delighted that you had a fabulous time at our resort – enjoying the facilities, the cuisine and the friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future.

Thanks & regards.

Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a very large property way out of the town center, you must take transport, not good for walking into town. The property is formal and grand, which I personally like in a hotel, nothing trendy. Our room was very, very small by Asian standards, and by mine. The bathroom needed an extreme makeover, the tub didn't hold water, which was rusty from the tap anyway. And for a luxury hotel the shower was not appealing, like showering in a telephone booth (remember them?). Room was dark and the sliding doors and screens were antiquated.
The pool is large and the area not really welcoming as there was not adequate shade. The umbrellas are quite small and did not cast shade on two adjacent lounges, consequently we had to repose with an empty lounge between us in order for each to have shade. The beach sand side is more welcoming.
Then there is the hourly transport into town, a shuttle, not a courtesy shuttle. After a guest has paid well for a room we are made to pay 2 bucks for a ride into town. Passengers were grumbling about this.
Property dated, not welcoming, we won't return. Better choices close to town.
Having said that, we spent the following two weeks at the Dusit Thani Bangkok, which was nearly flawless!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Fools4Food

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani in Hua Hin and Bangkok. We are disappointed that our property in Hua Hin did not meet your expectations, but pleased that you did enjoy your stay at our Bangkok property.

We provide a complimentary shuttle service to Hua Hin town per person daily and a host of other benefits including the use of a Club Lounge as part of the Club benefits for our Dusit Club, Grand Room and Suite guests. There are two swimming pools and a children’s pool as part of the facilities at the resort. The Garden Pool which is a salt water pool is located on the other side of the hotel providing more shade and quieter surrounds for our guests.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you at some of our other Dusit properties around the world in the near future.

Thanks & regards.

Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

During a trip tp Hua Hin in September 2012, we stayed 4 nights each in 3 different hotels; Anatara, Sheraton and Dusit Thani.
The Dusit Thani is without doubt a very good hotel with a nice pool, gym and great breakfast. However, the room, whilst good, was not as good as the other two places we stayed and the facilities not as good as the Sheraton. For the same or similar money therefore I would recommend the Sheraton or Anantara over te Dusit Thani. Its a great place, its just that the competition is better!
A small word of warning, some rooms have been refurbished, and some have not. We had to complain about our room on arrival, however they changed us to a refurbished room without quibble.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Howard S

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin for part of your holiday in Hua Hin. It’s interesting to have received your critique.

We appreciated your candid comments. We have plans to continue with our refurbishment program in this financial year and we are confident that this would enhance our rooms for the enjoyment of our guests.

Thanks & regards.

Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Dusit Thani over the New Year period in a club room,The rooms are to a resonable standard although the bathrooms are a little dark,
The club room staff are excellent and a credit to the Dusit Thani brand.Club benifits include a seperate dining area for breakfast,soft drinks and snacks during the day,early evening cannapes and drinks,The New years eve ball was excellent and extremely enjoyable,
There is a shuttle bus running hourly into the center of Hua Hin which is very good
We found that drinks were quite expensive at the hotel and therefore went into Hua Hin most evenings were there are many restuarants and bars

Room Tip: Club rooms are good value ask for a pool view (we didn't and got a side sea viea)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear BrummieGary

It was great that you were able to join the team and our guests at the New Year's Eve Gala Dinner to welcome 2013!

Many of our guests enjoyed the Club facilities that are offered when you booked Dusit Club Rooms, Grand Rooms and Suites and they found them very good value. The team at the Club Lounge is dedicated to cater to the comfort and enjoyment of our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of celebrating another new year with you at Dusit Thani Hua Hin.

Thanks & regards.

Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were greeted with warm welcome and sweet smile at the receptionist desk. The rosselle syrup given was extremely uplifting as we arrived late in the evening. Though we were given a really luxury room, we decided to take a rather older room as I was amazed by its long winded swimming pool that looks like it can fit thousands of people at the same time. But the guy who served us has told us before hand the room with a view is a little old in sense of furnishings. The employees are helpful and sincere.

As we asked for a room with a view the one left is a little old and a little smelly. It is like you entering an old folks home kind of smell.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear AhmadZainuddin

Thanks for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin for your holiday.

The Lanai Room that you stayed has direct access to the swimming pools via a terrace. It is very popular with many of our guests. We will be upgrading these rooms in this financial year whereby we will replace the carpet with wooden floor and a flat screen TV.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at Dusit Thani Hua Hin in the near future.

Thanks & regards.

Diana Moore
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel

Address: 1349 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#8 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#11 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Hua Hin hotel occupies a special place within a region known for its spectacular natural beauty along the west coast of the Gulf of Thailand. The coastal town of Hua Hin retains the serene Thai charm that has captured the aristocratic imagination and made it a favoured summer retreat for the Thai Royalty since 1920’s. Conveniently located just 2.5 hours from Bangkok by car, its fine sandy beach, superb tropical climate and lush greenery provide the ideal luxury resort atmosphere. Commanding an unspoilt beachfront location, the spectacular Dusit Thani Hua Hin hotel combines sumptuous comfort with wondrous classic traditional style. An ornamental lake, lily pond and tropical gardens flank a magnificent swimming pool. For guests desiring a self-contained resort the luxury hotel provides well-appointed guest rooms, a range of dining and entertainment options, and a variety of sports and recreational facilities including water sports, tennis and squash courts, fitness centre and a horse riding track, plus the tranquil Devarana Spa, Hua Hin for ultimate pampering. With its legendary events and pampering service, the Dusit Thani Hua Hin hotel has been accorded a reputation as the Thai beach resort of choice for Thai aristocracy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Hua Hin Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Thani Hua Hin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.