We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel that showed its age........” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Plaza Hotel
24/1 Sanehanusorn Rd. | Hat Yai, Hat Yai 90110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Hat Yai
Seremban, Malaysia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Hotel that showed its age........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Came to Hatyai on a Friday night in July and since we could only secure a room of our 1st choice hotel for the 1st night, ended up having to move to Grand Plaza for the 2nd night.

It may have been a grand hotel in its heydays but unfortunately those days were long past.

Check in was efficient (buy hotel voucher from travel agent in Hatyai) but the first sight when the lift door opens, is cracking and peeling paint work on the opposite wall. What a horrible sight. The state of the carpet on the walkway didn't make us happy either. The room is small, dark but clean, a queen size bed with firm mattress. However the pillow is hard.The room (325) has a small TV, not a flat screen of course, a small fridge and nothing else - no hair dryer, no in room safe, no kettle (though they provided us 2 bottles of drinking water) and no wifi. Our room's window faces an empty and dirty wall and the heavy curtain covers the sight well. The bathroom is small with a sink, a WC with bidet (a hose that works) and a full size tub. There is little to no ventilation in the bathroom. The shower is powerful enough though. Access to the bedrooms are via 2 very small lifts and long wait is expected due to the volume of guests. We used the staircase. Not likely to return.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The receptionist very very rude,no manner with customer.
we are realy disapponited with their attitude,realy spoiled our family vacation mood.
room realy dirty,asking pasport to be leave scared will use fridge item,non sense.how to leave pasport to them.pls don't ever ever choose this hotel,it's realy dirty.
I never seen such as rude staff as many hotel i been stay in this world,service out,they think we come stay free in their hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Left kl central by 9:15 PM train to hatyai arrived at 11:15 AM,try to book sakol,siam all fully booked except Grand Plaza hotel no choice we paid 670bth for a double bed room.The room is on the 3rd floor where the swimming pool is.checked in room 326 and glade the room is clean and facing the swimming pool.One advice not to book room 327 cause is next to workers store room and it's noisy.Checked out on 19/06/2011 by double decker sri maju bus OMG we were caught in big traffic with lorries from Sadau to Bukit Kayu hitam jammed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Hatyai is a very small town near the Malaysia border of southern Thailand. The town is pretty boring and suitable for transit trip to Malaysia. There are many high end hotels however it is unwise for spending fortune for staying there. Grand Plaza is just located near Lee Garden plaza hotel.

If someone booked through Internet, it will be more expensive than checking through the authorized travel agency. Some people checked in directly to the hotel.without booking. They will be charged more than travel agency deal. I got a cheap deal from Konsortium travel agency about the rate of almost bath 700 for a night. There is no extended stay with this deal. I also bought a ticket for Hatyai to Penang from that agency. There is no breakfast included for staying there. Check in process was pretty smooth after showing the voucher from agency.

There are many cheap food outlets surrounding it. Taste may be better than hotel. Overall that location is convenient. There are many super markets and street vendors just a door step of hotel. The weak point is have to go through the garage for going to my room. The principle lift near the reception has to wait for longer because of the high volume of usage. TV was so small and reception was very poor too. Bathroom is dark and not well ventilated. Bedroom was wide and comfortable. It is isolated from the noise of street. Rounded small table and chairs provided for smokers.

I just stayed there for a few days for trip to Malay by land. I was fortunate to stay there without spending much. When I check out I notified that house keeping staff one hour before. She waited patiently outside while I was packing for my clothes. For such a boring and quiet town, Grand Plaza is reasonable for solo traveler with limited budget. I do not mind about staying there again if I have to travel to Hatyai.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the view will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

What? Housekeeping entered my room with all my belonging still in the room. The bedsheet is pulled out, and it was a mess. It is only 11 oclock and checkout time is 12 oclock. Luckily all my valuables is not left in the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

For the past two years, we've stayed at Lee Gardens Plaza Hotel. Two years ago we booked through an online travel agent, while last year we booked directly with the hotel.

Last year Lee Gardens Plaza Hotel charged us 1149Bt per night and 490Bt for an extra bed, but this year we were informed that there will be a 600Bt surcharge for Xmas eve and Xmas day! We were quite miffed and made a bold decision to try our luck with a different hotel when we arrived in Hat Yai.

Turns out, we could actually purchase hotel vouchers from the local Konsortium Bas Express Semenanjung (KBES) office in Hat Yai. These vouchers meant we could get cheaper room rates (minus the usual breakfast provided by most hotels). Please refer photo attached.

Just in case, we made the usual reservations with Lee Garden Plaza Hotel but we thought that we would try a different hotel this year (if there were any vacancies).

So as soon as we arrived, we walked into the local KBES office. Lo and behold, we got ourselves checked into the Grand Plaza Hotel! The room at Grand Plaza was a ridiculous 680Bt and the extra bed a mere 200Bt. Better still, there was no surcharge nonsense during the Xmas period. And to top it off, it was right beside Lee Garden!

The room we had was adequate for our needs, as we usually spend most of our waking hours out and about. Whoever comes to Hat Yai and spends their time in their hotel rooms must be out of their minds.

Location wise, it is right beside Lee Gardens Plaza Hotel but without the Lee Gardens Plaza Hotel pricing fiasco.

What we liked best & least? Hmm, there’s nothing to like or dislike about the hotel. We absolutely love the price and location, and with the price in mind we’ve managed our expectations accordingly. The Ritz it’s definitely not, but an adequate place to sleep after a hard day of gallivanting it definitely is.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We had the family room for 4days, with a small fridge, power unplug, because of frosted freezer.
The toilet flush did not work well, either it cannot flush clear or the water continue flowing non stop, and have to call the house keeping in the middle of the night to fix it.
The swimming pool is NO NO NO greenish in color filled full with algae.
Front desk there is only one man who speak little english, not helpful at all, and I ask to see the manage, he said that manager go diving, and no hand phone. and I request the manage to contact me from the vary first day and nothing happen till we check out from the hotel, still did not see the manager??
The location is good, convenient for shopping and food. highly recommended for the location, but do not expect anything.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel

Address: 24/1 Sanehanusorn Rd. | Hat Yai, Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.