We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bam Bam

Bam Bam
Poon Suk Rd, Hua Hin, Thailand
086-0652234
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 410 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had 3 superb meals in Bam Bam, great Thai food, excellent value for money, staff are all friendly and always busy so creates a nice environment unlike some others that were empty most of the time. Highly recommended best food we had in Hua Hin.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    61
    25
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice food (& not too spicy), friendly staff & good value.
Don't expect a 5 star ambience, but certainly tasty, enjoyable & value for money. Worth a try.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you like Thai food this is an excellent restaurant which is very good value for money. It gets very busy so would recommend booking in advance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fab restaurant, great food and lovely staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Bam Bam is such a relaxed and friendly place, it starts to feel like "home" once you've eaten here. The fish is so fresh it just melts in the mouth. The Thai Curries are also a real speciality here....don't miss..! And finally the hosts here are ABSOLUTELY lovely...! They are the nicest family you could come across and just make you feel so relaxed and at home. Overall I would rate this restaurant 10/10.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Nice and Fresh but Westernised for the Tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was a steamy Tuesday night in Hua Hin and at approximately 6.30 pm there were not many people wandering around Poolsuk road ( a popular restaurant and bar strip in the town) except there were people lined up and spilling into the street waiting for a table at Moonsmile and Platoo.

Moonsmile has developed a cult following courtesy of the internet, mainly Tripadvisor and bloggers. We decided we didn't want to wait for a table and choose Bam Bams which is pretty much next door to Moonsmile.

There were a few of us tonight. Menus were brought out quickly as there were only a handful of people inside and we had a streetside table, right on the footpath. I think they put us there to get more customers into the place. This is a good spot if you like to talk to the never ending parade of street sellers who have supplies of bangles, wooden frogs and other pieces of junk you wondered why you ever contemplated buying when you got home. We smiled, were polite but did not buy anything tonight, but it was early days for us in Hua Hin and gee they can be persistent especially when they recognise you the following night and the night after that.

The waitress was hovering and had a big smile on her face and she was keen to take our orders

We tried a stir fried pork with asparagus and mushrooms. It was on the table in a flash. It was a good sized serve but too westernised and bland. It had some nice slices of pork and a good handful of asparagus and some tinned mushrooms. Unfortunately too many tourists have asked for less spicy food and the quality of the thai cooking in some places has diminished because of this in my view. Perhaps not all will agree. Anyway a 6/10 for this one.

Next up was a chicken and cashews. Plenty of chicken pieces and a few cashews with some carrots and greens to colour the dish. However, too sweet. Seemed to much palm sugar had been added - had a honey like taste. Not a good dish . 5.5/10

Next out was a steamed rice which we were hoping for earlier with the previous dishes. Nothing wrong here. You can't mess up steamed rice.

The stir fried asparagus, mushrooms and shrimp was 150 baht and a good sized serve. Once again too bland for me but quite edible. 6.5/10

Penang curry was served in a good sized bowl. Now this was spicy and a beaut little dish A great coconutty flavour, with chilli and lime and other spices. A great curry. 8.5/10 and the highlight of the night. Usually the little eateries around here do strir fries better than curries but tonight this was an exception. Bingo.!

We tried a shrimp with cashews. Once again not spicy at all but a good size serve. 6/10 for this one.

We had finished. A complimentary plate of pineapple pieces arrived and we were aslo given a Thai coconut desert. Not to my liking but different and we ate it.

Beer... around 100 baht for a large bottle , soda water 30 baht . Wine by the glass available, not too exxy.

Overall view? A place to eat if you don't like spicy food. However, a good night with fresh food, but not really real Thai food. Too westernised for me. I can get this food back home so I was a tad disappointed tonight. I will come here again but will be asking for it to be a bit spicy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bam Bam also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Bam Bam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bam Bam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.